We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
579
182
61
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
579
182
61
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake valenciacanopy walklake sandovalpiranha fishingplunge poollunch menuadditional costbutterfly houseminute boat ridelaundry servicethree nightsriver viewcanopy tourceiling fanan excursionmosquito nettingamazon experience
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 844 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

Disappointingly, our group of four was not assigned a guide. They apologized but we missed out on the consistency and didn't get what we paid for. We were allowed to bring our large suitcase to the lodge whereas others were not and were limited to a 12lb backpack.

The food was good. There was no wake-up call which was unfortunate. I've stayed in other remote lodges where the wake-up call is fresh coffee delivered to the room.

It was very damp. Everything in our suitcase had to be dried out at our next hotel.

The Amazon is about vegetation. Other than tarantulas, a few caymans in the night river excursion and some capybara, there wasn't much to see.

We did the wetland hike and a tree had fallen into the walkway so we had to turn around. It appeared the tree was there for a while yet nobody was there to repair the damage.

I loved that it was eco-friendly with no carbon foot print. Good was ok.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the accommodation you had in the hotel, also we apologize for any inconvenience caused, we will take special care on these procedures to avoid situations like this in the future.

Thank you again for contacting us and for your feedback that will help us to keep improving.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Though we only had time for a 2 night stay we were glad we went. We all thought this was a lovely spot. Rooms were very nice and the food was good. Our guide, Roger, was great. The trip around Lake Sandoval and the Canopy Walk were outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sumiac2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Dear guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us and for your kind comments.

We are delighted that you and your family keep great memories of your stay and hope to welcome you again in a next opportunity in the rest of our properties.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

Don't miss adding on 4 days to experience the rain forest if you are going to Machu Picchu. Just a short plane ride and you are in the jungle. Fabulous for the minute we arrived. Remember you are in a remote underdeveloped part of South America and the experience will exceed expectations. The lodge is lovely but the rooms are exactly what one would want on a jungle visit including the netting over the beds. Remember it is eco focus not like a US 5 star hotel. The staff wants to please. Don't miss the canopy walk or the many boat trip options. No need to buy any additional tour because the standard ones are great. Our mistake was only staying 2 nights, 3 would have been best. We used bug spray with 30% deat and did not get one bug bite! It is a real life adventure with all the comforts of an extraordinary jungle resort. Don't miss it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelingMarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Dear guest:

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share these lovely comments with us; it is a pleasure to know that you and your partner enjoyed your experience at our property and that you keep great memories of your stay.

We want to thank you for your wise advices and recommendations to our future guests, we regret you have not been more time in order to enjoy the entire Inkaterra Experience.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the rest of Inkaterra properties.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

Amazing Amazing Amazing. Great guides, loads of excursions, 3course meal of excellent food twice a day plus afternoon tea (if you arent out exploring) feed walnuts to the wild agouti running round. Wake up to birds. Running hot water and electricity (before 11pm). Even if we left for 10min, when we returned the room was tidy and made up. Best hotel I have ever stayed. If we didnt have other countries to visit first we would return here without hesitation.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share these lovely comments with us; it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your experience at our property and that you keep great memories of your stay, also we feel extremely honored for your kind comments for our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

Thank you for recommending Inkaterra and would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the rest of our properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2017

We have stayed at Amazonian lodges in both Ecuador and Brazil and so our expectation for this trip was high.
On the positive side the cabin and food were both good. The cabins whilst comfortable had no sound proofing which meant you could hear everything outside. We had a cabin near the river which was also close to some benches. People understandably congregated there and we could hear all their conversations. It was unfortunate that people smoked in that area as well as the smoke then came our way!
We went to this lodge to experience the wildlife but it felt like the lodge had a process that they adhered to and that you had to fit in with this. We particuarly wanted to see the birds that are in this area. There seemed little interest in finding out what we were interested in but great interest in getting people in groups to go on scheduled trips. In areas like this the best chance of seeing birds is early in the morning but we were not allowed to explore on our own and there were no excursions that were suitable for our interests. We therefore had to go out on general trips and the guides did point out birds that they saw but we saw very few species overall.
Our previous experience of similar lodges is that all tours are included in the package price but here there were several extra ones which were not cheap. You also had to make sure you had a total of four people to take part.
Overall we were disappointed with this experience and would only recommend this if you are looking at just experiencing the Amazon for the first time and do not have specific wildlife interests.
With a slight change of how this lodge is run with a few specialist guides and a more flexible approach this could be made into an excellent experience.
Finally on our way back to the airport we had to visit a butterfly centre. It was really hot and not something that many people wanted to do. In temperatures of nearly 40 degrees this is not great preparation for a couple of flights, one of which was very long! I'm sure there must have been some reason for the visit but no one explained it to us!

Room Tip: River view rooms are good but avoid 22 as it's near some benches where people meet up.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Birdman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We want to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay, and we appreciate your feedback that will help us to keep improving.

Thank you for recommending Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica!

We hope to welcome you again in a next opportunity in order to have a completely Inkaterra experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews