We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good overall but a few misses”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aurora Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aurora Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Aurora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good overall but a few misses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Location is perfection! Wish I could say the same for the inn. The good: clean, beautifully appointed, great food, stunning views. The bad: uncomfortable bed and pillows, AM staff absentminded and unfocused, and shower was a bit small with outdated fixtures that didn't match the rest of the inn. Too many misses for the price in my opinion - a high price to pay for 2 less than awesome nights of sleep. Would visit Aurora again but would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopAnd2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    39
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
33
182
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I seldom write reviews,but my husband and I have started traveling to small inns a few time a year to just "get-away." I found this small Inn while on a wine tour in another town. I made reservations months in advance. The reservation system was pretty poor at first as they said they double booked my room due to a computer error,, but it worked out in the end after they agreed to make some much needed changes to rectify the situation.

We had the BEST much needed relaxing weekend ever!! We stayed at the EB Morgan house and was so pleasantly surprised by the exquisite well appointed renovations of this gorgeous home! It was warm and inviting and the Inn Keeper was very knowlegable of the history of the home and community. I can't say enough about the high quality amenities and service. The dinner in the dining room at the Aurora Inn was some of the best meals we've had. All in all this was worth every bit of our hard earned money and would do it again!!!

Room Tip: any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

The Aurora Inn is everything BUT disappointing. From the friendly employees, to the breathtaking views... this Inn has little competition. The property overlooks a beautiful lake with complimentary kayaks, kayaking at sunset.... life doesn't get more beautiful than that. The room was clean and stunning. Attention to detail is certainly important to the employees at the Inn. The dining on the deck was perfect as well. I have endless good things to say about my experience at Aurora, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I never write reviews, but I wanted to write on about the Aurora Inn. This was such a great weekend experience! Everything was beautiful, clean, the staff was soooo friendly and the setting was great (even on a cold, dreary weekend). If you can - set up a wine tasting with Ben & Meryl. It was a great way to experience the fingerlake wines and learn a little about the area. Definately go and check out Aurora - its a bit out there - but that makes it all the better:)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just returned home from a great weekend in Aurora, NY. I knew nothing about Aurora before I visited, but am so glad to have gotten to know a little about this gem of a town. The anchor of this town might be Wells College, but our anchorage was at the Aurora Inn, owned by Wells College. With a heritage that originates with Henry Wells (of Wells Fargo, et al) and picks up again in 2001 with a benefactor who re did this charming old hotel into a destination that we'll be looking forward to returning to.

Room Tip: Ask for the lakeview rooms as the front rooms are lit by street lights. The view is great over the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewistonclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed at the Aurora Inn the beginning of January and have nothing but great things to say about it. There really is so much to compliment them on. From the way my guest and I were greeted upon our arrival (and walked to our room), to the decor and arrangement of the room, everything was perfect.

You could say that I am a discerning customer; I suppose I have an idea in my head about how things should be, especially when it comes to B&Bs and Inns. I have to say Aurora Inn surpassed all of my expectations. I'm sure it had a lot to do with the room I stayed in (#4). It was absolutely amazing - the quaint balcony and view of the lake (even though freezing) was beautiful. I really liked the fact that the entrance to the outdoor patio had a hallway between the room and outside, acting as a buffer from the frigid air. The options of lighting were very well thought out, and really help set the mood of a cozy winter getaway. The complimentary coffee and muffins before breakfast was such a pleasant surprise. And even way into the night, when I made a call downstairs to see if there was any way to get a snack, the young lady informed me that although the kitchen was closed, she was more than happy to go into the Village Market and get me something. I was honestly blown away at the hospitality and accommodations.

Both the servers in the restaurant were unbelievable. They did everything to make my dinner a great one. From the outstanding service to extra attention, they really outdid themselves. Plus, the food was exceptional. By far the best scallops I've ever had - cooked to perfection. My guest and I liked it so much we decided to stay an extra day. When we finally did leave, we were sad. Although a long trip from NYC, it was well worth it!

I will, however, add a disclaimer and say that my great experience might have had something to do with the fact that it was winter, right after New Years, and didn't seem to be at high capacity. I'm not sure if I would have received the attention I did if it had been peak season, but I like to think I would have.

Room Tip: I think Room 4 (lakeview with a fireplace and a queen size bed) is the best. You get tons of sunligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I prefer modern, sleek hotels when I travel, but I must say the accomodations at the Aurora are very modern, clean and sleek, while still giving an "inn" feel. The fireplace was wonderful. We stayed in room #4 which is one of the best in the inn. The only reason that there are not 5 stars is that they have no in room refridgerator or microwave, ice machine, coffee...so if you are hungry after the restaurants close, 9p, in the country, you will be hungry till the morning. Staff was GREAT, even made us tea at night. Our deal (livingsocial) came with a full breakfast, which was delicious. It also came with a dining credit. It was Thanksgiving eve so we chose the Fargo Cafe across the street where the servers were confused about the dining credit and way overcooked our pub burgers. I'd not go back to that cafe. There is a winery/local store called Bet The Farm next door and the owner is nice. It is about 1.5 hrs from everywhere good, as you have to drive around all the lakes to get to each shore, or Rochester or Syracuse. About half hour from Ithaca. One of the best Thanksgivings and vacations Ive ever had.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurora
19.1 km away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
28.4 km away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
25.8 km away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
24.9 km away
Geneva on the Lake
Geneva on the Lake
#7 of 11 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
7.3 km away
Cayuga Morning Star Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Inn

Property: Aurora Inn
Address: 391 Main St, Aurora, NY 13026-9608
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Aurora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aurora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aurora Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of Cayuga Lake amidst a tiny, heritage village in the heart of the Finger Lakes, the Aurora Inn and its lakeside dining room has a pedigree dating back to 1833. The original country inn has been impeccably restored to appeal to today's most discerning guests. The Aurora Inn has all the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with services and amenities that only a luxury hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Aurora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Aurora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing