We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel close to the Red Square”
Review of Comrade Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comrade Hostel
Ranked #12 of 1,485 Speciality Lodging in Moscow
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice hostel close to the Red Square”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hostel it is not great but you will find yout that is pretty hard to find a good hostel in Moscow. Hostels in Russia are not like hostels in Argentina, for example, evthing is quite basic and quite expensive too. So, taking this in consideration, I'll say this one is quite ok. Is very small, but thats usual there. However, rooms are ok, beds are big and very comfortable, there's wifi and 2 computers for free use. The hostel is inside a small flat in a good location, a 10 minutes walk to the Red Square. There's a kitchen and two toilets. Everything is quite clean but the best thing is the people who work on it, I met three of them and they were super helpful, spoke very good english and also helped me geeting the transiberain train tickets. You can also request to be picked up at the station though is quite expensive.... Anyway, I would go back to this hostel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LAMENUDA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    19
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
13
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We was 5 guys together in Moscow for a little vacation, we found Comrade Hostel on the internet and decided to stay there because it was located very well and was cheap.

We didn't expected it to be something special, just a place to sleep!!.. However this Hostel is very cozy and fun to stay at, maybe not for all, but for five guys in the age of 24 it was quite the fun!! The service was in top and they were very helpfull (Thanks Sasha!) - One of the nights the recpetionist even drank with us :)

Because it's such a little hostel it can be very noizy sometimes, especially when we held parties in the kitchen (ended at midnight), and when people came home from the nightlife.

Bottom line is, when i come back to Moscow I sure will concider to stay here again - and i will very much recommend this place to others.

With thoughts - Rasmus Alexander

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rasmus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This hostel is cheap, location is excellent and it is relatively clean. We didn't sleep very well: too many people in a small room. I guess value for money is okay. Also no closets to store your luggage so everybody's bags are on the floor.

Big plus: free WiFi and internet computers for guests

Room Tip: ask for a bed next to the window you will have fresh air which is an asset
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firefairy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Comrade hostel has a great location, just 10 min walk from the Red Square. There is free wi-fi intent which is awesome! And free computers if you don't have your own device.. There is a kitchen and coffee and tea is free. The front desk people are very helpful and are there 24hours a day. Very clean and newish hostel.

The outside of the hostel can be deceiving as it looks very crappy from the outside and the inside stairwell but on entering the hostel it is very nice inside. There are only 2 showers/ toilets so it can be hard to get access to the toilet at peak times. But this is not so bad just something to keep in mind.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shez222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
screeny1
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Nice-nice! Staff is nice and helpful (all of them: Dennis, Katya, Vlad) with whatever is on your mind. I was into the Trans-Siberian express and some hiking in Ural and lake Baikal and they helped with everything.
Location is perfect and the pricing is reasonable (at least on the Moscovite standard :)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screeny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Having booked an additional day at the start of an inclusive trip to Russia, I booked a night at the Comrade Hostel having plucked it reasonably randomly from a hostel booking website. The website reviews were promising: the hostel was to be homely, helpful, clean and cheap. The one thing it wasn't was easy to find - the directions directing me to the hostel were entirely correct but, used to the western European way of looking for hostels (i.e. big building with 'hostel' written on the top), it took me a while to realise that the sign for the hostel was on the third floor. Apparently looking up isn't my strong suit.

The stairwell and common areas weren't particularly promising but that's not uncommon for Moscow: as someone later in my trip told me, the phrase "Flowers in the window boxes, pee in the stairwell" isn't entirely incorrect! The hostel itself was quite small, but perfectly acceptable: two dorm rooms, a small reception area with internet, a kitchen, laundry room and three wonderful bathrooms with showers. If you're intent on getting up with everyone else (as I was), you may still have to queue for a shower, but it's well worth it. I did only stay a night here, but it was good - comfortable beds, friendly hospitality, free tea and hot showers, all for a very reasonable price. If you're stuck in the quandary of trying to find somewhere reasonably priced and reasonably central in Moscow, you could do far worse than stay here!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEILLONEX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

I stayed here during my trip to Moscow. Place is nice and recently decorated. There are two rooms here for eight people each. Rooms are spacious so I did not have problem with my cameras and other equipment. Common room awesome designed and large enough to fit ten. Good thing about this hostel that is has three showers so no lines here in the morning.
Staff is friendly and speak English but not French, helps a lot with the tickets, moscow's attractions and can advice you on nightlife (which is really good and most of the good clubs are within the walking distance so the only problem is morning headache).
The disadvantage is that hostel is not easy to find and it is only small sign near the entrance though they going to put the big one on the main street. But comparing prices for the hotels in this area I prefer to stay at this place.

Helpful?
6 Thank peterpan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#12 of 315 in Moscow
2,941 reviews
GoodMood Hostel
#1 of 1,485 in Moscow
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fasol Hostel
#2 of 1,485 in Moscow
119 reviews
Tverskaya
Sputnik Hostel
Sputnik Hostel
#7 of 1,485 in Moscow
41 reviews
Hotel Maroseyka 2/15
#2 of 554 in Moscow
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comrade Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comrade Hostel

Property: Comrade Hostel
Address: Maroseika St., 11, Moscow 101000, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,485 Speciality Lodging in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comrade Hostel is one of the oldest hostels in Moscow, and the top choice for backpackers for almost 10 years. Recently renovated, Comrade Hostel today provides accommodation in modern spacious private double rooms, along with classic dorms. Air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi Internet access is available in every room. Comrade Hostel is located on a lively Maroseyka street, full of cafes, restaurants, bars, nightclubs and shops. Yet city's nightlife is not to disturb your sleep: our hostel's windows look out on a quiet inner courtyard. Supreme location just 10 minutes walk away from the Kremlin and main touristic sites of Moscow, and only 3 minutes walk away from metro station Kitay-Gorod, makes Comrade Hostel the best starting point to explore the city, and a perfect place to return to after! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Comrade Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing