We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
65
247
122
31
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
247
122
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationnice hotelasian and western foodusual hotelfifth floorbuffet breakfaststar hotelyogurtbaiyun airportconvenient locationfree shuttlespacious roomchangganggymcantonwalmarthaizhu
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 487 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2018

My standard room with a king size bed was reasonably comfortable. Bedding, pillows, and mattress quality are typical 3 to 3.75 star. Complimentary wifi is reasonably fast. Reasonable fitness centre on the fifth floor, and a nice outdoor swimming pool. Many of the staff members are fluent in Chinese and English. All staff I encountered were friendly, polite, attentive, and helpful.

Excellent location, a few steps from Exit C2 of Changgang Metro (subway) Station. Also, very good location for those going to Sun Yat-sen University and the fabrics and accessories markets, both being two metro stops away. Being on Metro Line 2 makes it easy to go to the many wholesale markets, most being three to six Metro Stations away.

Hotel is sold out for some nights of the Canton Fair, spring 2018 three weeks/phases. Rates at many hotels go up by two to three times, and more, when the Canton Fair is on.

There are lots of restaurants in the area, and very safe for evening walks.

Before I commence my trips, I take a photo of my destination names in both English and Chinese. Then enroute, I’ll ask for directions whenever I am concerned that I might not be going the right way.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KodoDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights while going to the Canton trade fair. Staff very friendly, shuttle to and from the trade fair was great. Room was only average and whole hotel smelled old. Carpets need replacement. Otherwise stay was ok, breakfasts were fair. Whloe hotel was very busy for the fair. Underground train station was right by the hotel and plenty of street food spots. Felt quite safe on the streets. Will try somewhere else a bit more modern next time.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

I would of gave this hotel 5 stars but the room really let it down....
The recipition area was lovely, first impressions count and the recipition did just that..it was lovely, very clean and looked great! Staff was on help and they did just that...BUT we told that our non-smoking room was not ready (I don't know he reason why not), but I was told that smoking rooms were ready it we wants them...we were in the country for business and didn't have much time tomwait about so I told them the smoking rooms would be fine.
I got the key card and ran up to my room to thrown down my suitcase quickly before leaving to attend my business meeting as time was limited. I didn't have a propper look in my while, I just lictually threw down my suitcase and left.
As I returned that evening I entered the room and went to turn on the light, noticing that there wasn't even a light switch to turn on!!! My bedroom did not have a light on the selling!!!! Instead there was 3 lamps in my room, when turned on full they were very dim!!! I collected the lamps together and placed them together to at least have one part of the room light up, but as the lamps were so dim it didn't really happen . So I had to deal with it....I had to have my main curtains and net curtains pulled all the way open to let light from the opposite buildings come into my room.
Once dealing with the light issue I then went into the bathroom to have shower. I was in shock with the condition of the shower area. The shower was extremely dated, the shower dead could not move or be adjusted, but fine I had to deal with it... Then I noticed the shower curtain, I actually could not believe the contidion of it! I was very VERY dirty, it had old orange stains all over it which I could it believe was urin and stains from not being cleaned properly or regularly. It was obviously a very cheap shower curtain so I told understand why the hotel doesn't replace them.....anyway I had to shower so I did.
The next morning I went down for breakfast, and the breakfast was lovely and they had a 'western' area and it was great, I was very VERY happy with breakfast.
Later that evening back in my room I notice it did not have a iron in it, and I was unable to get one....

But the hotel was nice but my room was one star. I have no idea if this was because it was a smoking room or not but the room was a major let down.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank kimfQ7346FO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

This is a relatively old property at the heart the city. The property is well maintained and close to a subway station. Commuting to various parts of the city is very convenient by subway. Close to various attractions of the city. Plenty of decent restaurants are nearby this property.
Spacious rooms, decent amenities and internet. Breakfast was little below par but no complaints.
Staff is well trained and courteous. Didn't had any problem in communicating. Offline version of google translate and subway map guide comes handy. Better download it before coming to china because google you tube Facebook viber and whatsapp all are banned here. Even v chat can't be activated easily even if you buy a local sim.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank AtulBadola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2018

around the hotel. many bus, texi and MTR near the street. the hotel very clear, bright and good service. it 's quiet and comfort.if next, i till choose the hotel.in the hotel my boyfriend give me a surprise .frist he kiss me then he ask me that i should marry him.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrailBlazer742265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews