We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far but close”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow
Ranked #24 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Far but close”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Very good hotel for a buisness stay in Moscow.
Especially if all other options are taken (both Marriott chain and the others).
Usually, this one is getting occupied last 8-)
Renaissance serves seminar participants and you shouldn't expect a superbly romantic atmosphere there.
Yet, the rooms (small) are all cozy and staff is very helpful.
Bed was very comfy and wiiiiide. Haven't tested the A/C (winter), but it was warm in the room.
Wi-Fi for free in the lobby, but in the room need to pay ($$$ - but does not work as it should...).
Renaissance on Olymiysky Prospekt is farhter from the city center, BUT hotel offers compolimentary shuttle bus to the Pushkin Square and Red Square. I found it very habd since both options give you quick access to the metro system, which is so much appreciated in jammed Moscow.
Bottom line - maybe not the very first choice, but quite good business-oriented hotel int he city with relatively good transportation options.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miramaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,528
    727
    120
    19
    33
See reviews for
461
639
192
885
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Nice hotel. Good beds as usual in Marriotts. Outside town centre. Expensive wi-fi in rooms. Free wi-fi in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy-Dandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

thanks to Irina who looked after my comfortable stay and delicious food and best thing they all speak english ... great and it is little far from the red square but preety good and best think you can not open the windows for fresh air..

food is great and caviar at the best.

Room Tip: want to stay away from rush then stay at renaissance and ask for the a nice big room and if upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjainuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I'm writing the review from my up to now favorite hotel where I used to enjoy fresh air from an opened window in my room.
Recently the window handles in all the rooms were taken off, and the windows cannot be opened at all! The official explanation is safety, yet I have the impression that the management does not plan to invest in repairing the wooden window frames that became hard to close with time, so the easiest and cheapest way was to seal the windows. I would never expect such a customer service in a hotel where a night stay costs $ 400-500, breakfast not included.
The rooms are not air conditioned, and the fan does not work all the time.

Helpful hints to make your stay more comfortable:
- ask for a portable fan. They will bring it to your room at no extra cost;
- let hot shower run for a couple of minutes, and the air in your room will be less dry;
- ask for a room opposite the sunny side, especially when it becomes hot in the summertime, so that you avoid "baking" in your room - even fully drawn curtains will not help much.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamka_Den
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

If you don't want the hassle of getting down to the Red Square area this is a good choice for business.

Solid fitness center and pool. Staff in general is ok, though not overly helpful. Food pretty good. Didn't get a chance to see whats around the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2011

mixed review - expect alot from a Renaissance...

Pro's
Great Gym, Pool. sauna etc
good bed
great concierge room on 12th floor
meeting room adequate, food good, not great

Con's
Sink drain backed up while shaving.
small room seriously. fit a chair between bed and wall and that's it. if you want room space go to club level at Crowne Plaza in Moscow.

OK stay - hotel somwhat dated, Could use some upgrades with carpet, etc.

internet OK - but somwhat slow.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed here 4 days on business. Hotel is modern and very comfortable. Food is excellent.

A mix up by the hotel meant that there was no car to meet me at the airport (Schermetavo), but hotel apologized and sent a bottle of wind to my room.

The cost of a car from airport to hotel is 3,300 Ru, but you can hire a taxi at the airport for 2,500 Ru or less - I just agreed to the first figure said because I'd wasted a lot of time filling in forms for my luggage, which KLM had left in Amsterdam. The moral here is not to arrive at -1C in Moscow in a T shirt.

A cheaper way to get to the airport once you are comfortable in Moscow metro, is to walk 10 minutes from the hotel to the nearby Metro station, take a 7 min ride to Bellaruski Metro station, exist the Metro and walk 2-3 minutes down street to the Train station and get on the Aeroport express. this runs every 30 min except between 1am and 5am. Cost this way is 28Ru for Metro and 320Ru for Train - about 10% of costs of a taxi.

Also and this is a serious warning, Traffic in Moscow is only second to Istanbul. Traffic jams at 10pm are common. Hotel advised allowing 2hrs for the journey by car which is 30km - by train it's about 45 minutes all in. If you are in a more centrally located Moscow hotel you need to use the train and metro.

Kremlin and Red Square easy to get to and plenty to see. Ticket shop is about 0.75km from the Armory, and ticket for Armory doesn't allow access to other areas of Kremlin, So if you arrive early at the Armory you won't have time to go back to get another ticket. However I met an Italian tourist in the same predicament and we spent the rest of the day going around Moscow - each could take photos of the other so that we had plenty of photos that we appeared in ourselves.

Had good meal at Il Forno near the Bolshoi - in fact it was simple seared tuna with tomato and spinach, but the best I ever had anywhere in world. Interesting fact is that if you say 'non-smoking' table they put you on your own in the basement, but if you change your mind and say 'smoking' you get a good table in the centre of the restaurant.

Also gatecrashed some Russian TV music show at My Sweet Home bar, near the Lubyanka. Very good music and very stylish models attending and being interviewed by the TV crew. Found this place by accident when I decided to walk back to the hotel from the Kremlin.

Incidentally there are underpasses to facilitate road crossings - use them! - cars travel fast, are very aggressive, and do not expect pedestrians to cross the road.

KLM losing my baggage was the only downside as this meant that I lost most of the first day in Moscow, as I literally had no clothes to go out in. Carrying a spare set of clothes on the lane is the way to go. Incidentally it's nearly impossible to contact KLM by phone about your lost luggage - one no I got for Moscow KLM had all options leading to a Fax machine. The strategy is to wear the passenger down so that they give up on complaining - all passengers form Ireland and Manchester had no luggage when they arrived in Moscow, so the queues to fill up lost luggage forms in triplicate were large!

PS Very good idea to learn the Cyrillic script so you can read Metro signs more easily. Most foreign words are written as they sound but in cyrillic script, so Pectopah actually sounds like Restaurant - which it is!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinDereDoneDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 316 in Moscow
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Design Hotel (D'Otel)
#22 of 316 in Moscow
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow

Property: AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow
Address: Olympiyskiy Ave., 18/1, Moscow 129110, Russia (Formerly Renaissance Moscow Olympic Hotel)
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Philistine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Moscow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#10 Business Hotel in Moscow
#16 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow 4.5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow is located next door to the Olympic Complex, 15 minutes from the historic centre, main inter-city railway stations and Aeroexpress terminals, 10 minutes' walk to local theatres. The hotel offers its guests a complimentary shuttle service to the Moscow Metro, the city centre, business centres and exhibition halls. We offer individual service to satisfy your business and leisure expectations: 492 guest rooms, 12 conference rooms of different capacity from 18 up to 650 people, Priority check-in, VIP Lounge, Executive Rooms, Studios and Suites, restaurants and bars, 24 hour in-room dining, health club, swimming pool and saunas, business centre facilities, car parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. According to main travel portals our guests consistently rank us among the top hotels in Moscow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Moscow
Moscow Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing