We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Very historical

This park is a place for people to pay respect to the people who lost their lives when they are... read more

Reviewed January 4, 2019
116harryw
,
Hong Kong, China
via mobile
Mini Statue of Liberty Park

The Huanghuagang park is famous for the mini statue of liberty, which looks quite interesting from... read more

Reviewed August 21, 2018
PushExplore
,
Guangzhou, China
Read all 63 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Guangzhou
from US$66.96
More Info
from US$231.00
More Info
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
18
39
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
39
5
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 63 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2017

For those interested in Chinese revolutionary history, this is a must see place. It is a nice memorial park to visit and has a unique statue modeled on the Statue of Liberty. It is a nicely landscaped park.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Calvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2016

This park is a memorial to the memory of the 72 Martyrs who worked with Dr. Sun Yat-Sen in the days of revolution against the tyranny of the Qing Dynasty system of feudalism and imperialism that made China fall from a great country and culture to one of a third rate power that ended up being carved up for influence from the Japanese and western imperialistic powers. A great place to appreciate the history of the beginning of the modern China.

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank geotech522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2016

I love Guangzhou because it is the cradle of Dr Sun Yat Sen's revolutionary struggle against feudalism and imperialism. The spirits of the many unsung heroes and their bloodshed and sacrifice glorified Guangzhou as the brave city of the many revolutionary martyrs.

History is a dynamic revolutionary process that relentlessly drive the human race towards the pursuit of liberty, equality, dignity and democracy.The statue of liberty in Huanghuagang Park signifies the great selfless spirits of the 72 martyrs who sacrificed their lives in the uprising against the Qing Dynasty corrupted feudal rule. The success of Dr Sun's revolution was built on the foundation of this failed attempt to seize power.

It was coincidental that I visited this attraction during an exploratory morning stroll from the Euro-Asia Hotel that I stayed. The weather in Dec was cold in the morning and I was attracted by the music played by the locals who were having their morning exercise in the well-manicured garden of the park. Serenity and Tranquility pervaded the air and it was meditative strolling in this beautiful park. The admission is free.

As I moved around the monuments and read the engraving scripts on the martyrs' tombs and sculptures that dotted at the inner end of the park, I eventually realized that I was stepping on the burial ground of the 72 martyrs who died during the initial uprising in Guangzhou. I learnt that a number of these 72 martyrs were patriotic overseas Chinese heroes who returned with an aim to liberate China from feudalism. All of them knew that they would be killed during the attempt. But they had no qualm to sacrifice their precious lives and demonstrated no cowardice. It was their bloodshed sacrifice that eventually laid the fertile ground for the ultimate success of the revolution.

Confucius once said: Life can be as heavy as Mount Tai or as light as a feather of a bird. (人固有一死,或重于泰山,或轻于鸿毛). The martyrs led the life of great significance and their revolutionary spirits continue to live in the memories of many who continued to pursue justice, equality, democracy and prosperity for the human race.

Before I left, I stood at the archway of the entrance and gave my sincere salute to all these unsung heroes who perished and paved the way for the founding of the Republic of China and for the rise of the dignity of the millions of people who were enslaved by feudalism and imperialism.

Date of experience: December 2015
2  Thank soh_kien_peng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2016

This park is really nice spot is 2mn from station , take time to visit it , it really worth
in the morning you will hear a man singing like Caruso, and on the other side a group playing Chinese music sooooooo nice !!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Estelle-geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2015 via mobile

It is great combination of forest, park, and memorial site in Guangzhou. Many walking paths, bridges, and fountains add to the massive area a sense of calm decorum away from the busy streets of the city. A wonder to behold on film is even more impressive in person. It was my first stop which made me want to see what other wonders are offered in this city.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews