We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very well located, suitable for a weekend getaway” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dostoyevskiy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dostoyevskiy Hotel
Ranked #228 of 319 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very well located, suitable for a weekend getaway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I stayed at Hotel Dostoevsky with my friend during our weekend trip to St. Piter. The hotel is nothing new, just a basic two star accommodation, but the location is near perfect, right next to the Vladimirskaya metro station. Good news for those who arrives by train to Finljandsky train terminal, there's a straight metro line in between. Service was excellent, the staff is friendly, helpful and nice; so are the cleaning ladies. Breakfast could have been better, but all those coffee shops and cafes being near, I wasn't bothered by that. The top floor hotel bar is really nice, open all night and serves at least demi-sec bubbly. Go to St. Piter, stay at Hotel Dostoevsky and enjoy life.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna-Maija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    207
    214
    101
    60
See reviews for
79
180
45
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My wife and I spent a few nights at this hotel whilst in St Petersburg.

The room was reasonably clean but very basic and the bathroom wasn't in a terribly great state of decor. The staff were polite but not terribly friendly. Overall, I was disappointed with the room, when taking into account the cost of the stay.

On a positive note, the hotel is not terribly far from the city centre and is adjacent to a shopping mall, which is handy for stocking up on soft drinks and snacks if needed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Room very small with a window that looked onto the shopping centre but didn't open, air conditioning didn't work and despite it being October, we baked! Thankfully we had a friend who could speak Russian and we were provided with a stand alone fan but even this wasn't enough. We ended up sleeping with the door open and the security catch on because at least the corridor was cool!!!

Breakfast wasn't the best, brown bits of fruit and cold toast (and cockroach walking up the wall wasn't reassuring).

However, the location was FAB!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

Bs. As., Argentina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Comfortable and Nice. You get wat you pay for. The best of the hotel is the bar which is in the top floor.
There is an entrance direct to the shopping next door.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_Argentina_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

This is a definite place of you are looking for reasonable value for money. Location is quite good, 5 minutes from Fontanka and 5 minutes from Nefsky. Rooms are quite good, they are on the small size but adequate and clean. I did not use the bar or restaurant and there are many coffee shops etc very close by with ice coffee, pastries etc. Hotel is located by small shopping centre and an excellent supermarket. Would stay here again just because the staff make the difference. No wifi except in bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: If you need wifi ask for one which receives the free wifi from the bar or restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adricons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodeve, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel in November 2011 and found everything satisfactory. My room (6th floor) didn’t have wireless broadband but when I asked at Reception they told me there was free access in the bar on the 7th floor, which has views over the floodlit Vladimir Church opposite. The drinks weren’t cheap there but one morning I told them I had just come to use the internet and they were quite happy with that.
The staff on Reception were very helpful tracking down my tour group when they left without me!
It's a 5 minute walk to Nevsky Prospekt, but it takes a further 20-30 minutes to get to the Hermitage and St Isaac's Cathedral.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeliaH34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

My mother and I stayed here for 7 nights. Firstly when we arrived from previous week in Moscow where we never encountered the "visa registration" fee, we were charged it here. There was no warm greeting just the request for our passport. I couldn't understand the room number due to the way it was written. Our room was the standard room i think there are people in prison who would call this small. Then the beds or should I say hammocks! The hot water and pressure is good though. Like others I totally agree, the breakfast is abysmal. Only thing edible is fruit yogurt and cereal. The reception staff are very aloof. The doorman is just a decoration.

Close to Dostoevsky museum. And walking distance to the main atttactions.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Excessbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
#50 of 319 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#14 of 319 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Aston Hotel
#24 of 319 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
#51 of 319 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#48 of 319 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Vladimir
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
#9 of 319 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dostoyevskiy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dostoyevskiy Hotel

Property: Dostoyevskiy Hotel
Address: Vladimirskiy Ave., 19, St. Petersburg 191002, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dostoyevskiy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dostoevsky is situated in the unique historical and architectural area of Saint-Petersburg. It takes five minutes walking through magnificent architectural monuments, from the Hotel to the Nevsky prospect, the very heart and the gala view of Saint-Petersburg.The Hotel building constructed in 1783 is located in the Vladimirskaya square. The modern-styled building front faces the Cathedral of Our Lady of Vladimir.The Hotel offers 218 rooms of various categories. Guests are welcomed to use high-speedy Internet access, satellite television, international dialing, minibar, round-the-clock room service and other facilities.Dostoevsky combines the charm of the old history and the high level of the modern comfort and service. That is why the Hotel is so popular among Russian and foreign tourists, businessmen and artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Budget Places, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Dostoyevskiy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dostoevsky St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing