We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Bolivar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Bolivar Hotel
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Trujillo
Antwerp
Level Contributor
292 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

We arrived late in the evening by plane in Trujillo. We were planning to go to Hotel Peregrino, but the taxidriver said that that hotel didn't exist anymore. We asked to be taken to Suite Plaza Hotel Residencial instead, but after a phonecall from our driver we were met in front of that hotel by someone of the staff who said that there was no room available in his hotel. The hotel next to that was full too.

So we agreed reluctantly to be taken to Gran Bolivar instead. Because we thought that it must have been some kind of arrangement between the staff and the taxi driver, we insisted that we would only talk about the price when the driver was gone.
Since we would stay 3 nights, we got a discount (130 soles/night = +/- 46 US dollar per night and got room 401 which proved to be clean, very big with a very big double bed, and rusticly decorated. We had a good shower in the bathroom.
The breakfast was in buffet style and was very good.
The girl at the reception is very friendly. Guests can use the computers in the lobby for free. The front part of the hotel is an old colonial building which is joined to the modern hotelpart of the building in the back by a courtyard with a fountain.
The hotel is a few blocks from the Plaza de Armas, and there are several restaurants in Jr. Pizarro.

On Sunday mornings ( around 10 am.) there is a flagraising ceremony on the Plaza the Armas, presided over by the military and the police. We witnessed a parade of dressed up schoolchildren as well, but this might have had something to do with the "dia de la juventud".

Trujillo is a city with plenty of churches and colonial buildings, a nice archeological museum, and an extraordinary number of casinos.

For daytrips around Trujillo we can really recommend Moche Tours, Jr. Pizarro 543 (www.mochetours.tk email: mochetours@hotmail.com) . We took a daytrip with them to the piramids Huaca del Sol y Huaca de la Luna, the ruins of Chan Chan and Huanchaco beach to see the fishermen ride the waves on totora reed boats. We had a very good guide and all the people at this agency are very enthusiastic. They have a branch in Chiclayo, which is also very recommendable.

To go from Trujillo to Chiclayo (+/- 200 Kms, +/- 3 hours drive) we took a deluxe bus from Empresa de Transportes Ave Fénix Emtrafesac, Av. Tupac Amaru 165, Urb. Huerta Grande (tel. : 044-222.122). for 20 soles per person (= +/- 5 euro or 7 US dollar). This buys you the most comfortable big seats you've ever seen, with ample leg space and an extractable legboard to put your legs on, and you get a small snackbox. However, our main reason to take this bus was safety : your luggage gets a tag in the luggagedeposit, of which you get a double. The bus doesn't stop underway and upon arrival at your destination you have to present the proper tag or you cannot retrieve your luggage.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelcrazyAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    35
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
23
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
209 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

After 2-1/2 weeks in Peru, I have experienced many different hotels. In most of them I have slept poorly and had variable service. This hotel was my final night in Peru after a horrid experience in a town 1-1/2 hours away.

Booking the hotel was great. Online reservation was fast, efficient, and they responded quickly to ask what my flight/bus info was to arrange a transfer. Their website was helpful, although it is misleading regarding transfers (see below).

They advertise an American breakfast as part of the lodging. So far every place that has said that had no idea what that really means. This hotel was the shining exception. Breakfast was EXCELLENT in quality and offerings. I was so happy to have eggs finally! :) There were several juices, yogurt, etc. I ate lunch there twice and found the food to be quite excellent. On top of it the prices were better than most hotel-provided meals. Service was superb..

The building is attractive and a nice blend of modern and old. Check-in was one of the fastest I've ever experienced. I had reserved a "simple" room and was shocked at the room when I got there. The bathroom and main room were quite large, larger than many American rooms. There is cable TV with a plethora of channels, free in-room wireless Internet that had great speed and reliability, a small mini-bar with snacks, water, sodas, beer, and wine, and toiletries all at very reasonable prices. The bed was very comfortable. Only down side is it did not seem that the room had a heater, and I can see where some people might need the room to be warmer. There is A/C for the warm weather.

The price for the room and services was extremely reasonable. Location was great. It's a very short walk to the Plaza de Armas, to restaurants and shopping. About a 20-min ride to the airport.

My only complaint was that the website listing of transfers is misleading. It would seem transfers are included, but they aren't. Not only was I not advised of this, but I was quite surprised when the taxi driver informed me I owed him 20 soles. That would've been fine if I had known in advance. It could've been more of a challenge esp since I was preparing to leave the country so had my soles carefully budgeted. He did call the hotel so that I could verify I wasn't being swindled.

Checkout was also super fast and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Dad1Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

This hotel is OK but is ready for a major renovation. The weather was unusually cold when we were in Trujillo and the hotel has no heating. The free internet access was useful - though we had to pay S2 for the four sheets of paper to print out boarding passes! Breakfast was OK but nothing special

  • Disliked — Strangely souless atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank phebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2006

I spent three days in Trujillo , The Gran Bolivar hotel has a good service, the staff very friendly, it has internet access in rooms and a gym

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2006

nice hotel and great price. Nice and clean rooms, staff was very helpful

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trujillo hotels
4.2 km away
Due
Due
#3 of 36 in Trujillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Libertador Trujillo
Hotel Libertador Trujillo
#1 of 36 in Trujillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Torre Norte
Hotel Torre Norte
#5 of 36 in Trujillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Kallpa Classic Hotel
Kallpa Classic Hotel
#7 of 36 in Trujillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel El Gran Marques
Hotel El Gran Marques
#6 of 36 in Trujillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Portada del Sol
Hotel Portada del Sol
#12 of 36 in Trujillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Bolivar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Bolivar Hotel

Property: Gran Bolivar Hotel
Address: Bolivar 957, Trujillo, Peru
Region: Peru > La Libertad Region > Trujillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Bolivar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in downtown Trujillo, four blocks from the Main Square. Single, double and triple bedrooms and executive suites, all equipped with internet access, telephone with national and international dialing, connection to fax modem, color TV with cable system, air conditioning, mini-bar, anti-noise windows, personal desk, bathrooms with bathtub. Jacuzzi in the suites. Free pick up service from airport. "El Carabobo" Restaurant, Business Center with access to internet, gym, Casino, Souvenir shop, and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Gran Bolivar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing