We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth visiting”

Huaca del Sol y la Luna
Book In Advance
More Info
US$41.00*
and up
Temple of the Sun and Temple of the Moon Tour from Trujillo
More Info
US$103.00*
and up
Archeological Tour from Trujillo: Chan Chan, Huanchaco, Sun and Moon Temples...
More Info
US$115.50*
and up
Private Combo Tour: Trujillo Sightseeing, Archeology Museum, Temples of the Sun...
Ranked #1 of 58 things to do in Trujillo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We visited this site together with Chan Chan, Trujillo, and Huanchaco all in one day. Enjoyed all. We would not have been able to see all if we booked through the cruise ship so we booked with PeruRoutes and Alfredo was our guide. Very well organized, informative and Alfredo spoke perfect english. All were worth seeing. Had lunch at Huanchaco

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank aatkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    339
    38
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lady Lake, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Informative experience”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Seeing the nearby Moche Museum first enhanced our appreciation of the Huaca del Sol y la Luna site and the Moche civilization that inhabited it. We toured with Patricia Valenzuela of yourperuvianguide.com and had a remarkable day visiting this site as well as Chan Chan and Huanchaco Beach, plus a tour of Truillo. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best site we have visited in the whole of Peru”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

No need to do a tour from town, the museum has plenty of English signage, is well laid out and interesting. The tour around the Huaca is tip based and can be in English, French or Spanish. We had an English speaking guide for the two of us who was great.

To get there go to the corner of Los Incas and Huayna Càpac and catch a collectivo to the Huacas, they drop you at the ticket office and come every ten to fifteen minutes to see if anyone needs a ride back into town. Cost 1.50 Soles each. If you go to the iPeru site they will give you all the info you need.

The site is great value at 13 Soles, the paintings on the walls are impressive and we can't wait until they open up the whole site!

Compared to Chan Chan, Chavin, Macchu Picchu and Caral this is way better and far more interesting. If you go after 11.30 you miss all the organised tours so its easier to get photos and appreciate the Huacas.

Helpful?
2 Thank PinkladyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
1,034 reviews
388 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Who knew?”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Of course everyone wants to see Machu Picchu, but this is an amazing ruin close to shore (we were on an ocean cruise). Discovered only in the 1990's, they have done a good job excavating these amazing frescoes and carvings. Worthwhile.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Pyramids of Trujillo”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

These pyramids are very interesting to visit. They are made of millions of small abobe bricks and therefore subject to wearing away from adverse weather. Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huaca del Sol y la Luna also viewed

Trujillo, La Libertad Region
Trujillo, La Libertad Region
 
Trujillo, La Libertad Region
Trujillo, La Libertad Region
 

Been to Huaca del Sol y la Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing