We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,298)
Filter reviews
2,298 results
Traveller rating
1,479
646
102
31
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,479
646
102
31
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west wing the executive lounge cru steakhouse new wing resorts world grand ballroom close to the airport glass wall breakfast buffet room attendant newport mall mango five star hotel free shuttle international airport naia terminal long flight
Filter
Updating list...
2,112 - 2,117 of 2,298 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2010

First class hotel which I recommend especially in a town like Manila in order to get western high standard.
Service is what you are expecting, easy to reach from Manila airport by Taxi.
I strongly do recommend, if you stay in Manila, this is the right choice.
Rooms as usual Mariott class. Very clean and friendly staff. Receiption very friendly in filippino style

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl-Heinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2010

This is my second stay at this hotel and I will repeat what I said in my first review, for a regular Marriott this could be the nicest one out there with the best staff I have seen. I will not repeat the details of what others have said because the descriptions seems right on point. What I want to focus on is a few negatives that bring this from a true 5 star hotel like the Makati Shangri la and the Peninsula to a 4 star property. First is the internet, unlike the latter 2 hotels it is not free and quite expensive by Manila standards (even US standards), it is almost 800 pesos per day which is about $18. That is not the worst part, advertised as high speed it really is quite slow, for example, at home and the Peninsula Makati when I download a full movie it takes 30-40 mins, at the Marriott it takes 10 hours (literally). Next was the key cards, the readers in the elevators and room doors are backwards so if you put the card in as directed it will not work. You need to do it backwards, nobody told me this and I had to have a trip back to the front desk. The club lounge food offering are of lesser quality and quantity than the other 2 hotels mentioned. Also, my biggest complaint is the soundproofing or lack thereof. The walls and doors are so thin that you can hear absolutely everything in adjacent rooms and in the hallways (including slamming doors at all hours of the night). Since the hotel is connected to a casino this means drunk people can be making noise all hours of the night which can make it hard to sleep. To me this is not what I would expect from a brand new hotel.

With that said I am not trying to be a complainer just pointing out some of the negatives as overall the positives out weigh them and I would not hesitate to stay here again. Also one last positive I did not hear mentioned. Metered taxis are readily available outside which is a big deal because when I stay at the Peninsula the staff does not go out of their way to get you one and it can take a very long time and they push you to the insanely overpriced hotel car.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tangigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed at the Marriott for our first and our last night of our Philippine holiday because of the location close to the airport. We had booked two rooms for single use via the Marriott website which offered the best rates.

Both times at check-in the staff seemed badly organised and stressed, and there clearly weren't enough people at the reception desk even though the hotel didn't seem particularly busy. People are friendly enough but don't expect a speedy check-in. Check-out on the other hand was efficient and quick both times.

The hotel opened only in October 2009 and the rooms are well appointed and modern, but the amenities are disappointing. The quality of the bathroom items (shampoo, conditioner, bath salt and shower gel) is mediocre, so use your own stuff! There are no wine glasses or plates in the room either, not to mention knives to cut your apple, and the two teabags don't really get the baby bathed. At 150 USD per room I expect a bit more pampering!

It's apparently fashionable now to have a window from your bathroom / toilet area into the bedroom which I really don't appreciate (or see the point of), but luckily there's a blind you can put down. Do it before you have your shower or you'll spend the rest of your stay looking at a water stained window.

Having said all that, the bed and the linnen were of superb quality, as was the television and the rest of the interior.

The hotel is right next to the Philippines' largest casino and convenient for those who like to gamble. For those who don't there are a number of nice eating options: we tried the Marriott café and the truly superb Cru Steakhouse. Much cheaper restaurant alternatives are available near the hotel, but there is no shopping mall close by.

The pool deserves a special mention: it is not huge but quite beautiful with a nice view over the attractive new buildings around. Try it in the early morning: there is little shade to be had and it probably gets quite hot there during the day.

Contrary to what it says on the website, there actually is an hourly free shuttle bus to the airport but we only heard about it while chatting to the security chief during check-in. There is no mention of the shuttle either in the room or when you check-in. It leaves on the hour and goes around all three terminals. Presumably you can also get picked up by it though how you arrange that remains a mystery.

The Spa is nice and relaxing and the staff know what they're doing. Prices are reasonable for a hotel. Shame about the wobbly floor which I was told was caused by water damage.

All in all a good option to stay near the airport but a little way away from a perfect hotel experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tingasiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2010

You might think at first the hotel is isolated. But the nearby Resort World is just connected. Very near Terminal 3 but not walking distance, since the road that separates Terminal 3 and the hotel is at times congested and no separate lanes to walk, so crossing the road might pose a danger. Breakfast is superb, the rooms are spic and span with see thru bathrooms but could be invisible by request. By Marriott standard, this hotel is real thumbs up.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Collin91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I follow the rest of the reviews on here about the Manila Marriott Hotel. It is a fairly new hotel in that it opened up around last Christmas. The rooms are beautifully decorated, flat screen TV's, beautiful bathrooms, and very good service. If there was anything not so great it was that the swimming pool was very small. I have stayed in most of the major hotels in Manila and this ranks up there with the Sofitel Hotel and the Makati Shangri-La as far as luxury is concerned. The hotel is conveniently connected to the new World Resorts Casino next door.

Definitely would recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Manila. Agoda.com offers weekend rates as low as $100 per night if you use your Visa credit card to book and pay for it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews