We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, luxurious and central”
Review of Hotel Savoy Moscow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Moscow
Ranked #25 of 320 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Warm, luxurious and central”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My husband usually travels to Moscow for business without me. I tagged along this time which gave him the excuse to book a hotel in a different, more central part of the city. He also uses me as an excuse to stay in nicer hotels. Nicer doesn't even begin to describe the Savoy and the location cannot be rivaled. It is completely central to the metro, Bolshoy and Maly Theaters, Red Square, GUM Department Store, and the Kremlin museums.

We were greeted by warm, welcoming and bilingual staff from door to counter. The hotel remained spotless from floor to ceiling, despite the first fall of snow having already turned to gray road grime tracked in through the door, whereby it immediately disappeared.

Smallish elevators meant that your bags ride up separately from you with a bellman, only adding to the charm. The room was shockingly large for a 67 room hotel nestled in the center of the city. It was warm in all senses of the word. Understated shades of white and gold shone from the crown moldings to the drapes to the area rugs to the headboard to the grain of the parquet floors. With tall ceilings and delicate fixtures, the room was literally luminous.

The bathroom was enormous! Fresh hot towels on the warmer, a tub deep and large enough for even my husband (though I did have some trouble fixing the hand held to the wall/shower fixture at first). There were also many choices for a range of bright to unobtrusive lighting. We had read in other reviews that only one bath towel had been provided no matter what the patron did to request more. Assuming that would be the worst of it, we didn't even bother asking. However, we discovered after turn-down services occurred, the maid had left an entire second set of towels for us at no request.

Our booking included a complimentary breakfast buffet. The buffet was extensive with everything from traditional American (eggs, pancakes, hash browns) to Russian classics (blini, vegetables, meats), as well as a variety of fresh fruits and bakery items. Champagne was on hand if you were in the mood for that kind of breakfast, and coffee was poured by servers standing to the side at the ready to refill your mug. The dining room was grand, ornate ceilings, a fountain full of gold fish, and multiple openly connected rooms with more than enough seating to allow for plenty of space between patrons. Complimentary bottles of water are abound both at breakfast and in your room.

There is a fine looking lobby-bar which we didn't make use of, as well as an indoor swimming pool we never bothered to find. From the photos on their website, the pool looks modern and enticing. The over all decor of the hotel is aureate and lush. If it were anywhere else it would be bordering on gaudy with the semi-nude sculptures, occasional animal print and an abundance of gold fixtures and furniture accents in the lobby sitting room. Instead it is the pinnacle to Savoy's exuberant style.

If I were to dig down deep to criticize anything about this hotel, it would be that the house music was actually musak rather than traditional classical music. And really that is the absolute worst I could say.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    226
    65
    24
    12
See reviews for
118
289
64
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

5-10 minute walk to Kremlin/Red Square, but very quiet as well. High end shopping nearby. Service was good, room was lovely, bathroom gorgeous, breakfast was fairly comprehensive, free wi-fi. This hotel will assist with the documentation required to obtain a tourist visa.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RXuanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdynia, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Hotel located in the centre of Moscow around 10minutes walk to Kremlin. Professional and nice service. Very good e-mail contact with the reception before arrival (in English). Extremely elegant rooms with big bed, TV, bar and bathroom. Russian candy left for you every day on the table:)Bathroom provided with soap, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, nail file, shave kit and vanity set. Delicious breakfast with fresh fruits, vegetables and cookies. Definitely the best hotel I've stayed in and can honestly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apaczek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

An elegant and outwardly discreet hotel in an outstanding central location. Rooms are large and bathrooms spacious to the point of luxury. Staff are friendly in an old fashioned way, i.e. not overly but sufficiently. 18m swimming pool is a gem. Breakfast service is a curious throwback to Soviet times, which can be irritating or add to the atmosphere depending on one's predisposition that morning. Lobby bar is a surprisingly good place for people watching. I have grown very fond of this unusual hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turanzamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

very quiet for such a well located first class hotel in Moscow, a good swimming pool that rarely has anyone in it, not at all modern, greatly relieved they now have free wifi - used to be a disaster trying to get scratch cards to work.

Room Tip: all fine, its on a quiet street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galliardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

out of visiting Moscow, its better to speak Russian! We found the Savoy quite good but we weren't in it very long. There's far too much to see in Moscow to spend time in a hotel. If approached by police and told your papers are not in order, immediately take out your mobile phone and ring the British Embassy (or make them think you are doing so). They can pick out blundering tourists a mile away! Learn a bit of Russian though, even if its only D'nyet!

Room Tip: Luck of the draw, I'm afraid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kusnetsova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The hotel seems old, though the price was not too steep for the location and the class of the hotel. ($250-$300 per night).

The only concern I have was that the rooms seem old, and the hotel itself has probably been rebuilt from an old soviet ministry building.

For the same money I would return to Peter the first hotel, not far away - a very firm 4 star, but higher quality service/rooms.

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daniyar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 320 in Moscow
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Moscow

Property: Hotel Savoy Moscow
Address: Rozhdestvenka Street/ 3/6, Bld. 1, Moscow 109012, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#32 Business Hotel in Moscow
#36 Family Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy hotel is a proper place for travelers who put at a high value service and comfort. It is a historical hotel located in the very heart of Moscow, within a walking distance from the major tourist attractions, the Kremlin, Red Square, the Bolshoi and Maly Theaters. Now it is one of the first designer hotels where the ambience of the old Moscow mansion goes well with all present-day services and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Moscow
Moscow Savoy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing