We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a stepping stone to the island of Cebu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Plaza Hotel
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a stepping stone to the island of Cebu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

After my flight from Hong Kong to Cebu City this hotel is always my first stop in the Philippines. The location of this Hotel is perfect for your first 1 or 2 nights in Cebu City. All shopping Malls and attractions are nearby and for it's price the quality is reasonable for Philippino standards. Good bed and hot shower.. but who needs hot showers in the Philippines anyway? Breakfast is a buffet where you can drink and eat as much as you like. Restaurant on top give you a good view over cebu city. It is not the Hilton but for me it has all i want for the 1 or 2 nights i stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jan2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    28
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
9
24
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

This hotel was recommended by a reputable travel agent in Singapore as 4-star rating. It takes about 45 minutes to get there (mostly due to bad traffic on most days) from the airport. The hotel is pretty run-down from the outside, but it gets worse when you get into the room.

FIrstly, driveway is very small, only can fit 1 mini van and there won't be much space to walk around it. Upon stepping into the hotel lobby, it's quite gloomy looking and has a stale smell (like a combination of old wood furniture mixed with stale aroma from the cafe).

There is no tour desk at this hotel and the front desk do not have any brochures or information for tourists. We were given some "quotes" from the staff when we asked about some day tours that we could do.

In the room, the furniture looked really old, carpet was badly stained, bedsheets torn, curtains stained and torn, bathroom tiles cracked and worst of all, the shower head was all rusty and had some weird thing sticking out of the holes !! Towels did not look clean, but rather old and yellowish. The only basic toiletry provided is a bar of soap for washing hands and toilet paper.

The supposedly popular chef's recommendation in the menu was the clubhouse sandwich, that tasted really bad. The "ham" in the sandwich was very dark red with white patches on it. The freshest looking thing on the plate was the fries and chili sauce.

I was charged PHP250 to send an overseas fax and i was not given any receipt for that. They apparently don't issue receipts on such things.

The concierge (actually just a guy standing by the door, no booth at all) seem to only open doors and help when he feels like it.

On a slightly brighter note, the location is not that bad, but expect to travel far to see a beach. It's 2 minutes walk to a very busy street with lots of fastfood outlets and a shopping center for getting basic things.

If you intend to go Cebu for a worry free holiday resort style, don't choose this hotel. It's nowhere near the beach or sea and the amounts you pay to get to the beaches is not worth it at the end.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank edna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

eire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

i dont understand the bad reviews of this hotel. I have stayed there many times over the years. Remember it is the Phils , not London or USA, Breakfast is the best experience ive ever had in any hotel in Phils . It is a buffet and u can get ur omelette cooked in front of you,,,plus all kinds of breads and pastries,,,native foods and fruits . What other way to start off ur day,,I never had a problem with staff, all staff were good . And it helps to leave a tip in the room for the cleaners, peso 30 or 50 makes a big difference to these workers . Plus it will make them remember you . There is a safety deposit downstairs for the wallet and cash and valuables, I suppose only thing is the internet connection is abit over the top,.peso 100 per hour on a card. Location is tip top, And those security guys take a lot of care of their guests, supplying all kinds of information for the traveller .
Come on ,,its great hotel, i remember being charger 15 pesos in a competing hotel in cebu for eating an extra banana at breakfast .!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happymanEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

OK so we met here and then we married and all that romantic stuff..... so we are biased, ok? This trip we stayed in Mid-Town hotel (major mistake, truly awful), LS Pension House #3 and then back to our dear Holiday Plaza. It needs renovating. The restaurant in the evening is awful. Breakfast is just fabulous - the choice is great and the service is fantastic. Eat upstairs on the rooftop - Sinugba Bay - for grills and soup and other nice stuff. Not cheap, but worthwhile at least once on your trip. Reception is professional, room service/housekeeping is brilliant, but the staff need to work hard for your tip as they are not well paid. We had been surprised by the poor reviews here and elsewhere and felt that this trip (18 months since we were last here) the hotel has tried hard to respond to criticism - but do not expect any major investment and up-grade!!!!
So, we felt good getting back. Hotel is nearly 3 times the price of the pension house (2000 pesos v 750 pesos), but we really enjoyed the last week of our holiday staying here - as did our Cebu friends who kept coming to see us in the hotel!

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ScalliwagToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.2 km away
Rajah Park Hotel
Rajah Park Hotel
#55 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 km away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#52 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.5 km away
Premiere Citi Suites
Premiere Citi Suites
#47 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
No photo provided
Century Plaza Hotel
#59 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 km away
Summit Circle Cebu
Summit Circle Cebu
#22 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 km away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#6 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Plaza Hotel

Property: Holiday Plaza Hotel
Address: F. Ramos Street, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOLIDAY PLAZA HOTEL is located within the true heart of Cebu (Fuente Osmena Park). A step away from restaurants, hospitals, shopping and entertainment centers; Holiday Plaza Hotel offers you convenience at your doorstep. We pride ourselves for delivering the best value in terms of lodging and experience. Our well-seasoned employees have been remarked as friendly and accommodating by first time guests. This holiday experience is one of the things that sets us apart from other hotels in Cebu; and is also the reason why our dear guests give us the honor of accommodating them time and time again. We’re very excited to see you soon at Holiday Plaza Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Plaza Cebu City
Holiday Plaza Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing