We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Oasis Hotel'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Hotels Al Ahsa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Al Ahsa
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“'Oasis Hotel'”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

There is no doubt that this hotel has the largest green area with the palm oasis featured
outside the back of the hotel. It is indeed a pleasant respite from the dry desert area of the rest of the country. A fresh fruit basket awaits you in your room which is clean and colorful,
decorated in warm hues of rose and gold. With a Lebanese, Chinese and Indian restaurant
the dining is sumptuous. But a five star rating? Unless it serves alcohol in the mini bar, it
is catering to a selected part of the population and does not deserve to earn the title of 5 star.
There is something to be said about a hotel that caters to international tastes and as such
this hotel does not. Being one of the only two hotels in Al Ahsa it offers a good nights sleep
with friendly staff. One can also book a tour of the oasis, pottery studios, and castle for
two hundred riyals for a two hour tour.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the city; others face the palm oasis-be sure to ask. Has a swimming pool where wome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HofCNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    27
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
18
8
4
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alkhobar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

The worst IC I ever stayed at, being a Plat. Ambassador, I had to wait and argue with them for about an hour, to get my rights and have my upgrade to a room with upper floor and from standard to deluxe !!!!!

this requires me to call the main office in UK, not to mention the fact the Business Center, is a room with tv + several cups of juices .. No Internet pc were available at that time..

the room should not exceeded half of the listed price in any mean, with that price, you could stay in one of Asian's most luxuries IC .


give me a break...

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoMuhammed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

This hotel has lovely rooms in a good location for exploring Hofuf and the surrounding areas which are a must see if you are visiting Saudi Arabia. Up until check out (see below) we had a very relaxing short break which our small children really enjoyed. We especially appreciated the good friendly service from the receptionists and concierge / bell boys. My children loved the playground outside and the outdoors Lebanese restaurant added to the ambience.

However, on checking out, an attempt was made to charge us a totally different rate (based on, I was told, a different room occupancy) despite the fact that I had clearly stated in my booking that there would be two adults occupying both rooms. I would have expected a quick apology and my bill to be corrected. Instead I firstly had to stand and wait for 30 minutes for the front desk manager to start his shift and when the front desk manager arrived he seemed more intent on arguing with me and proving he was right then actually providing good customer service. Eventually I did speak to the sales manager who eventually agreed to charge me the rate shown on my confirmation and it must be noted that after making a written complain the general manager phoned to apologize and has offered us a complementary stay which we are very much looking forward to so full marks for recognizing the mistake. I guess everyone has their off days and I would not hesitate in recommending the hotel (just remember to take your confirmation with you if booking online and insist on the price given being honored - the room rates anyway are a bit on the high side given Hofuf is not a major city).

One other small point, although breakfast was very good, dinner at the "Silk Road" restaurant was poor - I would not recommend eating at this restaurant, there also seemed to be a lack of staff at all the hotels restaurants which made service a bit of a hit and miss.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Ahsa, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

The hotel is impressive. Very good styling from the Outside and Inside. The lobby area is astonishing. The location is very good not in a busy area and close to city center as well. The complimentary breakfast was very good. The hotel service is good too. The room was not spacious but good enough. The room facilities were above average. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AliAlAwadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Al Ahsa
5.8 km away
Coral Al Ahsa Hotel
Coral Al Ahsa Hotel
#3 of 5 in Al Ahsa
18 reviews
0.0 km away
Lily Hotel Suite Mubarraz
5.5 km away
Best Western Premier Al Ahsa Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
No photo provided
Garden Plaza Hotel
#1 of 3 in Al Hofuf
3 reviews
2.4 km away
Somewhere Hotel & Apartments
0.0 km away
Blue Sands Alqaria
Blue Sands Alqaria
#1 of 4 in Al Ahsa
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotels Al Ahsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotels Al Ahsa

Property: InterContinental Hotels Al Ahsa
Address: Al Malik Khaled Street | Al Hofuf PO Box 5399, Al Ahsa 31982, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Region: Saudi Arabia > Eastern Province > Al Ahsa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Al Ahsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotels Al Ahsa 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Team, I am in charge o f Crowne Plaza Al Khobar also, and please add this hotel into my user access. Rgds, Thomas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Hotels Al Ahsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing