We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After stunning first visit, the second visit was disappointing.......”
Review of La Piadina

La Piadina
Ranked #31 of 341 Restaurants in Trujillo
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 24, 2016

When you want to have a quiet and intimate meal dining alongside a group of 30 women proved to be a challenge to far........ My first visit 2 days previously was great, nice atmosphere, attentive and knowledgeable staff, excellent food and great company. So happy with this I decided to return for a more intimate and special meal on the following Saturday. And found myself as part of a circus dining in the company of a very large group is almost impossible, the quiet conversation replaced with having to virtually shout across the table, and when the musicians arrived I really had had enough. I complained and the musicians disappeared. I was offered a quieter and more intimate table, a LONG TIME after the main course had been served and the damage done. NO OTHER COMPENSATION WAS DEEMED NECESSARY. Why have a large party in the middle of the restaurant when you have a whole 2nd floor available where these large groups could do their own thing without ruining the atmosphere of the restaurant. If you say your food is good, at least provide an atmosphere in which it can be enjoyed.

Now to the food: it was good, certainly the best Italian food in Trujillo, but it is still Italian food in Peru, and not Italian food in Italy, so that has to be remembered, for instance the indian "chapatti" is a far cry from the slightly thicker "Piadina" I have enjoyed in Italy. So authentic is the aspiration, and seems to remain so.

But, having said all that, it is the best Italian food I have enjoyed in Trujillo and enjoyed on that level is acceptable if slightly overpriced.

The recommended wine of the month, A Chilean Syrah, at S.88 (S.110 with 20% discount) was a fine wine and very very enjoyable.

Last Thursday we must have struck gold with the excellent waiter Renzo, very professional, attentive and just the right level of engagement. Last night the young man was nervous, and made many errors, food served without any cutlery, my drink taken away before I had finished, and long waits for attention, to order desert for instance. In his defense I think that because the large group was soaking up all teh attention all the other dinners were his responsibility.

Will I go back? The way my complaint was dealt with, was poor. I had complained during the starter. To be offered a change of table 20 minutes later my complaint and after the main course had been served was less than professional and seemed insincere. I am NOT SURE IF I SHALL RETURN - maybe you have to ring first and ask if there are large groups in that evening. More planning required here.

So a good meal ruined by bad planning.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaelglennm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Piadina G, Gerente at La Piadina, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Thank you for your honest review. We have received your message through Facebook as well, with your feedback on your second night with us. We do see necessary to point out though, since perhaps you did not notice, that desserts that night were not charged; although put in the bill as documentation, the cost of them were both $0. We do apologize once again for the inconvenience that night. Unfortunately, there was a misunderstanding with the bigger party and they brought musicians, which were not approved when they made the reservation, so that had to be cleared out, which is one of the reasons we took longer in giving a solution to your displeasure. Nevertheless, we do recognize that we have to be more careful when having reservations of larger parties, as well as learn to give faster solutions. We will take in consideration everything you wrote and appreciate your review, since we believe it will help us be, not only the best Italian food in Trujillo, but the best Trattoria in Trujillo, in general, which includes environment and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 56 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2015

Nice Interior but cold with a false formality. Service personnel was Non Engaging and stiff like a starched collar.
Bread was put on the table after seating, there was 6 of us,, there was barely enough bread for even one of us. Possibly I am making a Huge error and what they served was Communion, then I understand.
They offer a long list of pastas and sauces, I had the Alfredo which was cold on top when served and a little warm underneath. Alfredo, a cream sauce, Must be served HOT to maintain fluidity otherwise it stiffens. I am not an Medical Examiner but definitely rigor mortis had set in. I chose the Papadelle as the pasta, unfortunately it was wide as it should be but Too Thick. It was tough and chewy and this is not typical of what I know as Fresh Pasta.
My friend had the Carbonara, one look was enough. I did not even ask to taste. Had I, then I am sure to have written a Chapter two to this review.
For these dishes La Piadina NEEDS A CHEF IN THE KITCHEN.....
I do not think I would ever make a return to La Piadina.
Did I say Cream sauce,, well it was white, bland and boring. The cut up slices of supermarket ham must have been placed in as some kind of After Thought because they were distinctly uncooked and over took the otherwise Bland & Boring taste.
Italian sauces are an art form and I know there is no Italian in the kitchen but the entire Feeling of the Restaurants Presentation is ITALIAN,,,,
I believe someone in the kitchen is cooking out of a book.....
The dinner, a birthday celebration was our reason to be out but the dinner was totally UnEventful and will not leave a memory.
We also ordered Pizzas,,,, totally laughable,,,, I won't say more.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank pistachi o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Having been in Peru for over a little a month now, I have realized that Peruvian food is quite delicious and complex. La Piadina is definitely one of the best restaurants in Trujillo. They have delicious fresh made pastas, that when paired with one of their Peruano fusion sauces, Italian food will never be the same I have eaten here several times and have to tell you the hidden gem on the menu might be the Criollo, with huancaina risotto and lomo saltado. An indulgent variation on the classic that truly exemplifies the creativity of the chef. Delicious!!
Also, don't leave without trying one of their amazing desserts. I recommend the crocantina de almendra. A beautiful finish to a truly beautiful meal.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2015

I went to La Piadina with my family, because the place looked really nice and we heard from locals that the food is really good, and I must say it really is! We tried the Pizza Pera and Pizza Lomo Saltado (the best pizzas in our life). My wife also ordered the Magret de Pato (duck breast with an amazing home made papardelle pasta with rocoto salsa).
For desserts we chose Crocantino de Almendra and Creme brulee which were delicious as well. If you want to go to La Piadina don't forget to try the Sangria, much better than in Europe!
Very nice place, great design, good music, service, and amazing food!! You do not need anything more to spend beautiful evening.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Piadina also viewed

Trujillo, La Libertad Region
Trujillo, La Libertad Region
Trujillo, La Libertad Region
Trujillo, La Libertad Region
Trujillo, La Libertad Region

Been to La Piadina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing