We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement.”
Review of La Guardia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cebu City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Guardia Hotel
Ranked #82 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed there for a night only in their Deluxe Room. The location is quite accessible since it's in downtown Cebu, right in the busy streets of Colon. At night, it doesn't get better with the noise. Jeepney barkers keep on yelling all night long. And the worst part there is there are little cockroaches running randomly in the room, bathroom, dresser, cabinet and even in your bed. Housekeeping did nothing with out complain. I will give 2 out 5 for their staffs courtesy and accommodation.

Room Tip: Choose a more remote room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jezrah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for La Guardia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

The location downtown is quite convenient, specially if you want to get a ferryboat - if you go next to the Collonades Mall (Colon St), you can get a jeepney for 8php to get to pier 4 (if you go to one of the other piers, it's probably cheaper, as the distance is less). If you want to get a flight, it's much cheaper to sleep there and get a taxi than to sleep in Lapu Lapu.
The surroundings of the hotel aren't great, but no problems whatsoever - some prostitution around and some beggars, specially on the Colon St.
The staff is efficient and you have to leave a deposit of 300 php, no matter which room you take, and that you recover in the end, after someone checks if you left the room in one piece.
We stayed twice, when travelling between islands. The first time, we got a deluxe room (no cheaper room), facing the main street - terrible! The noise went on the whole night, the light outside was so strong it seemed day the whole night! The bathroom was ok, the room floor was not that clean. There were cockroaches around - but near ports/piers, you have to expect some, at least. The bed was confortable and the linen and towels were clean.
The second time, we took the cheapest room (economy), which is good value - this time, we asked for a room which was not facing the main street, and we slept really well. We also observed the same thing: clean towels and linen, comfortable bed, bathroom ok, room floor could be cleaner.
If you intend to stay only one night in Cebu and you want to save money and stay at a safe hotel, with acceptable rooms, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Pres. Osmeña Blvd (otherwise, you probably won't sleep with th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaterciaSimoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Location
The location is located in Colon, I can see it as a divisoria type of place.

Price
We were three and we paid a deluxe room for only Php 1000 with a deposit of Php 300.

Room
The room was good, like a 4 star out of 5. There is no hot and cold shower, the airconditioning unit was set on a timer. Our room was located on the fifth floor, very far if you party all night.

Front Desk
The Front Desk Agent doesn't have an accomodating face but she is such a nice woman. She let us check in early.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamkennethbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

never go near this place,its full of rats...true!!! when u check in the staff are nice n rooms look ok..on closer inspection tho',.its quite dirty.woke up one morning and there was a rat in our room,,and i dont mind telling you it scared the sxxx outta me..the staff were great i cannot fault them..they blocked the crack at the sides of the windows for us...smelly drains in the bathroom..no wouldnt stay here again if u paid me...i must stress tho' the staff were nice and helpful..

Room Tip: dont have one at all...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamessutcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Upon arriving to Cebu, we contacted the called the "hotel" and made a reservation for Deluxe Room. We were happy to learn that the room is available and that it's cheap. When we're told by the taxi driver that we reached the place. I was very doubtful at first since the surrounding seems dirty. Felt like in Old Manila. Anyway, we went in and checked-in. The receptionist is a bit rude and don't know how to handle inquiries and sorts, she told us that the Deluxe is not available. So weird since we just contacted her on our way, it's just less than 2 hours ago. Anyway, good thing the "Standard Room" is available and it's on the 4th floor. Much cheaper and the room is big. I don't have any complaints whatsoever. We checked-out early anyway since we're going to Kawasan Falls.

After that trip, we we're so lazy to check for another budget hotel so we just checked-in there again. The Standard room is not available so we checked in "Deluxe" instead. It's on the 2nd floor and upon arriving in that room. It's too noisy and just doesn't feel right. We contacted the reception and asked for another room in another floor. We just paid the difference for "Deluxe Twin" in the 3rd floor and just combined the two beds together.

The 1st time in the hotel is fabulous but the 2nd time seems annoying. During our second time, we experienced the black out. It's so hot. I guess the room in the 4th floor which we stayed is their best room.

Anyway, it's very cheap and is very accessible. Room boys are nice, the receptionist aren't.

We checked in

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank olabonita04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Rats, rats everywhere!
Very bad experience we had. when it's brown-out (no electricity) in the hotel, yes they have a generator, but the one that they on is the fan only. aircon and lights are not on. have to wait for the electricity to come back. we tried to back-out and look for other better hotels. we were refunded half of the room rate. we choose La Guardia hotel to relax with a cheaper price. and their website shows nice room photos. you should not believe in everything nice you see on the internet. photos can be deceiving.
not a good location, noisy, and dirty place. i saw two rats running from the bathroom to the bed under it. how could i sleep well in the night thinking about the rats might step or pass by on top of me? how could i keep some food in the room with these rats?

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mich070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

When my bf and I looked for this hotel, we were a bit anxious because the area was truly SEEDY. Although the website of La Guardia admits this up front, we didn't expect it to be THAT seedy. It felt like we were in the middle of a wet market. However, for the price of P700 per night, who were we to complain? And take note, P700 per night is already the cost for their most expensive room!

Upon entering the lobby, we were pleasantly surprised to find everything clean and slightly sophisticated. The room was also clean although the aircon wasn't that strong. Plus the bathroom wasn't cleaned thoroughly because the floor was still wet. All those things would've been all right had it not been for the STREET NOISE. We absolutely could NOT SLEEP that night!! The noise from the street was terrible! If ever you book in this hotel, try to request for a room inside and not the one facing the main road.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cyndeeicasas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 km away
GV Tower Hotel
GV Tower Hotel
#61 of 91 in Cebu City
57 reviews
0.7 km away
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia
0.3 km away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#34 of 91 in Cebu City
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel de Mercedes
Hotel de Mercedes
#59 of 91 in Cebu City
48 reviews
1.0 km away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#74 of 91 in Cebu City
94 reviews
0.8 km away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#25 of 91 in Cebu City
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Guardia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Guardia Hotel

Address: Osmena Boulevard | Kalubihan, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Guardia Hotel is a -very- budget hotel located in downtown Cebu City. Our rooms are airconditioned, have tv sets, en-suite bathrooms with hot and cold running water. Elevator, 24-hour front desk and security are available. Please research about downtown Cebu City before considering our hotel. Thank you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Guardia Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing