We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never put my foot on it again..... Despite the beatiful city of Saint Petersburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg
Ranked #143 of 357 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Our frustation started when we arrived at the train station coming from Helsinki. To get a taxi was a nightmare. We gave the hotel details to the taxi driver and they had a "meeting" among the few drivers because no one knew the hotel. When we arrived there after many "turn arounds", we felt like we were coming back to the Cold War time. 45 minutes to check in and they wanted to retain our passport (NO WAY). Try to say that to a Russian that hardly speaks any English. People were very strange and careless. We came with 4 pieces of luggage, I looked around and asked for the elevator. There is an elevator but you have to walk up one level, go thru a door, come down one floor and get into what they call elevator, which is a joke. Hardly fits one person and 1 bag and the door is a "bang type" made of wood, no locks!!. You arrive what should be your floor and you have to walk up one more floor. Room? They try to make it neat, but dates back the 70 & 80's (don't trust the pictures). We spent one night only out of two and we moved to another hotel (very nice one!!), paying for a night that we didn't stay. Besides, when we arrived at the reception, there were two Escort Girls sitting on the reception waiting for their clients. What a disapointment. DO NOT RECOMMEND. And this is my very first review that I wanted to make sure to write!!!! But don't miss the chance to visit the city. It is just beatiful

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STAF1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

This is a pleasant, old fashioned, European style hotel. The staff are friendly, courteous and English language skilled (important to those of us with limited/no Russian). The rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished. We needed to climb a couple of flights of stairs, so this is not for the handicapped. I believe it has been recently renovated and the facilities are pretty modern. The breakfasts were very good. The resturant provided a menu appealing to varying tastes, certainly to ours.

The location is in a residential area, but is walkable (2 km) to the Neva River and the palace/museum district (Hermitage).

I cannot compare the hotel to others as this was our first stay in the city, but it seems to be a pretty safe bet as a good value for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Stayed in this hotel just one night while seeing friends in St. Petersburg. It's a small clean place with good breakfast. The elevator is a problem - it is too small and makes little sense.
The only thing I'd recommend about this hotel is to plan your schedule in St. Petersburg because at night the bridges to the Vasiliyevsky Island are raised and there is practically no way you will be able to get to the hotel from downtown St. Pete, except for a small boat, whose owners charge about 12 dollars per person to take you across Neva.
The room we had was spacious enough, good bed, outstanding shower booth, good, not smelling water running at high enough pressure. For breakfast they were offering seasonal water melon, pancakes, and all sorts of traditional buffet breakfast stuff of good quality.

The hotel is just about 5 minutes walk from the Vasiliyostrovskaya metro station and is located in a quiet, clean neighborhood. Cheers, have fun in the Cultural Capital of Russia.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy-Brandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

I just came back from this hotel. I can say that the price of the rooms and the service they offer doesn't correspond each other. I stayed there 4 nights and during this time beds was layed only once and also towels was changed once. The staff was not very affable. The services they offer such as excurtions, taxi, massage and so on are twice expensive that you can get out of hotel. There was no iron and even cups for tea we had to ask. I stayed at Business-room. I liked breakfast very much, but waiter did her job very slow.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pleskava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

This is a small nice hotel which is outside of the city center and convenient only for those who needs to commute to the Lenexpo. It has very average rooms, the service is very slow and unprofessional - they could not even iron my shirts properly and had problems getting me an iron. The breakfast is modest but okay.
The good thing is that they can get you a taxi and include it in the bill without a rip off just a bit more then the usual fare would cost youif you flag the taxi on a street. This is a good place for a traveller on a budget.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
Thank Dmitryvulkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

... well located on the island with good efficient management. The room was spacious and comfortable. Prostitution was also kept to a minimum! On the down side, the food was a little grim, but hey, this is Russia!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spookyzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We enjoyed this hotel, it was quiet and in a quiet street. The tram stopped at the end of the road to go cross town and the Metro was a short walk away. The Metro was easy to use, you buy a token for 20 rubles and you can go anywhere, its only one stop to the Nevskiy Prospekt.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and a mosquito plug-in was provided but we only saw one mozzie so it wasn't a problem. We ate in the restaurant twice and liked what we had. Not many places nearby had an English menu.
Hotel charged us twice the amount for a taxi to the airport than we paid coming.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Club Hotel Agni
Club Hotel Agni
#96 of 357 in St. Petersburg
208 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#10 of 357 in St. Petersburg
661 reviews
Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Mosko...
#62 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Nevsky St. ...
#67 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,041 reviews
Nevskiy
Roses Hotel
Roses Hotel
#70 of 357 in St. Petersburg
317 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard by Marriott St. Peters...
#46 of 357 in St. Petersburg
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg

Address: 12th Liniya V.O., 27, St. Petersburg 199178, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#87 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $95 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg is an Old Petersburg style hotel situated in a very center of Vasilievsky Island, at the corner of Sredniy prospect and the 12th line, 48/27. The hotel is perfectly close to the main cultural and business centers of the city. Hotel accommodation includes 47 comfortable rooms of business category, suite category and 3 luxury suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing