We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lodge on the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2010

This is more an eco lodge in the jungle rather than a 'hotel'. Whatever the title it was absolutely amazing! There are loads of reviews on this website about this hotel so I will try to write about some of the things I missed when reading other people's reviews / tips that I think someone going there might need. Bring socks (ankle or normal) for the gumboots that the are provided for your tours of the jungle. There are lots of gumboots and you will be able to find your size however lots of gumboots means other people have worn them (think Athlete's foot). Clothes take 3 days to dry (if you wash them in the sink in your room) so you need to bring enough for your trip. Generally you can do two or three trips a day except the day you arrive you will only get to do the afternoon trip and evening. Everything gets a bit muddy so take old clothes. Also recommended is long-sleeved tops made out of thin material (mosquito-proof but also not too hot). Insect repellant is provide but we brought out own from the UK. Lake Sandoval was the muddiest trip for me. You have to hike a total of 1.5km to get to the lake (which is great) and 1.5km back to the dock to catch the motor boat back to the lodge. However the path is so muddy that thank goodness my guide gave me a stick just after we got off the boat from the lodge but before we started the hike. Gumboots (provided by the lodge) are definitely needed for this trip. Trainers are sufficient for the twilight boat trip as all you do is walk from your hut to the dock and get on the boat and that part was not muddy when I was there in March 2010. Take lots of band-aids with you (just in case the boots rub / you get a blister from padding - there are some trips where you can help the guide paddle if you want). Also take more bars/sports bars than you think you need. It is hot and sweaty in the jungle. When we went it was not unbearably hot but each trip is enough to make you sweat as if you had done a gym class. The food is amazing (especially given the lodge is in the middle of the jungle). The rooms are super-clean and the people are so friendly and trained to a very high standard. The lodge shuts down for a few days/weeks a year and plants trees and does other eco-friendly activities to help make them eco-neutral. In fact they are eco-neutral to the point of not being practical (glass shampoo and conditioner bottles are provided). There is a 10kg baggage limit but no one weighed by bags (I went in shoulder season so maybe in high season they are stricter). The food is amazing especially for the middle of the jungle. The chef is from Lima and produced high quality, tasty food (plantain-crusted catfish, succulent hand-made chicken nuggets, fish curry in coconut sauce, fillet steaks etc). Our guide, WIlson, was amazing and really made our trip special. He is so knowlegable and has a dry sense of humour which made the trip all the more enjoyable. He knew and pointed out all sorts of birds and fruits and trees and insects and has super-sharp eagle eyes. He spotted a sloth on our first trip. He also went the extra mile. We asked him if it was OK for him to get up extra early (5am) to do a repeat trip up the canopy to catch the early morning birds (gumboots required on this trip) he said, 'no problem'. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Please do tip the housekeeping and the guides. They work very hard and do deserve a little extra. Also I must mention Ysmaei the bartender. We were enjoying a free pisco sour (first one free from 5-6pm) when we heard a Maccaw screech and so we ran outside to try to find it. He went the extra mile and ran out after us to help us locate it. He didn't have to do that at all and it was really appreciated. This happened after I passed one other guide who just said, 'it flew in that direction' and walked off. Hope you have a wonderful time, we did!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Ilikecheesealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2010

I stayed at the lodge in late Dec 2009 and I must say it was exatcly what I had expected. The price of 700 US for a suite I think is really overpriced for what you get. The food was OK, given the logistics of getting everything there. The service in the restaurant was rather poor for any type of hotel. A couple of times we asked for an apetizer while we were having drinks and it was like pulling teeth! As for the guides they were all extremely helpful and looked like they enjoyed their jobs. Overall it was a pleasant experience in the Amazon This lodge is not too isolated so it's good for someone that wants to experience the outdoors with the creature comforts of home. As far as animal life it was what you would expect in a somewhat habitated part of the Amazon. We did see a lot insects, spiders, monkeys, sloth, and plenty of interesting plants and trees. There is no laundry service and your clothes don't dry in the humidity so take that in to account when you pack.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrSantaBarbara_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We just returned from a five days at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica. Even though it was the rainy season everything was PERFECT! We never had more spot-on personal attention paid to us by warm, knowledgeable and caring staff on any adventure travel (and we've been around). This was the REAL experience of the jungle: no air conditioning, hiking in mud (with boots provided), canoeing, 6 am bird watching and night hiking. We had planned to go to Ariau Amazon Towers in Manaus, but after reading several poor reviews on tripadvisor, we switched. Thank you tripadvisor! And thank you wonderful staff, especially Cesar, Alejandro and our full-time guide, Percy. Tips: bring enough dry clothes because nothing gets dry, although another guest told us that her guide took her clothes to hang in the generator room which the staff uses for that purpose. It was a great pleasure not to use a computer, but the staff welcomed us to use the office's computer if we wanted to.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry50Connecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Good food, great guides, comfortable rooms and great service.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank docweinstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Inkaterra on the Rio Madre de Dias (Reserva Amazonica). The term "Awesome" may be overused in our current dialect, but it is the only word that comes to mind. The accomodations are wonderful, the food is good, and the setting is stunning. Our group of 5 was assigned an interpreter to help us get to know the forest that surrounded us and that was perhaps the highlight. Our guide, Wilson, was terrific. Although we visited during the rainy season, we had a lot of good weather. It was not inexpensive, but worth every dime.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlaskaGuy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We had an excellent time at the Reserva Amazonica - excellent staff, professional and knowledgeable guides, amazing creatures!!! And the food and drink was soooooo wonderful ... esp the yuca, purple corn juice and chocolate dessert! I think the best part really was the staff - some of the nicest people we have ever met in our lives. We went on 2 - 3 expeditions a day, and saw a ton of creatures - birds, monkeys, caimen, capybara, brown aguti, frogs, spiders, giant river otters ... I would recommend Inkaterra in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinyterpjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

This is the first review that I have left on Tripadvisor (which is a bit selfish of me considering all of the helpful information I've gained from the site to plan trips). I saw that some people were less that impressed with this awesome lodge and wanted to help set the balance to be more positive.

Firstly, we were greeted at the airport before getting onto an old bus. I'm sure the lodge could afford a new bus but the point is that it had character. We then transferred to the check-in office and we were able to relax, or visit the butterfly enclosure whilst the staff dealt with everything.

Onto the jetty which was a bit drab and dirty but this wasn't the fault of the lodge. We then travelled by boat to the lodge. Finally, we arrived at the lodge. I was somewhat bemused by something which didn't have an address as such but was identified by the number of km down the river (Km15, Rio Madre di Dios).

From the start we saw wildlife in the air and on the ground in the lodge grounds and yet more on the various tours. The tours were agreed within groups (which were put together by the lodge) so the choice of trip is going to go with the majority but if you want to a different trip then you can join a different group. As it happens, all of our group agreed and we stayed for the duration with our guide.

The accomodation was comfortable. The Lunch service in the restaurant was exceptional (although a bit of variety from day to day may have been appreciated). The buffet selection was reasonable at breakfast and very good at dinner.

Overall, what this review can't get across is the magic of the place. There is something very special about going to sleep on a night with rainforest just a few tens of feet away and the sound of nature lulling you to sleep. I can't believe the reviewer who booked a trip to the jungle and then complained about the animal noises coming from the trees!

There was a wide spread of age groups. Nationalities mostly seemed to be UK or US but I think there were others. The atmosphere was very, very good as mostly people felt very relaxed and peaceful in the surroundings.

Got to mention the guides who are absolutely awesome. Our guide - Percy - was very knowledgeable and great to get along with. He could spot a sloth barely moving in a tree about 100ft away when he was looking in a different direction!

If I had to say anything negative then it would be that 4D/3N is a bit misleading as you arrive quite late on the first day and the fourth day they pack you off from the lodge quite early. I think they should probably try and squeeze something in before breakfast on the fourth day. In reality you only get two and a bit days and three nights.

Would live to visit this magical place again some day.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spamvindalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Maldonado hotels
15.5 km away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
246 reviews
15 km away
Hotel Cabana Quinta
Hotel Cabana Quinta
#1 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
206 reviews
8 km away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 70 in Puerto Maldonado
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.7 km away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 70 in Puerto Maldonado
870 reviews
9.9 km away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#6 of 70 in Puerto Maldonado
181 reviews
8.9 km away
Corto Maltes Amazonia
Corto Maltes Amazonia
#4 of 70 in Puerto Maldonado
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: C$487 - C$810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing