We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet street but close to Metro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg
Ranked #119 of 336 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet street but close to Metro”
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We enjoyed this hotel, it was quiet and in a quiet street. The tram stopped at the end of the road to go cross town and the Metro was a short walk away. The Metro was easy to use, you buy a token for 20 rubles and you can go anywhere, its only one stop to the Nevskiy Prospekt.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and a mosquito plug-in was provided but we only saw one mozzie so it wasn't a problem. We ate in the restaurant twice and liked what we had. Not many places nearby had an English menu.
Hotel charged us twice the amount for a taxi to the airport than we paid coming.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    54
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
17
39
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

It was my first visit to Russia and I was surprised by the high level of service in Marco Polo hotel. I spent here 3 days and as for me it is rather nice place to stay at. I had a business category room which contained all necessary amenities. I liked design of the room , it was very elegant.

Concerning the staff, they were very polite especially reception service. They offer a lot of additional services like different tours and so on.

Breakfast was included in total cost and it was rather nice, so I didn't feel hungry after it.

The only thing I was disappointed with was very small sauna without swimming pool.

  • Liked — nice atmosphere, good service
  • Disliked — small sauna
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Darleen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

My wife just returned from a business trip where she stayed at the Marco Polo. She has nasty bites all over her body. Don't know what they are from, but I can guess...bed bugs. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TwoHavlesofCoconuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2008

A 3rd party arranged this hotel as it was close to the offices I was going to visit. I stayed here three years ago when it was still the Littorin. Three years ago it was very average but this time I was pleasantly surprised. New management definitely knows what Westerners expect from a hotel. Rooms were very clean, with all the amenities ( no coffee machine or ironing board ). My room was reasonably spacious with comfortable queen bed. A small elevator is only accessible from the 2nd floor and is rather noisy. Stay on the 2nd floor.
Wireless internet is available a a charge. Breakfast is included in the room price and is not bad at all. It is rather far away from the tourist attractions. I would not walk around alone at night unless in a group.
Bar is nice with good food and an English speaking bartender.
Overall a very positive experience

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank prdm100480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muscat
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2007

My fiance and I stayed in this hotel during late July 2007.

We stayed in the Marco Polo suite at a cost of 7500 rubles for one night.

The hotel looks like it has been retrofitted into an older building and in the general russian tradition while a lot of money has been spent on the rooms very little has been spent upgrading or repairing the communal areas like the stairs, elevator, etc.

When we were walking outside the hotel in the evening we noticed large amounts of plaster had falled away from the underside of one suite's balcony.

The mini bar prices were reasonable and the breakfast in the morning was ok. We did not eat in the restaraunt that night but ate somewhere else. The bed was a little on the small side but was great. Our plan is to use this hotel again for our wedding night.

We did have some small issues. Some of the fittings in the bathroom did not work and when we first used the jaccuzi the water had an unpleasant odour to it. However the local fix it guy soon had both working.

One note - the area seems to have significant groups of military walking around off duty in the evening getting drunk. I would not recommend women walking around in the evenings alone.

  • Liked — Great Room
  • Disliked — The local drunks
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ausandrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Shelfort Hotel
Shelfort Hotel
#90 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Art-hotel Trezzini
Art-hotel Trezzini
#112 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#9 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
#25 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilie...
#48 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Vladimir
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
#58 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg

Property: Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg
Address: 12th Liniya V.O., 27, St. Petersburg 199178, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#87 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg is an Old Petersburg style hotel situated in a very center of Vasilievsky Island, at the corner of Sredniy prospect and the 12th line, 48/27. The hotel is perfectly close to the main cultural and business centers of the city. Hotel accommodation includes 47 comfortable rooms of business category, suite category and 3 luxury suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing