We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“will never think of going to this hotel!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mabuhay Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mabuhay Manor
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Pasay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“will never think of going to this hotel!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I am never really fond of making reviews,however, I'd like to inform the management that they have to do rigid training for their staff, particularly the telephone operator who has been so unhelpful and seemingly has no basic idea about the hotel. I was trying to book and one of their suite rooms and could not differentiate the differences of each and just merely gave a blatant excuse that she is only the operator and I have to reach the central reservations for inquiries and booking which did not seem possible either as I was put on hold for minutes without anyone picking up the phone. I called her again and ask her to connect me to the reservations department and she gave the same silly answer that she is could not do that as she is the telephone operator, I wonder what the telephone operator does in that case!So disappointing and annoying, the staff's attitude shown is a reflection of what kind of hotel this is. I would not come even if the offers for balikbayans seem enticing. I wouldn't dare booking this hotel by all means unless the staff will show professionalism and have a basic idea of what they actually have.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank FERNLOUIS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    365
    169
    49
    27
See reviews for
222
146
58
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I have stayed here five times since 2007 with my Filipino wife and we both enjoy the Balikbayan ambience of the Mabuhay. Our last stay was this April and we rented a Balikbayan Suite and had some of our extended family with us. We all enjoyed the experience. We have stayed in their standard and deluxe rooms, even those without windows, and always felt safe, the accommodation being clean and the decor relaxing. I have gone out after dark (down to Chow King or Kenny Rogers) and always felt safe enough. The Baclaren Mall and street markets are interesting, and the hotel is close to Edsa, the Mall of Asia, and the airport. For foreigners such as myself, the MH offers an insight into, and an experience of, the Filipino way which I have much appreciated. I have also found it a good arrival or departure point for our Philippine's trips, reliable and pretty consistent. If you want the Marriot style--then go there; for relaxed, accommodating Westerners, this is a pretty good intro to Manila and the Philippines.

Room Tip: The Balikbayan Suites are certainly worth considering: pool-side accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wellingt0nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Room was clean enough..Great location and very close to the Baclalaran Flea Market which is convenient for us because we loved to shop in a flea market...Breakfast is not that impressive though, but we had a great time staying in this Hotel and thats all it count....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mai_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is a bit of a late review, but I feel the need to.

Pros:
1)Conveniently located near the airport, but... (see cons)
2)Friendly staff.
3)Airport service was great, friendly driver.
4)Rooms were clean and unexpectedly nice.
5)Great value; wasn't cheap, wasn't expensive.
6)And breakfast was THE BOMB. <3
7)Staff were always cleaning the halls.
8)The mirrors in the halls.
9)The mancala table! My sister and I spent an hour playing on that table! We pretty much hogged it.
10)There was this one really cute waiter... hahaha.

Cons:
1)Location was a tad bit sketchy.
2)The lobby needs to be a little homier.
3)We had to cross a bridge-like structure to go to our room and the bars were a little grimy.
4)There were parts of the hotel that looked like it wasn't cleaned since the hotel was made.
5)The front area could use some remodeling; it looked nicer on TV, but doesn't everything on TV look nice? XD
6)The window in our room was kinda gross.
7)The TV was too small and old-looking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exaggeratedsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

The Mabuhay Manor is a very nice hotel near NAIA Manila as well as the SM Mall of Asia. Though the neighborhood is not the best and can feel quiet unsafe at night, the hotel itself stands out as a beautiful place and the 3 security guards give you a feeling of safety inside the hotel. Breakfast is delicious, the pool bigger than I expected it to be and the rooms itself are spacious and clean as well as nicely decorated. What I liked about the place was the decoration with swags all over the hotel premises. The room rate was ok, not a bargain but not as expensive as many international hotels in roughly the same area. I recommend the Mabuhay Manor for any stay in Manila, as it is a home in a noisy and polluted city. By the way, Wi-Fi is free in the room, and it is even quiet fast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I booked here as they do free airport pick up but for P3500 for a deluxe room per night is not worth it. I wanted to just stay here as it was just an overnight stay as we were flying out to go to another destination the following day.

I stayed here 2.5 years ago and didn't mind it back then however as I have stayed at other nice hotels since then this would be the last time I will stay with Mabuhay Manor. The other hotel I highly recommend is Microtel Inn in Mall of Asia. It's only P3900 for the night but the airport transfers is expensive so you will just need to catch a taxi from the airport.

Bad things I experienced in Mabuhay Manor are I advised front desk on our way out to MOA that we didn't have linens in the room. So when we return late at night and about to have showers I notice there were only 2 'hand towels'!!! So I told them there were 2 adults and 2 kids booked to stay in the room so we need 2 extra towels. So when housekeeping came to give the 2 bath towels they asking us to pay P60! I said hell no as this should have been provided!

The bathrooms are so small that you feel like you are in the toilets in the airplane and the doors to the shower/toilets looks like you are in a caravan. So small.

Then the complimentary slippers that was in the plastic were used!! Yuck!!

The only nice thing was the buffet breakfast as I love the traditional filipino food.

But other than that Mabuhay Manor did not leave us a good impression!

Room Tip: Book your stay instead to Microtel Inn MOA - you wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sabbylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pasay hotels

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Nothing at all special and well over priced. We arrived early and of course there were only deluxe rooms available for an early check in at an extra 500 pesos. To their credit though, we were allowed the early check in. The deluxe room cost about 3 times what a similar room would cost in Bangkok. Manila is more expensive than Bangkok for hotels and you don’t get anything like the quality. Don’t expect much in the room. TV was an old style and no coffee making stuff and annoyingly no safety deposit box in the room. The room was big, but contained nothing much to fill the space except a horrible plastic couch. Shower was OK, but there were gaps in the air con unit through which mosquitoes wouldn’t have a hard time flying through. We had the room sprayed just in case. They have silly penny pinching policies like no extra toilet rolls which is really quite inconvenient.
The area you cannot even think of walking at night. Keep the taxi door locked daytime also as the area is famous for “snatching”. It is quite convenient for the airport. The staff were all very pleasant, but I wouldn’t stay there again or recommend the place as the place just doesn’t deserve the tariff they charge.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianthailand999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasay hotels
0.7 km away
Kabayan Hotel Pasay
Kabayan Hotel Pasay
#6 of 30 in Pasay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.1 km away
88 Courtyard Hotel
88 Courtyard Hotel
#12 of 30 in Pasay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Stone House Hotel Pasay
Stone House Hotel Pasay
#23 of 30 in Pasay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.1 km away
Golden Phoenix Hotel Manila
0.6 km away
The Henry Hotel Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mabuhay Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mabuhay Manor

Property: The Mabuhay Manor
Address: 2933 F.B. Harrison Cor. Ortigas Street, Pasay, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pasay
#4 Spa Hotel in Pasay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mabuhay Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, familiar, and welcoming, The Mabuhay Manor in Pasay City, Metro Manila, Philippines greets you with the trademark Filipino hospitality. Our accommodation, as the first balikbayan airport hotel in the metro, arranges nothing less than a great homecoming for you and your family. Our hotel in Pasay presents comfortable and spacious rooms, amply furnished to provide a perfect retreat that only a home can give. And with a lineup of facilities and services designed to make you feel at ease, we make your visit, however short or long, as memorable as possible. The dining experience alone will leave you in awe as you savor scrumptious Filipino food at its finest. Kare-kare, crispy pata, balut, itlog na pula, bibingka, halo-halo - dishes that you grew up with and crave for whenever you're away from home. Definitely, a heartwarming feast for the senses. Located just 10 minutes from Ninoy Aquino International Airport, and within walking distance from the nearest train stations, The Mabuhay Manor promises a homecoming that will make you want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your The Mabuhay Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mabuhay Manor Hotel Pasay
Mabuhay Manor Pasay
Mabuhay Manor Hotel Pasay
The Mabuhay Manor Metro Manila/Pasay, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing