We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,288)
Filter reviews
2,288 results
Traveller rating
1,473
643
102
30
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,473
643
102
30
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west wing the executive lounge cru steakhouse new wing resorts world grand ballroom close to the airport glass wall breakfast buffet newport mall free shuttle mango five star hotel international airport naia terminal long flight every hour
Filter
Updating list...
2,107 - 2,112 of 2,288 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2010

My family, friends and I just returned from a overnight stay at Marriott Manila, which replaced the Renaissance Makati, another Marriott brand, in the National Capital Region. While I was a big fan of the old property, this hotel goes well above and beyond. From the time you arrive until the time you check out, the hotel staff is on point and ready to help with your every need. In addition, and this may be to the newness of the property, the common areas are very nice and well designed.

As we are locals, our trip was intended to relax poolside with the family and do a little gambling at Resort World next door. The pool area, which overlooks the Makati skyline, is very nice, though not very shaded. The locker rooms and gym are some of the best I've seen in a hotel anywhere, including across the U.S. Certain members of the pool staff (Louis is outstanding) are incredible, while the rest are good to very good. Service was a bit slow. Be prepared for several rules when it comes to attire. No jersey or cotton shorts are allowed, nor are t-shirts to keep the sun away. Bring your sunscreen, which is oddly not a problem. My stepson, who only owns nylon athletic shorts, was asked to leave the pool due to his shorts by one of the attendants. However, hotel management was very understanding and accommodating once our dilemma was explained to them.

The rooms are very clean and well furnished. The bath area is exceptionally nice, as are the beds. There doesn't seem to be wireless Internet in the rooms as promised, but you can plug in or head to the lobby if necessary.

As for dining, service to the pool and room service were excellent, and the food was very good. The morning buffet was really quite good with a very nice selection of both western and eastern favorites.

We will definitely return and recommend this hotel to our visiting guests.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovinAnyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2010

The is the 2nd stay at this property in the last few months & both have been very good. This is a new hotel so all the rooms are clean & in good condition.

Nice size bathrooms but the shower set up is kinda strange (shares the same area as the tub).

Breakfast buffet is excellent & the free drinks/snacks in the executive lounge at 5.30pm is good.

Within walking distance there is a pizza place, McD’s & a 7-11. Soon to open up will be Kenny Rogers Chicken restaurant.

The Casino is attached to the hotel (a little smoky at night) for those who want to gamble. Stay downstairs, the slot machines upstairs were just brutal.

The free shuttle back to the airport operates every hour.

Finally the staff are just great, lots of smiles & greetings throughout the day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2010

The hotel is in a new development with condos, a huge casino that was already operating and luxury shops which were not yet open. There is a 7 11 and a McDonalds a couple of hundred metres away if you don't mind walking out in the baking sun in the middle of the day. The hotel is opposite the airport's new terminal 3, although the airport can only be reached by a circuitous route that involves thick traffic jams at peak times.

Check in took some time, as they didn't have enough check in staff working at a busy time and I got stuck behind an annoying couple disputing some trivial charge interminably. I had booked an executive room at a corporate rate of US$150. The room was spacious and lovely with a relaxing view of the Vilamoor Golf Course with its mature trees and large tastefully fitted out bathroom.

Nothing much to complain about regarding this hotel but I will do my best. The breakfast was OK with nice coffee but it was very crowded. There is a coffee shop with a menu of sandwiches, smoothies and coffee advertised as "grab and go". This is a great concept for a hotel with a lot of conferences but the staff there seemed in a perpetual daze, apparently very busy all the time but achieving very little. They couldn't say what was in sandwiches with fancy names without disappearing to ask some one else. They had to come back to my table several times to re-confirm my order. It took about half an hour for them to produce a sandwich and a smoothie. When they came they were quite good but my cafe latte tasted the same as the latte I got from a push button automated coffee maker in the Thai Airways lounge on the way over, If this is the case they would do better to introduce self service and make it a real "grab and go" outlet and let the staff go back to their provinces. Otherwise they should train up the staff better - a stint at a busy Starbucks outlet would work wonders.

Taxis wait outside the hotel at non-peak times. These turned out to be airport taxis that charge 70 pesos at the flagfall instead of the standard 30 pesos. The meter also seemed rigged to go faster than standard taxis, as I compared the same journeys with a regular taxi on the way back. Anyway the airport taxis are clean and with drivers who speak good English (not always the case in Manila where they can "misunderstand" your destination and drive you around aimlessly before admitting they have no idea where you want to go). At peak times there are no taxis waiting and staff do not bother to try to get taxis for guests waiting in the queue. They just wait for taxis sending other guests back to the hotel.

The only real annoyance was the high cost of Internet at US$19 a day. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be near the airport, especially casino afficionados.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank J0sher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2010

This place has everything, great staff, location, rooms and facilities. I expect high standards from Marriot hotels and I am rarely disappointed, however this hotel has tons of charm too.
We had great rates due to a loyalty program we joined along time ago which has paid for itself several times over.
Surprisingly a top feature for us was it's proximity to the airport, literally a few minutes to the Resorts World complex, a real blessing after a long flight and also a great advantage when checking out, knowing that you are so close the airport really eases departure stress.
It is a fairly new place but runs like it's been there forever and there were no unfinished areas that we could see.
We ate at The Cru Steakhouse three times during our stay, it is sensational, as good as anything at home. The Marriot Cafe was also blessed with our presence on a daily basis for snacks etc all at very good prices too.
Highly recommended, stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arrisNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Stayed in a standard room with king-sized bed and a partial view of the golf course last New Year's Eve. Check-in took almost 15 mins. The staff was accommodating but I felt they were too relaxed and slow; thus, the unexpected queue in the reception.

The lifts were fast, didn't have to wait. Was very fond of our room's 40" LCD TV, the shower room and the comfortable bed. Since the hotel was new, all the fixtures were in perfect condition.

Noticed we had only one pair of sandals so i requested for another one. Was told only one pair was allotted for us. That sounded wrong since there were two of us. Didn't bother to plead with them for another pair after that. Noticed there was only one set of dental kit and no shaver as well. They probably just missed them.

Dined at Marriott Cafe. Food was ok, staff was very attentive and courteous. Had to shell out more for the food; price was twice more expensive. That was expected though.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunko007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews