We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
59
37
18
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
37
18
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elevated pool scuba diving deluxe room mactan island the food is great pools resort jeepney jacuzzi philippines
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 150 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I went to cebu to celebrate our honeymoon first impression was good big and spacious but then we notice that bed and amenities were dirty . Then they made us pay for half day when it supposed to be part of our package. I won't come back here for more cheaper that can be neither recomend to anyone .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Juancris2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmbeachResortCebu, Management at Palmbeach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

We are saddened to know about your experience in our resort. Please note that you did not make a direct booking with us but booked with a travel agency. Instead of complaining with us about being charged for late checkout, you should have complained directly with your travel agency to whom you made direct arrangements with. We are not aware of your arrangements with said travel agency, however, our standard hotel policy time for check out has always been 12:00nn. When you complained and informed us that there was an agreement with your travel agency to make the late checkout part of your package, we immediately called the travel agency but the latter denied and did NOT confirm the late checkout with us. This explains the charge for the late check out. Kindly also note that our front desk was trying to call you before 12:00nn to remind you about the check out time. You were also informed upon check in that check out time is at 12:00nn and you did not complain at that time. Regarding the "dirty" bed and amenities you mentioned, you placed the DO NOT DISTURB sign on your door during your stay. Nevertheless, our Housekeeping staff could always clean the room upon your request, you could have just asked. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2018

location is ok. pools are dirty. so is the beach. staff mostly hangs out with eachother. only place in the world where they give coffee in the room but without spoons. we had a not working aircon and it took them three hours to give is a new room. they were also very hesitant about that. the manager is a girl who is good in a bar but not for managing this place. i would never recomend this place to somebody. also the tv is not working good.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ingmar b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaNonato, - at Palmbeach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Dear Mr. Ingmar,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for having taken your valuable time to share your experience. Please be informed that you booked and paid for a room that is good for 2 persons and 1 child. When you arrived, you were 3 adults and 2 children. Our front desk staff respectfully informed you about the extra person which has a minimal fee, but you refused to pay the said amount despite our hotel policy. To prevent you from feeling unhappy with your stay, we decided to make the stay of the extra persons complimentary. An hour after your check-in, your wife called the front desk and asked for an additional 2 pillows and 2 blankets, which was supposed to be included in the excess person's rate which you refused to pay.

After a while, when you called and requested to have the aircon in your room fixed, our staff went swiftly to your room. When we asked our staff about your complaint, he told us that there was no problem with the aircon and the temperature just needed to be adjusted. The second time you called, you informed again that the aircon was not yet fixed, our staff then again went to your room and informed you to wait since he just adjusted it earlier, thus, the temperature was still adjusting. After 20 minutes, your wife went down and informed our front desk staff that the aircon is not really working. Our staff informed our Officer in Charge with regards to your concern and when she immediately went to your room, she found out that the aircon was really working. Despite this again, we decided to let you transfer to another room for your satisfaction. We turned on the aircon first and let you check the room before we let you transfer. When your wife saw the room she again complained because she was looking for a more spacious room. Again, we emphasize that you only booked a room for 2 pax but you were a group of 5 pax.

It took time for you to transfer to another room not because of our staff but because you insisted that, that was not the room that you booked. This is despite the fact that the aircon was working and you only paid for a room good for 2 persons.

Please be informed that we always emphasize to our staff our goal of providing high-quality service to all our guests. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we apologize for whatever inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2018

This resort is on the Mactan Island about a forty minute taxi ride (P200-250) from the airport. It is clean but basic. The rooms are large, but have an abundance of empty cupboards around what could be described as a kitchen. However, there are no utensils other than a bar fridge and a hot water jug. The bathroom is spacious and the shower is adequate, but hot water can run out at times. I found it quiet, the bed comfortable although the air conditioner was a tad noisy. Access to the internet is good however you need different passwords depending where you are in the complex.

The attached cafe provided a good breakfast (European and Asian) and the staff throughout the Resort were happy, friendly and helpful. I had a few meals at the resort, outside of breakfast, and they were filling and tasty. There is a reasonable library (free) for those who wish to read. If you are interested in Scuba diving, the attached training school is popular, but I just looked. There are a number of swimming pools and a spa. Unfortunately I was not able to get any poolside service so it requires a trip up three flights of stairs to get a cold drink or a coffee.

It can be a challenge to get a taxi to head to other parts of the island or across the bridge to Cebu CBD. The Resort provides a free drop off service to the nearest taxi rank, about a five to ten minute drive away. Always allow forty-five to sixty minutes to get to the main malls on the island and depending on the time of day ninety minutes to get in to Cebu itself.

While I would judge this as three star accommodation, I found it comfortable, quiet and relaxing. Would i stay there again, if I had business in the area, yes.

Stayed: January 2018
4  Thank David-Sweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaNonato, - at Palmbeach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Dear David,

Thank you for your feedback. Rest assured that we will look into your concerns such as the hot water in the bath room. Kindly note that guests may request for utensils in our restaurant should they need it in their rooms. For transportation, aside from taxis and our shuttle service, guests may also try to use Uber or Grabcar or even the jeepney. You may also order from any of our staff if you would like to have a drink or eat something by the pool side. Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to see you again when you visit Cebu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018

Really bad air quality in room. air condition machine really loud. I did get sick after one night in this room with my allergies. Warm water was not working before maintanance did come to fix it. Out side of the hotel there is nothing. But really easy to use Jeepneys to go for dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JoniK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaNonato, - at Palmbeach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Dear Joni,

We are sorry to hear about your experience. Please note that our airconditioners are the window-type, however, some of our rooms have split type aircons. We are slowly upgrading our rooms. For restaurants and places to go to near the resort, you just have to take a short trip (5 to 10 mins.) by taxi, Uber, Grabcar or jeepney if you wish. You can also walk if you are not in a hurry. Please note that a building in front the resort is being constructed and soon, there will be commercial establishments right in front of the resort. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when you visit Cebu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

Booking for two days before my flight back to work in the UAE I made the grave error of chancing my luck here. Built possibly in the 1960s and just as likely inspired by the architectural genius that designed East Berlin’s Stasi Headquarters Palm Beach Resort and Spa lends little to the notion of either a resort or a spa. Long gloomy corridors, grubby floor tiles, hey hang on, it’s not the Philippine equivalent of a Smileys People Spy HQ, it’s more like my dear old comprehensive school!

Anyway, to the room. A lonely, soiled bathtowel greeted us on arrival, sitting there like the unwelcome elephant in the room at a couples counselling last gasp attempt at retrieving reconciliation from inevitable breakdown. “It’s not a resort or a spa” I breathed to the said item as it sat there amid the detritus of failed hospitality aspirations...a floor that hasn’t seen domestos or cillit bang in months, peeling plaster and grouting, chipped tiling and peeling paint.

Turning away in muted horror to the clanking rickety aircon I sat wearily on the bed. No immediate give. Sleeping there would be good for my lumbago if I had the condition. But I don’t. Hard, unyielding, like a Vinnie Jones of beds, it didn’t give an inch all night; it doggedly preserved its territorial integrity and denied this sleep deprived traveller from any attempt at rest.

The ‘restaurant’, a collection of tables nestling at the worlds end of ‘restaurants’, inhabited by shuffling, ambivalent staff who characterise the term “amotivational” with Oscar winning aplomb. The food was somewhere between just acceptable and borderline offensive. Shrimps obviously kept in the freezer for months and casually tossed into the Sinigang as an over priced afterthought. It lay there all night like some lead bolus clanging from one side of my stomach to the other as I tossed and turned on the bed of no surrender.

This does not deserve a 3 star rating. It’s over priced and frankly dirty. We sat as belches of kitchen smog billowed into the dining area....extractor fans anyone? P100 for a can of San Mig? Similar priced poorly prepared food and beverages did this hotel no favours.

On a positive note, it did look like it had a well equipped diving operation...but as I was on the 24 hour no fly rule I couldn’t vouch. The reception staff were kind and helpful, but I couldn’t face complaining given the root and branch reform this place needs. So we left early vowing never to return.....

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Cernunos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaNonato, - at Palmbeach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Dear Cernunos,

We apologize for whatever inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. Please note that we are slowly upgrading our facilities including our rooms. Further, we have in place in our restaurant's kitchen an exhaust fan which we plan to add to prevent the smoke from coming in. Rest assured that we will look into the other concerns you mentioned. Thank you for staying with us and acknowledging our friendly reception staff. We hope to see you again when you visit Cebu in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews