We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We stayed at Inkaterra for 3 nights at the end of September and really enjoyed it. The logistics for delivering guests from the airport to the lodge are well ironed out. After airport pick up, we left our big heavy suitcases with the staff to be stored in the office in town and only took two backpacks with us. This is much more convenient than dragging all your luggage to the lodge. Granted, porters will help you with the luggage, but due to the terrain, they have to carry it on their backs up and down stairs, on uneven steps etc, so consider giving them a break and taking only the essentials for your 2-3 nights stay. Also, do keep in mind that it's humid in the jungle and in 40 degrees heat you will need at least few changes of clothes as they will not dry out easily.
The lodge has very beautiful grounds and comfortable cabanas. You get your own little house that includes screened porch with hammocks and chairs, huge bed with mosquito net, bathroom and a toilet. There are no glass windows, but netting provides adequate protection from the bugs. some people mention that there is no privacy in toilet or bathroom, but the windows are quite high up, so only your head would be visible from outside, even my 6'4" husband didn't have an issue. Yes, there's no soundproofing, but many lodges in the area have rooms that share a wall and open roof, so an individual cabin is much better. We didn't have any issues with noise day or night.
the lodge provides eco free toiletries and citronella liquid to be used against mosquitoes, which is very useful if, like me, you don't like applying Deed to your hands and face.
There is limited electricity, but you won't need it at day time as you'll be out and about, and at night it runs til 11, so again not a problem. You're also provided with lanterns and torches in case you need more light. Cabins have a ceiling fan,it's not an air con, but make a difference during a very hot day. If I've realised beforehand how hot and humid it would be, i would try to book a cabin with a pool.
The restaurant serves 3 course lunch and dinner, plentiful breakfast buffet with cooked options and there's also an afternoon tea with cold/hot drinks and cake. We were also given vouchers for a free pisco sour which was great. The food was wonderful and there was enough choice. My husband is a coeliac, and the chef was happy to accommodate any special requests or prepare dishes not on the menu.
There is a good choice of excursions to keep you occupied during your stay, but even if you decide to do them all, if will leave you enough time to relax in a hammock on your porch.
We saw plenty of animals including several types of monkeys, turtles, many different birds including red macaws, snakes, tarantulas, capybaras, agutis, caymans etc.
Make sure you don't step on the resident tarantula that likes to sit on steps just outside the restaurant at night. Saw few people walking barefoot around the lodge - not such a good idea in the jungle!
There is no phone signal or internet, but staff checked us in and printed our boarding passes even before we asked them which was very considerate.
Didn't realise that most of the guests would be retirees, but it didn't affect our overall experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisa992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write about us and your recomendations/advices. We feel extremely honored for your kind comments for our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

It is a pleasure that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the rest of Inkaterra properties.

Thank you for recommending Inkaterra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

I had these preconceived ideas in my mind that Puerto Mondonado was a tropical haven and the boat ride to our resort was going to be memorable, boy was I wrong.. As soon as you leave the airport you are confronted with a third world town with over 85k inhabitants. Pt Mondonado is an unkept hovel and its obvious the local government doesn't spend any money on any upkeep.
Our guide from Inkaterra was great. Very welcoming. We were taken to the port for our boat ride to the resort and found the boat ride rather boring. Rio Madre de dios is a wide river with trees along its banks. That's it. Nothing special to see. After about 40 minutes you end up at the resort which is beautifully presented with manicured gardens.
We were fortunate enough to have a cabana which overlooks the river so we were able to enjoy beautiful sunrises and sunsets. The negative about the cabanas is that there is no privacy. I felt like I was in hippie heaven. The cabanas are close to one another and the only form of privacy in both the shower and toilet is a fly screen, nothing else. When having a shower, all and sundry are able to see in. As for the toilet, people are constantly walking past so you have no privacy at all. Its also annoying able to hear your next door neighbour go to the toilet and i'm sure vice versa.
It would be nice if we were woken to the singing of birds and other wildlife. Instead on both mornings we were woken at 0430am by very load antiquated motor boats.. Very frustrating.
The lunch menu was great but the dinner menu was somewhat more limited. The food was good but not great. I must say the waiting staff were fantastic. Can't speak highly enough about them. Dinner is an experience in itself. The dining room is poorly lit, I'm assuming to negate the insects coming in. Although the dim light creates a good atmosphere you cant read the menu or properly see whats in front of you without torch or candle light.
It was also impossible to get a cold beer during any part of the day or night as the refridgerator was probably working overtime in the heat. As far as the drinks prices go well they were unjustifiably on the very high side.
I must also make mention of the staff in the gift shop. When I walked in there were three female attendants tending to one customer as she was querying something over a bill. All I wanted to know was if they had a t shirt in my size but all three didn't even acknowledge me at all so after 5 minutes of waiting I walked out without making a purchase.
On our transfer back to the airport we were treated to a butterfly display...Might be an idea to scrap this attraction as the facilities at the butterfly enclosure have deteriorated to a point that its unsafe. As I walked over a small wooden bridge which went over a stagnant pond, I grabbed onto the side rail which was rotten and had come away from the rest of the structure. The footbridge was so wonky that it was not safe to walk across. If the guides take you there than you would be better off just sitting in the airconditioned bus.
Would I recommend this resort..probably not unless you don't like privacy and like drinking warm beer.
I don't think I'll ever return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as expected.

We want to let you know the logistics for delivering guests from the airport to the lodge are well ironed out and we tried to do the best we can. About the absence of privacy in toilet or bathroom, the windows are quite high up, so only the head would be visible from outside. There's no soundproofing, but many lodges in the area have rooms that share a wall and open roof, so we think an individual cabin is much better.

Thank you for your kind review, positives comments about the view and staff and for your feedback that will help us to keep improving.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Disappointingly, our group of four was not assigned a guide. They apologized but we missed out on the consistency and didn't get what we paid for. We were allowed to bring our large suitcase to the lodge whereas others were not and were limited to a 12lb backpack.

The food was good. There was no wake-up call which was unfortunate. I've stayed in other remote lodges where the wake-up call is fresh coffee delivered to the room.

It was very damp. Everything in our suitcase had to be dried out at our next hotel.

The Amazon is about vegetation. Other than tarantulas, a few caymans in the night river excursion and some capybara, there wasn't much to see.

We did the wetland hike and a tree had fallen into the walkway so we had to turn around. It appeared the tree was there for a while yet nobody was there to repair the damage.

I loved that it was eco-friendly with no carbon foot print. Good was ok.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the accommodation you had in the hotel, also we apologize for any inconvenience caused, we will take special care on these procedures to avoid situations like this in the future.

Thank you again for contacting us and for your feedback that will help us to keep improving.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Though we only had time for a 2 night stay we were glad we went. We all thought this was a lovely spot. Rooms were very nice and the food was good. Our guide, Roger, was great. The trip around Lake Sandoval and the Canopy Walk were outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sumiac2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us and for your kind comments.

We are delighted that you and your family keep great memories of your stay and hope to welcome you again in a next opportunity in the rest of our properties.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Don't miss adding on 4 days to experience the rain forest if you are going to Machu Picchu. Just a short plane ride and you are in the jungle. Fabulous for the minute we arrived. Remember you are in a remote underdeveloped part of South America and the experience will exceed expectations. The lodge is lovely but the rooms are exactly what one would want on a jungle visit including the netting over the beds. Remember it is eco focus not like a US 5 star hotel. The staff wants to please. Don't miss the canopy walk or the many boat trip options. No need to buy any additional tour because the standard ones are great. Our mistake was only staying 2 nights, 3 would have been best. We used bug spray with 30% deat and did not get one bug bite! It is a real life adventure with all the comforts of an extraordinary jungle resort. Don't miss it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelingMarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear guest:

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share these lovely comments with us; it is a pleasure to know that you and your partner enjoyed your experience at our property and that you keep great memories of your stay.

We want to thank you for your wise advices and recommendations to our future guests, we regret you have not been more time in order to enjoy the entire Inkaterra Experience.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the rest of Inkaterra properties.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Amazing Amazing Amazing. Great guides, loads of excursions, 3course meal of excellent food twice a day plus afternoon tea (if you arent out exploring) feed walnuts to the wild agouti running round. Wake up to birds. Running hot water and electricity (before 11pm). Even if we left for 10min, when we returned the room was tidy and made up. Best hotel I have ever stayed. If we didnt have other countries to visit first we would return here without hesitation.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share these lovely comments with us; it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your experience at our property and that you keep great memories of your stay, also we feel extremely honored for your kind comments for our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

Thank you for recommending Inkaterra and would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the rest of our properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We have stayed at Amazonian lodges in both Ecuador and Brazil and so our expectation for this trip was high.
On the positive side the cabin and food were both good. The cabins whilst comfortable had no sound proofing which meant you could hear everything outside. We had a cabin near the river which was also close to some benches. People understandably congregated there and we could hear all their conversations. It was unfortunate that people smoked in that area as well as the smoke then came our way!
We went to this lodge to experience the wildlife but it felt like the lodge had a process that they adhered to and that you had to fit in with this. We particuarly wanted to see the birds that are in this area. There seemed little interest in finding out what we were interested in but great interest in getting people in groups to go on scheduled trips. In areas like this the best chance of seeing birds is early in the morning but we were not allowed to explore on our own and there were no excursions that were suitable for our interests. We therefore had to go out on general trips and the guides did point out birds that they saw but we saw very few species overall.
Our previous experience of similar lodges is that all tours are included in the package price but here there were several extra ones which were not cheap. You also had to make sure you had a total of four people to take part.
Overall we were disappointed with this experience and would only recommend this if you are looking at just experiencing the Amazon for the first time and do not have specific wildlife interests.
With a slight change of how this lodge is run with a few specialist guides and a more flexible approach this could be made into an excellent experience.
Finally on our way back to the airport we had to visit a butterfly centre. It was really hot and not something that many people wanted to do. In temperatures of nearly 40 degrees this is not great preparation for a couple of flights, one of which was very long! I'm sure there must have been some reason for the visit but no one explained it to us!

Room Tip: River view rooms are good but avoid 22 as it's near some benches where people meet up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birdman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We want to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay, and we appreciate your feedback that will help us to keep improving.

Thank you for recommending Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica!

We hope to welcome you again in a next opportunity in order to have a completely Inkaterra experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Maldonado hotels
15.5 km away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
246 reviews
15 km away
Hotel Cabana Quinta
Hotel Cabana Quinta
#1 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
206 reviews
8 km away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 70 in Puerto Maldonado
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.7 km away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 70 in Puerto Maldonado
870 reviews
9.9 km away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#5 of 70 in Puerto Maldonado
182 reviews
8.9 km away
Corto Maltes Amazonia
Corto Maltes Amazonia
#4 of 70 in Puerto Maldonado
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: $491 - $817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing