We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wada Hostel(Guilin)(Great Value!)
US$13
US$9
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$11/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$74
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
18
18
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
18
8
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 48 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The staff members spoke some English which was good and quite helpful. The tourism desk at the lobby is very helpful and the lady there was really nice in advising where to go and how to get there. The rooms were alright. The only downside was that the room I stayed in was extremely noisy in the morning because it was next to a school, so at around 8am you can hear people talking on loudspeaker and lots of children yelling.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conieisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed at Elan for 5 nights!!! And no complaints!! Read the reviews of others who stayed here and booked it. When we reached Guilin, the cab driver told us that Elan is not a good hotel, for the same rate you can book other 4 stars hotel with big rooms! I got a bit worried thinking that the reviews I read could be wrong, but believe me, this is one of the best hotel rooms you can find in Guilin. Very clean and best of all the shower is awesome!! No complaints about the room and incredible $30 bucks only!! What more could you ask for??

Don't believe the cab drivers at all! They will take you to places where they get commissions! We checked in at Elan Inn, dropped off our luggage and the same cab driver took us to look at other hotels he mentioned thinking that he might be right that there are other hotels at the same rate with better rooms, but NO, totally not! Elan is still nice and contemporary!

The only drawback I would say is that there are no closet to hang your clothes. Which is not really necessary for me at least. Cause I travel with jeans and t-shirts which doesn't need to be hung. Cab ride is pretty cheap, it starts at 7 RMB. Aren't a lot of restaurants around but it was no biggie for us because we mostly went out to town to eat. Its only about a 5-10 minutes ride to the town. If you guys want good Western food, I suggest you guys go to River view Cafe near Elephant Nose Mountain which is close by. River view Cafe has really good breakfast, coffee, and great Pizza. Chilly beef pizza is really good and a must try.

Elan Inn, no complaints, will RECOMMEND EVERY ONE TO STAY THERE. 5 nights...only $150 CAD!! Incredible!! Hope they sustain the same cleanliness and price! Will definitely stay again if I go back to Guilin!!

Room Tip: Ask them to give you a room away from the streets. In the morning it might be a bit noise for light sleepers. For me, it was alright.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank li_patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This was a great place for the price and even twice the amount. Not sure it will maintain its low prices because it is new and this may be an introductory offer. It is most clean and well kept. Only downside is VERY few staff members speak English or any language other than a Chinese dialect.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I just returned from Guilin, China. The scenery was breathtaking...lush greenery, misty mountains and rich heritage. Unfortunately, I was totally disappointed by my 5 days stay in Elan Inn, Guilin. I booked a room via Expedia website and my Chinese friend even called up Elan Inn to re-confirm the booking plus airport transfer to the hotel in Mandarin.

We arrived at Guilin International airport at about 1.35pm and no staff from Elan Inn came to collect us. With the help of an airport staff, we rang up the hotel to check if someone was really going to collect us. They said, they would come for us but never did. On top of that, they lied that they had made a trip and it was our fault for being unable to locate us.

We finally made our trip back to the hotel using an airport shuttle bus. I had booked a Deluxe twin room and it seemed they had given that to someone. We had to settle for another twin room. The shower didn't work properly...water gushed out constantly. The towels were not clean. We didn't think of making a big fuss due to the language barrier.
Hotel staff spoke no English so I had to communicate in Mandarin with the help of my lonely planet Mandarin phrasebook.

On our second day, we were locked out of the room (the magnetic security card to the hotel room did not work properly). We were locked out of the room thrice throughout our holiday. Furthermore, they accused us of dirtying the towels and snarled RMB 25 for the towels. That was totally ridiculous!

The chambermaids did not even bother to clean our room. They did not change the bedsheets, towels nor clean the toilet etc. I was disgusted by their service!

On our final day, when we wanted to check out of the hotel...we requested for a taxi service to the airport. The staff called for one and quoted us RMB 80 to take us to another hotel (to catch the airport shuttle service to the airport). It would have only cost us RMB 10

The worst thing about this hotel is that the security guard and front desk counter staff worked hand in hand (especially non-Mandarin speaking guests) with taxi and another transport drivers (similar to that of a Tuk-tuk from Thailand and Baji from Indonesia) to rip off guests. We were harassed by this particular driver constantly throughout our stay at Elan Inn. I reported about him to the front desk staff but they did nothing. He constantly hung outside the hotel on a daily basis to bug us.

The hotel might be brand new and ten minutes drive away from the city centre but their service stinks. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone even if it is affordable and easily accessible to places. The front desk staff and security guard of Elan Inn are all conmen and women.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flower A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at Elan on our way through Guilin. The price was great; RMB218 for a room with a bath (I think it's called the POP room ?), but that may just be an introductory offer as the hotel just opened. It's walking distance from the train station (where you can catch buses up to LongJi Rice Terraces for about RMB40 each way- call 07737585655 or 13457317638 I think they only speak Chinese). Rooms were clean; free wired internet; no breakfast or restaurant on site. Could see some mountains from the 9th floor window.
The staff couldn't take our Chinese bank card- they said the machine had trouble so I should just go to an ATM and bring cash. I've had this happen before at Chinese hotels- maybe a ploy for them to avoid bank card fees? Who knows...
*One note- there is absolutely no privacy in the bathroom- the whole wall is plain glass so anyone in the room can see the bath, shower and toilet clearly. Fine for couples, but could be awkward if you're just traveling with friends or family.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank js96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews