We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Service and Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Ranked #13 of 3,376 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Service and Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

This Sofitel is a very well managed and has very good staff with excellent service. The lobby restuarant has very good food along with the other choices in the hotel. The rooms and rest of the property is well done and is well kept. Very good indoor pool and great fitness and spa facility. I choose the club room package and it was very good with good choices for food and beverage. The club room staff are great and helped with travel plans and picked a few good local spots to eat. i would rate this hotel even higher but it is not that close to walk to other restuarants or shopping. Also getting a cab in the morning is a little more difficult here than other hotels. Once the area is better developed, it will get better and better. I will return to this hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: Upgrade or book the Club rooms as it is well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EddiPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    335
    89
    31
    14
See reviews for
148
217
79
729
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Sofitel Sunrich for 2 nights on a business trip to the Canton Fair. I was apprehensive about the cost of the Club Level but was completely satisfied. It was by far the best stay I had on a week long visit to China.
The service, the restaurants, and the room were all outstanding! The free shuttle to and from the Canton Fair was very convenient. I would recommend leaving the Fair prior to close at 5:00pm due to the massive amount of people trying to leave at once. Be careful of pirate Taxi Cabs and counterfeit money both of which I encountered. The counterfeit money is smooth like paper and the real money has texture if you run your fingers over it, a lesson I learned after the fact.
I never left the Hotel which is unusual for me but there was no need to because anything that I needed was promptly provided. The Club Level was a nice and relaxing place to work after a long day at the Fair.
Understand my stay was strictly business and the Sofitel was ideal. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigshinywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

OMG how gorgeous is this place? How nice are the people?
let me start from the reception area- clean tasteful, inviting an the most beautiful chandelier you have ever seen (trust a woman to notice!).
The room we were given contained a single king bed and we were provided with a baby bed (not a porta-cot, an actual bed with mattress and linens) for the bub. it also contained a mini-business centre with desk, all essential office supplies, internet connection and a multi-plug hub to connect all our gadgets without need for an adapter. Bathroom was just lovely, with a tv screen built into the mirror, so you can watch while you soak.
Breakfast is a bit pricey and wasnt included, but there was such a huge range to choose from. A bakery, asian breakfast, american breakfast and continental breakfast sections all to choose from.
Room service was super yummy and such a convenience (what with the baby and all), i especially enjoyed the pizza!
We went to Guangzhou for the canton fair (and shopping) and the staff were so helpful and organised.
I think if we had brought our kids with us it wouldnt have been as comfy, even if they have a room with two queen beds, but for a couple, for business, or even traveling with a baby it was a great experience.
Thank you sofitel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eman_fady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Beautiful new hotel in the TianHe District (but consider the Sheraton and Marriott (though the Four Seasons and Mandarin Oriental will also be joining the ranks soon), both of which are newer and more centrally located for shopping and metro access). If you are non-Asian, you will find possibly more English speaking staffs here to cater to you, and if you are Asian, you may find yourself slighted due to the staffs’ willingness to cater to the Westerners/Arabs (at least that was the experience I had both at check-in and check-out). Accor is dreadful at rewarding its loyal guests, I got two non-alcoholic drink passes for the lobby bar and a one category room upgrade as an A-Club Platinum member. The lobby lounge evening entertainment was enjoyable, mostly soft rock, and the servers were accommodating. Perhaps because I stay primarily at Starwood, Shangri-La, and Intercontinental properties, I found a lot of interesting details/differences in how the room at this hotel is furnished and fitted-out. The velvet lounge chairs are red, there is writing weaved into the carpet, the AV cables/chords are put in an interesting table-top box, a hand towel holder is used, and the seals to the shower door enclosure is designed well to avoid water leakage. Unfortunately the housekeeper did not seem to clean the toilet properly, urine stains everywhere around the toilet bowl and seat. The quality of the hotel construction is good, but it would seem that this hotel also controls how low the temperatures can reach in the rooms, so to keep cool on a sunny day you may need to shut your curtains tight.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rm_1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Very well located, excellent for business travel. The restaurant was very good, and the fit out modern.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I just completed my first stay during the May 2012 Canton Fair. The room was great, internet speed was superb, and the staff were all excellent. I got a nasty cold during my stay. The main Chef, Remco Vaatstra, took the time to make a special cold remedy for me; boiled coke and ginger. I know it sounds weird but it really worked. I also have to recommend Marie who was a superb host in the lobby and helped me out on several occasions in exchanging money, and making reservations. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Check the prices, if you can afford, you will have a great stay.

The spa is OK. Not wow though. Stay away from the restaurants in the hotel. Too expensive for what they are serving. They have a good wine menu though.

Breakfast is great. You will find something to eat whether you are chinese french turkish american german etc.

Location is OK.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morisabravaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
2.3 km away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.4 km away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#10 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
1.1 km away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#14 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#5 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.5 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#1 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.7 km away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#18 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich

Property: Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Address: No.988 Guangzhou Avenue Middle, Guangzhou 510620, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#6 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#9 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#60 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Tianhe, the most dynamic financial and commercial district of Guangzhou, the hotel is less than a kilometre away from city landmark CITIC Square and a five minutes drive from Guangzhou East Railway Station, the transportation hub connecting Guangzhou, Dongguan, Shenzhen and Hong Kong. Facilities include 493 spectacular Paris style decor rooms and suites, all overlooking TianHe trendy skyline, 5 innovative bars and restaurants,extensive recreational facilities from SoSpa, SoFit 24-hour fitness centre to an indoor pool enjoying a panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing