We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
579
182
61
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
579
182
61
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake valenciacanopy walklake sandovalpiranha fishingplunge poollunch menuadditional costbutterfly houseminute boat ridelaundry servicethree nightsriver viewcanopy tourceiling fanan excursionmosquito nettingamazon experience
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 844 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2018

We were 6 family members (3 couples) visiting Peru. We planned to visit as many of the interesting places. Our idea was to start from the lower elevation and to slowly reach the highest elevation to keep altitude sickness under check. So flew to Puerto Maldonado via Cusco. We were picked up at the airport and taken to the Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica by boat. We booked the cottages facing the river. Every day there were activities that were included in the package. There were extra activities offered like the visit to the clay lick to watch the birds. If one is hoping to see Anaconda, Jaguar, or any other Amazonian animals you will be disappointed. We saw many birds, camens and Monkeys. We did not spot one bird while we were on the canopy walk. But the whole experience of walking in the jungle and staying the cabanas was well worth it.
The food offered was excellent the waiters were fantastic.
Our guide Charles was very knowledgeable and passionate about preserving the flora and fauna of the region. He went out of the way to show us as much as he could. When we spoke to those who went with another guide made us realize that we saw more. The boat ride at night and the canoe rides were moments of zen.
The rooms were comfortable and clean.
The owners are striving for the preservation of the rain forest.
From here we went to the Sacred Velley, Then Machu Picchu, Cusco and last to Lake Titikaka.

Room Tip: Request rooms facing the river so you can wake up to see the sunrise and the river.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write about us and we feel extremely honored for your kind comments for our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

It is a pleasure that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the rest of Inkaterra properties.

Thank you for recommending Inkaterra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

Wow! We started our 12-day visit to Peru at this resort. It proved to be the best possible way to unplug and decompress! I totally forgot about work and all other worries as the experience was so amazing. The accommodations were great for my family! The experiences in the dining room were great - food and service. Yomi was our tour guide for our excursions. He is simply the best. Informative, patient, friendly, great sense of humor. We cannot say enough great things about him. We saw incredible wildlife - from ants to Tarantulas to monkeys to macaws to black caimans. We were there over the holidays. On Christmas morn, Resort management had a gift for EVERY guest staying in the resort. We stayed at three Inkaterra properties during the course of a week and were spoiled by their accommodations, service and Food & Beverage. Thanks for such fond memories!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank DJM20724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Dear guest,

It is an honor to receive such excellent comments to our service, comments like yours encourages us to continue improving day by day.

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica, and would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the rest of our properties.

Thank you for recommending Inkaterra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2018

We loved our stay at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica! Right from the start when we were picked up from the airport, driven to the boat ramp on the banks of the mighty Rio Madre De Dios, helped on board one of the Lodge's river boats and driven to the base of the wide welcoming steps up to the Lodge itself. Wow! The setting is so beautiful. The Lodge itself is spacious,cool and comfortable, the staff delightfully friendly and professional too.
Our guide, Karlos was superb. We did at least two activities each day and sometimes a third in the evening. We were happy to get an excellent sleep each night in our comfortable, airy cabana. Our big bed with its pristine white linen was fully enclosed at night with mosquito nets to keep the jungle bugs at bay. We enjoyed the hammock and easy chair in our leisure time. The shower was superb. Meals were delicious, wine and beer all top notch.
The shop provided items we needed such as an extra white cotton long sleeved shirt - a necessity to ward off bugs in the day time. Rain washes off insect repellent.
This was a wonderful, once in a lifetime experience, well worth every dollar spent. We shall treasure the memories, all of them good.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent. We were beside the river - wonderful!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write about us and we feel extremely honored for your kind comments for our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

It is a pleasure that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the rest of Inkaterra properties.

Thank you for recommending Inkaterra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018

The setting is beautiful! The cabins are very nicely screened in and surprisingly bug-free. Our's was right by the river with a beautiful view and seclusion. We had scheduled a private guide for all our excursions, and she was quite nice and pleasant. Beyond that, our stay was very unimpressive and lacking. Service was mediocre and we experienced some quite bizarre moments. For example, during dinner one evening, I mentioned that I had received the wrong dessert. The waiter informed us that they were out of what I had ordered. But things got weird when he noticed that I might not necessarily like the replacement, and asked what else was available. He took away the replacement dessert. We assumed he was going to bring the menu back, but turns out I had lost my chance at dessert. No dessert for you!

Another example: transportation to the airport was included in our stay. And we had paid an extra night's stay so that we wouldn't have to vacate our room at check-out time since we had an early evening flight. They attempted to bundle us with other guest leaving many hours earlier than our flight. We mentioned that we had paid an extra night so we wouldn't hang out the one-room airport for hours. The lodge threw a hissy-fit at having to honor the transportation in a reasonable time. Finally, they forced us to board an excursion boat, wasting our time as they loaded up 30 people and made a midway stop unloading these folks. When we got to town, we had to wait 20-30 minutes in the rain for our transportation to the airport as the hotel gal stood there rolling her eyes at us CONSTANTLY. We are surprised she didn't hurt her eyeballs.

You definitely will NOT get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Get a room in a different ecoLodge!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DanAndAssana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Dear Guest:

Kindly accept our sincere apologies due to the inconveniences you went through while in our property. We are very sorry for the incident that you experienced with the service provided by our staff, it is not definitely the image that we would like customers and clients to take away from us.

As I mentioned, definitely, it is not the kind of service we regularly provide to all of our guests. About the dessert on the dinner time; we know there was a missunderstanding and we deeply apologise. About the transportation, it is scheduled according to the flights time of our guests and we can not make several modifications because we have to be as efficient as possible in the use of our boats both for the excursions and for the transfers.

Apart from these, we appreciate you recognize the setting and rooms are amazing.

Sure hope to get the chance to host you again so we can share with you our high quality service level.

Thank you again for your understanding.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018

We loved the Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica! Our family of five (all grown adult children) stayed at the Inkaterra for three nights. It was a wonderful experience. The individual cabanas are beautifully done with hammocks and comfortable beds. Rooms are clean and very nice. The staff left several little touches for us every day that made it special.
We did at least two hikes a day. Our guide, Freddy, was the best! We also did a night boat exploratory ride and saw some of the creatures that come out at night. Food was excellent, as was the service. Thank you Frank, Midori, and all the others that served us with a smile every day. Numerous little creatures hang out on the grounds, including monkeys. We loved it, and being outdoors. Expect hot and humid, and the lodge is very environmental friendly, so don't expect AC or a hair dryer! You are there to enjoy nature. Loved it, and so did my whole family.

Room Tip: Some of the cabanas have river views.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigtimetraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, E-commerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit and we would like to thank you for your kind comments for our service, food and accommodation.

We hope to welcome you again at this or other Inkaterra property.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazónica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews