We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”
Review of Dostoyevskiy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dostoyevskiy Hotel
Ranked #250 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We booked in with some trepidation having seen mixed reviews of this hotel. Most worries proved groundless as we had a very pleasant stay. The room was clean and uncramped (though no view). The bar upstairs was comfortable and served food. The staff were friendly and helpful - often saying the basics in Russian cracked a dour face into a smile. Breakfast is a melee and supper seemed only available in the bar, although the menu was quite extensive. The shopping centre next door has a sort of fast food cafe but with reasonably priced freshly cooked dishes. Downstairs is a supermarket where you can get bottled water (evidently a necessity in this city). Next door is a decent pizza restaurant in a cellar. There are two metros stations just opposite; Nevsky Prospekt is 5 mins walk, where you can get a 5 trolley bus down to the Hermitage and the river.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

We got this hotel thru the travel agency, the hotel smells of rancid cigarrets, no wi-fi, no room service available and almost nobody spoke english. There's a mall on the same building, where you can buy food and also a supermarket! The front desk staff is friendly enough to call and set the taxi price (there's no metters in russia). Overall I not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlaviaGois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I stayed at Hotel Dostoevsky with my friend during our weekend trip to St. Piter. The hotel is nothing new, just a basic two star accommodation, but the location is near perfect, right next to the Vladimirskaya metro station. Good news for those who arrives by train to Finljandsky train terminal, there's a straight metro line in between. Service was excellent, the staff is friendly, helpful and nice; so are the cleaning ladies. Breakfast could have been better, but all those coffee shops and cafes being near, I wasn't bothered by that. The top floor hotel bar is really nice, open all night and serves at least demi-sec bubbly. Go to St. Piter, stay at Hotel Dostoevsky and enjoy life.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanna-Maija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My wife and I spent a few nights at this hotel whilst in St Petersburg.

The room was reasonably clean but very basic and the bathroom wasn't in a terribly great state of decor. The staff were polite but not terribly friendly. Overall, I was disappointed with the room, when taking into account the cost of the stay.

On a positive note, the hotel is not terribly far from the city centre and is adjacent to a shopping mall, which is handy for stocking up on soft drinks and snacks if needed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Room very small with a window that looked onto the shopping centre but didn't open, air conditioning didn't work and despite it being October, we baked! Thankfully we had a friend who could speak Russian and we were provided with a stand alone fan but even this wasn't enough. We ended up sleeping with the door open and the security catch on because at least the corridor was cool!!!

Breakfast wasn't the best, brown bits of fruit and cold toast (and cockroach walking up the wall wasn't reassuring).

However, the location was FAB!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmandaT429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Comfortable and Nice. You get wat you pay for. The best of the hotel is the bar which is in the top floor.
There is an entrance direct to the shopping next door.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura_Argentina_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This is a definite place of you are looking for reasonable value for money. Location is quite good, 5 minutes from Fontanka and 5 minutes from Nefsky. Rooms are quite good, they are on the small size but adequate and clean. I did not use the bar or restaurant and there are many coffee shops etc very close by with ice coffee, pastries etc. Hotel is located by small shopping centre and an excellent supermarket. Would stay here again just because the staff make the difference. No wifi except in bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: If you need wifi ask for one which receives the free wifi from the bar or restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adricons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Aston Hotel
#34 of 361 in St. Petersburg
465 reviews
Vladimir
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
#64 of 361 in St. Petersburg
449 reviews
Cronwell Inn Stremyannaya
#59 of 361 in St. Petersburg
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vladimir
Arkada
Arkada
#107 of 361 in St. Petersburg
100 reviews
Vladimir
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
#5 of 361 in St. Petersburg
797 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#43 of 361 in St. Petersburg
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dostoyevskiy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dostoyevskiy Hotel

Address: Vladimirskiy Ave., 19, St. Petersburg 191002, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $56 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dostoyevskiy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dostoevsky is situated in the unique historical and architectural area of Saint-Petersburg. It takes five minutes walking through magnificent architectural monuments, from the Hotel to the Nevsky prospect, the very heart and the gala view of Saint-Petersburg.The Hotel building constructed in 1783 is located in the Vladimirskaya square. The modern-styled building front faces the Cathedral of Our Lady of Vladimir.The Hotel offers 218 rooms of various categories. Guests are welcomed to use high-speedy Internet access, satellite television, international dialing, minibar, round-the-clock room service and other facilities.Dostoevsky combines the charm of the old history and the high level of the modern comfort and service. That is why the Hotel is so popular among Russian and foreign tourists, businessmen and artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dostoyevskiy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dostoevsky St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing