We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (851)
Filter reviews
851 results
Traveller rating
586
182
61
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
182
61
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake valencia canopy walk lake sandoval piranha fishing plunge pool lunch menu additional cost butterfly house minute boat ride laundry service three nights river view canopy tour ceiling fan an excursion mosquito netting amazon experience
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 851 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2017

I had these preconceived ideas in my mind that Puerto Mondonado was a tropical haven and the boat ride to our resort was going to be memorable, boy was I wrong.. As soon as you leave the airport you are confronted with a third world town with over 85k inhabitants. Pt Mondonado is an unkept hovel and its obvious the local government doesn't spend any money on any upkeep.
Our guide from Inkaterra was great. Very welcoming. We were taken to the port for our boat ride to the resort and found the boat ride rather boring. Rio Madre de dios is a wide river with trees along its banks. That's it. Nothing special to see. After about 40 minutes you end up at the resort which is beautifully presented with manicured gardens.
We were fortunate enough to have a cabana which overlooks the river so we were able to enjoy beautiful sunrises and sunsets. The negative about the cabanas is that there is no privacy. I felt like I was in hippie heaven. The cabanas are close to one another and the only form of privacy in both the shower and toilet is a fly screen, nothing else. When having a shower, all and sundry are able to see in. As for the toilet, people are constantly walking past so you have no privacy at all. Its also annoying able to hear your next door neighbour go to the toilet and i'm sure vice versa.
It would be nice if we were woken to the singing of birds and other wildlife. Instead on both mornings we were woken at 0430am by very load antiquated motor boats.. Very frustrating.
The lunch menu was great but the dinner menu was somewhat more limited. The food was good but not great. I must say the waiting staff were fantastic. Can't speak highly enough about them. Dinner is an experience in itself. The dining room is poorly lit, I'm assuming to negate the insects coming in. Although the dim light creates a good atmosphere you cant read the menu or properly see whats in front of you without torch or candle light.
It was also impossible to get a cold beer during any part of the day or night as the refridgerator was probably working overtime in the heat. As far as the drinks prices go well they were unjustifiably on the very high side.
I must also make mention of the staff in the gift shop. When I walked in there were three female attendants tending to one customer as she was querying something over a bill. All I wanted to know was if they had a t shirt in my size but all three didn't even acknowledge me at all so after 5 minutes of waiting I walked out without making a purchase.
On our transfer back to the airport we were treated to a butterfly display...Might be an idea to scrap this attraction as the facilities at the butterfly enclosure have deteriorated to a point that its unsafe. As I walked over a small wooden bridge which went over a stagnant pond, I grabbed onto the side rail which was rotten and had come away from the rest of the structure. The footbridge was so wonky that it was not safe to walk across. If the guides take you there than you would be better off just sitting in the airconditioned bus.
Would I recommend this resort..probably not unless you don't like privacy and like drinking warm beer.
I don't think I'll ever return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as expected.

We want to let you know the logistics for delivering guests from the airport to the lodge are well ironed out and we tried to do the best we can. About the absence of privacy in toilet or bathroom, the windows are quite high up, so only the head would be visible from outside. There's no soundproofing, but many lodges in the area have rooms that share a wall and open roof, so we think an individual cabin is much better.

Thank you for your kind review, positives comments about the view and staff and for your feedback that will help us to keep improving.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

Disappointingly, our group of four was not assigned a guide. They apologized but we missed out on the consistency and didn't get what we paid for. We were allowed to bring our large suitcase to the lodge whereas others were not and were limited to a 12lb backpack.

The food was good. There was no wake-up call which was unfortunate. I've stayed in other remote lodges where the wake-up call is fresh coffee delivered to the room.

It was very damp. Everything in our suitcase had to be dried out at our next hotel.

The Amazon is about vegetation. Other than tarantulas, a few caymans in the night river excursion and some capybara, there wasn't much to see.

We did the wetland hike and a tree had fallen into the walkway so we had to turn around. It appeared the tree was there for a while yet nobody was there to repair the damage.

I loved that it was eco-friendly with no carbon foot print. Good was ok.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the accommodation you had in the hotel, also we apologize for any inconvenience caused, we will take special care on these procedures to avoid situations like this in the future.

Thank you again for contacting us and for your feedback that will help us to keep improving.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Though we only had time for a 2 night stay we were glad we went. We all thought this was a lovely spot. Rooms were very nice and the food was good. Our guide, Roger, was great. The trip around Lake Sandoval and the Canopy Walk were outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sumiac2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Dear guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us and for your kind comments.

We are delighted that you and your family keep great memories of your stay and hope to welcome you again in a next opportunity in the rest of our properties.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

Don't miss adding on 4 days to experience the rain forest if you are going to Machu Picchu. Just a short plane ride and you are in the jungle. Fabulous for the minute we arrived. Remember you are in a remote underdeveloped part of South America and the experience will exceed expectations. The lodge is lovely but the rooms are exactly what one would want on a jungle visit including the netting over the beds. Remember it is eco focus not like a US 5 star hotel. The staff wants to please. Don't miss the canopy walk or the many boat trip options. No need to buy any additional tour because the standard ones are great. Our mistake was only staying 2 nights, 3 would have been best. We used bug spray with 30% deat and did not get one bug bite! It is a real life adventure with all the comforts of an extraordinary jungle resort. Don't miss it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelingMarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Dear guest:

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share these lovely comments with us; it is a pleasure to know that you and your partner enjoyed your experience at our property and that you keep great memories of your stay.

We want to thank you for your wise advices and recommendations to our future guests, we regret you have not been more time in order to enjoy the entire Inkaterra Experience.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the rest of Inkaterra properties.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

Amazing Amazing Amazing. Great guides, loads of excursions, 3course meal of excellent food twice a day plus afternoon tea (if you arent out exploring) feed walnuts to the wild agouti running round. Wake up to birds. Running hot water and electricity (before 11pm). Even if we left for 10min, when we returned the room was tidy and made up. Best hotel I have ever stayed. If we didnt have other countries to visit first we would return here without hesitation.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share these lovely comments with us; it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your experience at our property and that you keep great memories of your stay, also we feel extremely honored for your kind comments for our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

Thank you for recommending Inkaterra and would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the rest of our properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews