We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$159
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Italia(Cluj-Napoca)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deja Vu(Cluj-Napoca)
US$56
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Transilvania(Cluj-Napoca)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Confort(Cluj-Napoca)
US$56
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cluj Apartments(Cluj-Napoca)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
19
10
6
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
10
6
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf loversspaluxurystarscity
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 43 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2016

Our stay at the SunGarden resort was disappointing. We'd had higher expectations given the high star rating of the property and the overall reputation we'd heard in Cluj. Our initial room was not cleaned properly with hairs and dead insects in multiple parts of the room as well as a musty smell. This hotel is in need of renovations and feels quite dated. We requested a room change and the staff was accommodating however our second room was only marginally better. We were able to relax and enjoy both the spa and pool however I would not recommend lodging at this resort. Food at the restaurant was just okay.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JakeV18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2016

The good:
+++ Excelent SPA area (get the full access to enter the Saunas and nice SPA area)
+++ Excelent inner pool area with bar
++ Even the standard rooms look nice and hve clean restrooms
++ nice and quiet location overall, with lots of gardens to walk near, golf, lake etc
++ service was quite good
++ Breakfast was rich and tasty

The bad:
Food in the restaurant.
We had Ribs, it was really bad full of fat and not tender, it came with french fries which where not fresly cut they where frozen baged potatoes (at the restaurant price i would expect at least use fres potatoes or another cooking method maybe baked ....)
I also had Veal Mediteranian soup...it was decent good tasting but could be better.
Finally i ordered Wild Mushrooms Risotto which was decent... but could be better also

Final thought:
Nice hotel, nice staff, awsome Spa area but please hire a good chef and make the menu proper or train the current kitchen staff...you can't serve food like that for that price in a 5 star hotel ;

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank legeneralcluj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2016

A little quiet place in heaven.
We were really impressed with the magical scenery, very good services, friendly stuff, cozy-elegant room.
The best experience was just walking around the surroundings, like in a little fairy tale forest and then relaxing in the incredible wellness & spa area.
Food was also good and we would recommend it at whom ever wants something different. Something romantic, unique and relaxing.

Room Tip: Try the PREMIUM rooms - cozy and elegant!
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Raul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2016

I took my partner away for his birthday weekend to somewhere outside the city and it is in a perfect location. It was pretty quiet on a winter's weekend but this added to the mystique. We couldn't fault the hotel staff - all very friendly, accommodating and even tried to find us a TV with a USB slot as our room didn't have one. The restaurant staff were also very friendly and the food was fine.
The spa was the main attraction and I contacted the staff beforehand to ask if I should make a reservation to sit by the pool. As we were guests, they said it was unnecessary. However we arrived and had no beds for a while which was slightly annoying. The pool is fantastic - relaxing and warm. We didn't pay the extra for the luxury spa but wish we had now. We stayed from 14:00 until 17:00 when we went for our massages. Apart from one very friendly staff member at spa reception, we were treated rudely and were ordered to our rooms to change rather than be given a locker. We were also talked about by the staff behind the counter (they thought I didn't understand Romanian) because we were two males together having a couples massage. This sneering was not appreciated. The massages, however, were wonderful. We returned to the pool around 20:30 at night and had the pool to ourselves.
Our room was clean but the bathroom did smell a bit toxic. Also, they offer high speed wifi in all rooms. We definitely didn't have this. These are the only complaints I have about the room. The breakfast was ample and had a great selection of the normal continental foods one expects.
All in all, the stay was good value and I would definitely return. My only suggestion is to advise the spa staff get some customer service training and take a short course in good manners.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank iamjohnnymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2016

This review covers the indoor part of the day spa, which makes SunGarden a somewhat unique spot in Cluj (really the only day spa in town). The spa has the usual accoutrements (indoor pool, various saunas, including infrared) and services (massage, a bar). What makes the place unique is the "inner spa" (which requires paying an additional fee), which is essentially a man-made cave with heated lounge chairs and even more hot/cold tubs, a neat indoor fire pit, etc. This is a very nice concept. It's also quieter than the "front spa" since access is only allowed to those 16 years of age or older (no kids).

Overall we (group of friends) really enjoyed the weekend afternoon we spent there. The place is well done and very clean.

A few minuses that could be easily addressed but reflect a lack of attention to detail that is unacceptable given the the luxury ambitions of the resort (hence the four stars rather than five):
- service at the bar was exceedingly slow; finding a couple of plastic wine glasses was a challenge for the bar tender every time we asked (about three times total)
- it would be great if the mens locker room had more than three chairs (there are about 60 lockers so conceivably more than three people may be changing out of winter clothes and into swimwear at the same time)
- the mens locker room is separated from a general access stairway by a glass wall; the glass is only partially matte, and the top of the wall is completely see through, allowing those going up and down the stairs to look into the loocker room and see *everything* that is going on. This is a very uncomfortable for those who are changing in the locker room. This is an easy fix (matte out the glass all the way up to the ceiling) so please please fix it.

Stayed: January 2016
3  Thank ctrl_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews