We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasant Stay - Clean Facilities”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Griboedova 40 BnB

room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Mitesh M
1 review
“Pleasant Stay - Clean Facilities”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Enjoyed a great stay at this BnB. Toilets, Bathroom and facilities were clean and kitchen had the basics to allow us to have some breakfast before proceeding. Location was great, extremely central location with all sights within a walking distance of the hotel. Despite being close to Nevskiy Prospect the location was nice and quiet. Overall a great stay, and well looked after by Taddeo.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good stay, Perfect location”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Location of this apartment is perfect! Not to close to the noisy Nevsky prospect ( which I personally find overcrowded and overrated), but close enough to everything you might need on vacation. And it's very easy to find too! The room was clean and Taddeo was kind to spare his extra room for my sister, while he was fixing the second bed in my room. All the roommates were very nice and foreigners. And as a plus Taddeo let me leave my bags till late evening without extra charge. Perfect stay on budget! I made very good memories.
Thank you, Taddeo!

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Value for the Intrepid Traveller”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Griboedova 40 BnB for a period of three weeks (May 2015) and had a positive experience. I was looking for a place in the city center with laundry as well as cooking facilities that would not cost the earth. This BnB met all these criteria and I was quite happy here. That said, this is budget accommodation in Russia, so it helps to be a little bit intrepid if you are going to choose this option. Here's an overview of what to expect.

Griboedova 40 BnB is the sister accommodation to Griboedova 29 BnB. They are both owned by the same person (a Corsican national who speaks many languages and has lived in Russia for 20 years). Taddeo is a very nice and helpful person and is also trustworthy to deal with. Both of these apartments are on the market currently, so I do not know how long he will remain in business. I hope he is around for at least some time, as I would like to come back.

I did not stay at #29 but did view it for comparison. It is in a better building on the first floor and the immediate surroundings are a little more attractive. The quality of the rooms is about the same. The major differences are that there is no stove or oven at #29 (just a hot plate and microwave), nor is there a bath tub at #29 (just showers). I like to soak after a day of sightseeing and I also need to do some cooking, so #40 was actually better for me, although #29 was nicer.

The entrance to #40 is not actually on Griboedova (which is a canal street) but on a side street (which is a busy avenue) called Gorokhovaya. That street has a little bit of a gritty feel but offers good shopping and infrastructure. There are plenty of restaurants and places to have coffee, as well as some small 24 hour supermarkets. The apartment overlooks the canal on Griboedova and is fairly quiet (it is on the 3rd floor, so the noise of traffic is not extreme). Taddeo was nice enough to carry my heavy suitcase up three flights of stairs when I arrived, as there is no elevator, but you should be prepared for a daily climb if you stay at #40.

Although this accommodation is termed a "BnB" that description is used quite loosely. This is an apartment with shared kitchen and two bathrooms that are shared among 4 bedrooms. Each bedroom sleeps 2, which means that as many as 8 people could be living in this apartment at any given point in time. During my stay there were usually no more than 2 other rooms occupied and quite often only 1 or 2 other people staying. Sometimes I was alone. Breakfast is provided in the sense that the kitchen is always stocked with a loaf of bread from the supermarket, as well as butter, jam, sugar, milk, coffee and tea. You simply help yourself if you want it.

You need to be prepared for a very grubby stairwell at #40 (the one at #29 is better). A decrepit stairwell is typical in Russia, particularly in lower end buildings (this building is also home to a youth hostel, so that should give you some idea). I have lived in Russia before, so in no way did the stairwell phase me, but if you are unaccustomed to these types of conditions, you could well be in for a shock. It is not a big deal or indicative of danger and you do quite quickly get used to it. The entrance to the building is at the back of a restaurant, so there are some dumpsters in the courtyard, and kitchen workers will sometimes come outside to have a smoke. They were friendly enough whenever I saw them and no one ever bothered me.

In terms of security, the courtyard is locked (you will have a key), so I felt it was relatively safe. The entrance to the building itself is generally unlocked, although that door does lock in theory. It just happens to be propped open most of the time, which is not ideal for security. The door to the apartment you have to lock with a key after you have come in. I found that most people did lock the door, but on a couple of occasions they forgot when coming in at night, and the apartment was left unsecured. However, each bedroom also has its own lock, so that reduces any risk. I am a single woman who stayed alone and I never felt unsafe.

The apartment at #40 reminds me a bit of a student apartment. It is a basic place that is simply furnished (linoleum in the kitchen and hallway, wood floors in the bedrooms). I had a very large room overlooking the canal in which I was very happy. The WIFI here is generally reliable although it did have to be rebooted a couple of times. Someone else on TripAdvisor remarked that they had musty linens. I also encountered a similar problem, but I discovered that the linens themselves were fine (there was just an odd smell from the goose down). Once I helped myself to a different duvet, I had no more problems with any mustiness and always slept well at night.

In terms of cleanliness, how clean this place was or wasn't really depended on who else was staying. Unfortunately, I found most people to be inconsiderate when it came to their use of the bathroom. In other words, they left hair and soap scum everywhere and did not bother cleaning up for the next person. To be honest that really bothered me. My solution was to buy a bathroom spray cleaner and to sanitize for myself as I needed to.

All else aside, the location of this place really could not be better (you can walk to almost all the principal sights and otherwise access public transport quite easily for the rest). The fact that there is cooking and laundry also is a considerable plus, particularly if your stay is lengthy. The major drawbacks are condition of the building and also the shared bathrooms, but I found the positives outweighed any negatives, so I would stay here again. At this price point, I do not expect perfection, and I think I got good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilleLa...
Ecully, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uta61
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing