We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce staff, clean an well maintained rooms”
Review of Arbat Nord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arbat Nord Hotel
Ranked #103 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2006

Nice and helpful staff - speaks perfect English. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The hotel is a good 10-15 minute walk from the center of St. Petersburg. I would definitely stay there if I ever come back to St. Petersburg. Just be careful when requesting cab services. I asked the hotel to request cab rides in 2 occasions. The first driver was very helpful, and charged an appropriate amount. The second ride was to the same destination, but the cab driver took a much longer route and charged me 5 times the previous amount. Bottom line: make sure you agree on the fare upfront, and give yourself plenty of time in case you need to order another cab.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ricvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Arbat Nord Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2006

My husband and i stayed at the Arbat Nord recently for 3 nights. After a few issues organising our visa and confirming the booking we arrived and were greeted by the same receptionist who i had dealt with over the phone. She was very unprofessional and not particularly helpful. At one point she walked away from us mid-query because a boyfriend had come to see her. We waited for a few minutes unattended until the other receptionist decided to help. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the bathroom is great. Breakfast was quite good and the staff in the restaurant were lovely. It isn't exactly in the centre but we were able to walk to a lot of places but it was quite tiring. St Petersburg is a bit of a culture shock when you first arrive and we didn't feel safe on metro etc so unless you are up for a walk i would probably suggest staying closer to the centre - near St Isaac's Cathedral is probably a good spot. Hotels are quite dear in Russia though so be prepared to pay a bit more for something decent in the centre.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VLSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2005

After a week in Moscow in an old Soviet style hotel, Arbat Nord was a complete and delightful surprise. Fine small European style hotel, good size, modern rooms, very clean and accommodating. Quiet neighborhood along with good windows and insulation made for easy sleeping. Excellent continental restaurant. Cheerful and helpful staff. A little walk from the Hermitage but only a few blocks from Nevsky Prospekt. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends who intend to visit St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank richkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bismarck, North Dakota
113
Reviewed 22 May 2005

My wife and I stayed in this marvelous small hotel for five nights in May, 2005. The room was excellent with great beds and a wonderful shower. The entire hotel was clean, neat and well maintained. The women working the reception desk spoke excellent English, and they were always very helpful and very friendly. Upon your request they will line up dependable taxis, although you can easily walk downtown in less than 20 minutes or to the metro in less than 10 minutes. There is a very nice dining room/bar in the basement where every morning there was a wonderful buffet breakfast which was included in our room rate. I liked everything about the food selection for breakfast, although the only bread they had was ordinary sliced bread for the toaster. I would have preferred if they would have had good Russian bread and rolls available for breakfast, but that small concern does nothing to lower my highest opinion of this hotel. I would stay there again and I'd recommend it to my friends. It is definitely a five star hotel and a good value for the money.

Stayed: May 2005
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2005

We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely small hotel in St Petersburg. It is in a renovated old buiding in a quiet street. The room (twin) was quite small but modern and comfortable with duvets and good beds and the bathroom was good too. The buffet breakfast was varied and the best we had in Russia. The staff were very efficient and helpful - we were really pleased with everything. Within easy walking distance to the metro and about 25 minutes walk to Nevsky Prospect. The only downside was the ugly hotel opposite but we did not really notice that too much. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lucy533dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2004

I have just spent 12 Days (November 2004) in the Arbat Nord Hotel, in Saint Petersburg, Russia. I have travelled all over the world and have stayed in many hotels over the years. I felt that I wanted to write in praise of this lovely hotel, both to publicise its merits and also to recommend it to other westerners, who are both apprehensive and overwhelmed by the scary stories about Russia and its hotels. The Arbat Nord is centrally situated, being about a 20 minute walk from Nevsky Prospect and a 10 minute walk to the Metro. There are many bars, restaurants, churches and museums that are also very near to the Arbat Nord. The hotel is modern and to western standards and tastes, being newly renovated in the last 2 years, from a much older original building. The rooms are warm and cosy and the food fantastic and very plentiful. The staff are also very helpful and there is 24 hour entrance security. Please don't waste your money on the big name hotels on Nevsky, such as the Grand, as you will get far less for your money and a much less personalised stay. If you need any advise on this hotel or on Saint Petersburg in general, then please send me an email. I am in no way connected to this hotel, but just had a great stay and wanted to repay this lovely hotel and the tremendous city of Saint Petersburg.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Sheffield - England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, California
213
Reviewed 3 November 2004

The Arbat Nord is a smallish, efficiently run hotel. Its best feature is its quiet location. It's a short and scenic, 10-minute walk (which you'll come to love) from everything great in St. Petersburg. Rather than being in the center of the city, it's in a quiet yet urban neighborhood, close to the Neva River and a 10-minute walk across the Fontanka River and past the Mikhailovsky Gardens into the heart of the city--Palace Square, the Hermitage, Arts Square, the Russian Museum, the Grand Europe Hotel and Nevsky Prospect.

The newish hotel itself has neat-as-a-pin rooms, good bathrooms, and an excellent free breakfast in its comfortable and friendly cafe (great waitresses!). The only weak spot is the front-desk service, which is crisp and cool--and not very helpful. But then, the people of St. Petersburg aren't that helpful--or friendly--in general. Read up on the city's traumatic history (Harrison Salisbury's "900 Days" about the German siege of the city is strongly recommended) and maybe you'll begin to understand why.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Liteyny
Art-Hotel Mokhovaya
Art-Hotel Mokhovaya
#109 of 358 in St. Petersburg
128 reviews
Hotel Cameo
#83 of 358 in St. Petersburg
121 reviews
Kolomna
Matisov Domik
Matisov Domik
#39 of 358 in St. Petersburg
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Statskiy Sovetnik
#75 of 358 in St. Petersburg
156 reviews
Atrium Hotel & Apartments
#36 of 358 in St. Petersburg
293 reviews
Vladimir
5th Corner Hotel
5th Corner Hotel
#53 of 358 in St. Petersburg
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbat Nord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbat Nord Hotel

Address: Artilleriyskaya St., 4, St. Petersburg 191014, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#72 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#75 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $63 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arbat Nord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The convenient location of the newly built hotel in the city center close to one of the most beautiful cathedrals - the Preobrazhensky Cathedrals and the famous Summer Garden gives good opportunity for our guests to enjoy pleasant walks. The main avenue - the Nevsky prospect is just a few minutes away. All staff at the ARBAT NORD will do the best to make sure that you enjoy your staying with us! 33 Twin - bedded and double rooms equipped to the most exacting European standards and fully air-conditioned. All rooms have: conditioning, bathroom with bath and shower, hair dryer, satellite TV, telephone, Wireless Internet access, electronic lock.Guest services: room service from 08:00 a.M. - 24 P.M., Free convenient parking, business services - translation, interpreting, copying etc., Laundry and dry cleaning are available 5 days a week, free safe-box at the reception. All major credit cards accepted (AMEX/JCB/MC/CUP/VISA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arbat Nord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbat Nord St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing