We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ExploRussia Company - Moscow Day Off-the-Beaten-Track Tours
Ranked #2 of 181 Outdoor Activities in Moscow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Off-the-beaten track perspective is a great way to explore Russia. We offer you to combine visiting the must-visits with getting the local perspective on the country. ExploRussia tailors private trips for individuals, families and small groups. And we just love making Transsiberian trips!
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaExplorussia, Владелец at ExploRussia Company - Moscow Day Off-the-Beaten-Track Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wonderful trip"
in 2 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 2 reviews
"olga"
in 9 reviews
"itinerary"
in 6 reviews
"tailor"
in 2 reviews
"stories"
in 4 reviews
"petersburg"
in 4 reviews
"sites"
in 4 reviews
"trans"
in 2 reviews
"culture"
in 3 reviews
"interests"
in 2 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 118 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaExplorussia, Владелец at ExploRussia Company - Moscow Day Off-the-Beaten-Track Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2018

If you read nothing more from this review know; ExploRussia is an outstanding tour group, that I highly recommend. In every case you will be in very competent, professional hands.

Our trip to Moscow and St Petersburg as part of a wider Europe trip that was planned a couple of months in advance. We approached the tour concept by sending a decent number of emails to most of the tours groups we could identify online. We wanted to travel on very specific dates and hence were unable to tour with the larger group style tours which usually operate on select dates.

Natalia, our tour organiser, was the first to respond and was undoubtedly the reason we initially organised the tour with ExploRussia. She did an excellent job, she was very friendly and very quick to get back to us each time (less than a day). She tailored every aspect of the tour to our preferences sending us itineraries each time for us to review at our own pace. She also endured a number of changes (emails back and forward) and showed a great deal of patience with us. She managed our itinerary in detail and provided very decent options to reduce costs when practical. For note: We opted for a very traditional experience but know that the team at ExploRussia will tailor every detail to suit your timeframe so you can do what you want. Payment was simple and organising visas surprisingly strait forward. This whole experience was painless and took a lot of the stress away from the trip.

As for the tour itself, the various guides we had were all genuinely excellent and the days went smoothly without problems. The guides were very well organised, handled all transport and travel aspects and spoke very decent English. All the tours were private (which is a bit of a luxury for us) enabling it to be a very personalised experience from a local perspective. The guides were happy to talk about themselves and share life experiences. Also happy to make small modifications on the fly to suit. It all felt less like a tour, more like a friend guiding us around an unfamiliar city. Overall we experienced some fascinating sights, stories and culture that we would otherwise have completely missed on our own.

We stayed in Ibis hotels organised by the tour. Both were solid in decent locations but nothing to write home about.

We had a fantastic time in our small taste of Russian culture.

Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaExplorussia, Owner at ExploRussia Company - Moscow Day Off-the-Beaten-Track Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2018

Dear Matt!
We are so fortunate to receive such a detailed and amazing review about our work. Thank you! Sometimes I believe that partly for these moments we do our job: when we see that you really had experienced our country through eyes of locals, saw it as it is and now have your own personal perception on it! And that we have managed to do all that smoothly :)
I am super glad to hear great words about Natalia, she is indeed amazing and a great professional.

Come over again for more time, your visit was so intensive, but so short! We would love to host you again!

Warm greetings from snowy Moscow,
Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2018

My husband and I went to Russia for the first time and booked our tours through Explorussia. I am so happy we did! All up, we probably exchanged about 50 emails, and each of my inquiries was responded to promptly. I had a strict budget which they were able to stick to, and all up it cost less than similar tours, and they were entirely flexible, which meant I really got the itinerary of my dreams. Not only did they recommend and organise for us to see the 'must sees', but they also suggested personalised touches - like a home cooking experience with one of our guides!
Thank you to Natalia for organising, and for Reilya and Margarita. Truly a trip of a lifetime!!

1  Thank laraonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaExplorussia, Владелец at ExploRussia Company - Moscow Day Off-the-Beaten-Track Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2018

Hi Lara!
We are so impressed by your review. Especially we were touched when you have mentioned "I really got the itinerary of my dreams". This is the utmost mark of the work we do, thank you for saying that, it means a lot.
Our people are grateful for your words, Natalia is an amazing organizer and I will pass this review on to Reilya and Margarita, they will be glad to hear.
The only thing I want to say: we will be pleased to host you again for more Russia travels. Maybe some nature sights for next time, like Karelia or Altay Mountains or Kamchatka? Or even the whole Trans-Siberian Railway adventure, which is our absolute favorite.

Thank you and all the best in your future travels,
Olga Sitnik
co-founder in ExploRussia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaExplorussia, Владелец at ExploRussia Company - Moscow Day Off-the-Beaten-Track Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ExploRussia Company - Moscow Day Off-the-Beaten-Track Tours also viewed

 
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to ExploRussia Company - Moscow Day Off-the-Beaten-Track Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing