We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location + clean and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent location + clean and value for money”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I stayed at this hotel in August 2010 for 1 night and i must say this place is highly recommended for budget travellers. The dorm bed pricing is Y30/bed and the bed is spacious and clean. Air-conditioning works well and laundry comes with free of charge.

Located below the hostel are 2 very good Guilin restaurant serving delicious food and very reasonably priced compared to nearby places. walking distance to train and bus station and also night market.

Will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    71
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
11
59
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

First and foremost, the hostel is fine if you like to book all your own tours and transportation accommodation. But, it is helpful to be able to rely on a hostel's staff to do so, especially when you are a novice with the local language or a location. My boyfriend and I booked a tour and a bus ride with this hostel and were let down both times.

First, the most egregious, the reason for this review. We paid 200RMB apiece for bus tickets from Guilin to Hunan Province. We didn't know the best way to get there, so we asked the staff to research a route. They found one and said they could reserve sleeper bus tickets. Four days later, when our time to depart for Hunan came, we were picked up at the hostel by a van and taken to a long-distance bus station. After waiting for an hour in a small office away from the main ticket office (we were the only ones waiting), we were picked up by a second van and told that the van would take us to the bus. We were driven outside of town, where the van pulled over and the driver got out. He waited for a bus to pass by and flagged it down. We were told to get on the bus, and we did. It was a sleeper bus, and there were no seats available, so we sat in the very back, sharing space with other people. The bus then went back to the bus station we were originally at and then departed for the 12-hour bus ride after letting on a few more people and letting off some others. We had seats because of the people who got off, but by the time we departed, there were exactly 2 people in the aisles (for a 12-hour ride), which made us suspect that we might have taken their tickets somehow. We were never given bus tickets, we were never asked for money, and I am very sure that the bus we took did not cost the 200RMB per ticket that we paid the hostel. Some of the sleeper buses around China are nice; this one was the worst I've ever seen. The bed gave my arm a rash, and the blankets (only my boyfriend got one) smelled like pee and puke. I don't usually complain about that; I think the hard-sleeper trains are fine, and most buses, even crappier looking ones are decent enough. For this one, we overpaid (I'm sure the hostel or someone along the line kept a hefty profit) for the worst sleeper seats imaginable. The bus stopped only once for a toilet break.

For the tour, we bought a bamboo raft ride from Guilin to Yangshuo from the hostel (one-way). We paid to be taken all the way to Yangshuo and were promised that we would be. However, we were dropped off in XingPing, which is about 45 minutes away, without an explanation that we weren't in Yangshuo or explanation of how to get there. We ended up having to pay for our own bus ride to Yangshuo.

These types of mishaps only add color to one's travel experiences, so I don't begrudge that they happened; I only wish to warn those looking for a helpful and decent place to stay. The staff here may speak English, but they do not seem to have visitors' best interests at heart.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdiegirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

This is an excellent Hostel, There is a really friendly atmosphere, and the staff are really friendly and helpful and there English is really good, which is good, as my chinese is not so great!
The rooms were good value for money, very spacious and clean with hot water and a TV. You can store your luggage in a secure room if you are waiting for a night train. You can also book tours and bus tickets through the hostel. We experienced some problems with our bank at home and we were allowed to use the hostels phone and internet access until the problem was rectified. Huge help! cannot thank them enough for their kindness! Guilin is a fantastic city and a great introduction to China. The only negative thing I can think off is that it is a little noisy in the hostel, so bring ear plugs for when you need to sleep : )

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20somethingnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

The hostel does have a good vibe and the rooms aren't too bad (although the bathrooms in the dorm rooms definitely leave something to be desired...). Just wanted to correct the post about the staff giving "deals" on the tours. We didn't book at the airport, but turns out the price they were offering for the Li River Cruise was less than what the hostel gave as their "deal" price. Regardless, I wouldn't take the cruise. First, the "english" tour (a higher price) is the same as the chinese tour. So if you do want to do it, at least save some money there. You're on the same boat, they will have an english guide regardless and even if they don't the guides don't tell you hardly anything. Instead, take the bus or bus/raft combo to Yangshuo (if you're deciding, spend more time in Yangshuo than Guilin, such a better spot), it's cheaper/faster/worth it. Overall though, the hostel is fine with a good vibe.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoyalawya9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We stayed there from Sept 15 to 19, 2009. The location is OK, right in the city centre and rate is RMB90 for a twin bed, private ensuite room. We stayed in room 208 and the toilet is smelly (something wrong with the sewage system, I guess). Then moved to room 215 the next day. Room OK except for the squating toilet. Housekeeping service is bad. They didn't change the blanket for 2 days. I had to tell them to change on the 3rd day.

  • Liked — location and room rate
  • Disliked — housekeeping, cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cschan5123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

During our stay in Guilin we've checked this hotel too. Though the rooms are not very warm and we've chosen a more pricey alternative to stay in, we still think that there are several reasons to mention some good words about the place: first, the staff is
very hospitable and shows a real care and interest regarding the coming tourists (it starts from the polite "hello! welcome" and continues with the room presentation, starting from the cheapest to the more expensive and not vice versa), second the rooms,
being not big, they are very cosy and clean, third - they have quiet rooms with windows looking to the river (a terrific view and harmonious feeling :).

I really hope that the next edition of "Lonely Planet" will also have this youth hostel on the list.

  • Liked — hospitability and river views
  • Disliked — the rooms are still not warm enough for the cold winter days
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank breakphreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night and absolutely loved our room, mainly because it faced the river and had a window which went from top to bottom the entire front. The location was also very good - 5 minutes from the long-distance bus terminal and a leisurely 15 min walk to the city centre.

  • Liked — The River View
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ricky_rumour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Ron Inn
#4 of 619 in Guilin
126 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#9 of 619 in Guilin
1,145 reviews
Lakeside Inn
#8 of 619 in Guilin
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 619 in Guilin
816 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#7 of 619 in Guilin
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station

Property: Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station
Address: No.110-25 Zhongshan South Road, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing