We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic at best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Universal Guilin Hotel
Ranked #43 of 657 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

The location is the best thing this place has going for it. Other than that it's a bit depressing really. While our room overlooked one of the lakes, the windows were so dirty we couldn't really see much. It also overlooked the extremely busy bridge and access road and between the noise of traffic and awful and very loud singing from the function room we didn't get a lot of sleep.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Dubey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2015

great room view across the river with the locals going round in circles for their early morning swim. Very comfy room Breakfast ok. Only stayed a short time not the best breakfast on tour but still ok.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

Whilst not the height of luxury, this hotel had everything I needed for my one night stay: a comfortable bed (softer than most I slept in in China), aircon that worked effectively, and a shower with reasonable water pressure. The view from my room, at the rear of the hotel, was not attractive- but I didn't spend much time looking out on it!
The hotel's location is good: near to the river, and a two minute walk from the shops and bars of the pedestrian area.
WiFi was available in the lobby and the breakfast restaurant (I can't remember about the room).
Breakfast was OK, with both Chinese and Western choices available. There was even an omelette station, where your eggs could be cooked to order. Weirdly, the breakfast also included cheesecake...
I enjoyed my stay here, and would choose it again.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Blythspirit68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Well! We can't rave enough about this place because we got a fantastic suite after we had only booked a standard room. Huge comfy bed (the only soft one we slept on in China), spa bath, beautiful shower, lazy boy lounge suite, 2 toilets, dining area as well as office space with a big screen computer. Even the carpet was clean.
Hey, of course we were happy!
Our room overlooked the river which was very picturesque, especially at night with all the lights. We checked out to go on the Li River Cruise before returning the day after and after my partner said we loved the suite..we got it again! This stay was the highlight of our trip. Breakfast was ok too! Aircon not as cold as we would have liked but still ok.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Josephine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015

this hotel already past it's better days:

the good: it's location, literally a couple of minutes from the city centre, bars, restaurants and opposite the Li River; some rooms have an astonishing view of the river and mountains;

the bad: some rooms are worse than others; the breakfast is simple (if not basic); it's service is lazy (and uninterested); there is an always empty lobby bar (you have to request it's service at the lobby); the famnous rooms with a view are also the noisiest ones...

Stayed: August 2015
1  Thank Xueyan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

On the whole, the room was comfortable and clean, and I was able to get a good night's rest during my entire stay. I stayed 3 nights as part of a group. My room was located at front of the hotel facing the street and river with beautiful views of mountains in the distance which was nice. A room I saw on the opposite side of the hall had no view and was slightly smaller including a smaller bathroom though furnishing/decor was similar. Initially I was concerned about not having a non smoking room, and I did smell a bit of smoke in the hallway when we arrived, but the room did not have a noticeable odor of smoke or anything else for that matter. The television channel selection was highly limited with 1 or 2 English speaking channels. The carpets in the hallway and rooms are worn and dirty so avoid looking too closely. I was not able to get internet access in the room but others in my group were able to do so. I was forced to do my surfing in the lobby which doubles as the mosquito's dining room. Finally, the breakfast buffet was Chinese style, with a decent quality and selection. I especially liked the porridge and Chinese loose leaf tea. Having said that, I came with right frame of mind and expectations having accepted that I wasn't going to have an authentic Western style breakfast with bacon, eggs, juice, decent coffee and pancakes.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rainmanfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We only had one night here, but we were impressed with most of the facilities and service. The rooms were of adequate size, tea and free bottled water , plus good WiFi, clean and well presented. We unfortunately had noisy neighbour's, but I always take my ear plugs when I stay in any hotel.
I used the lobby toilets and they had not been cleaned recently, there was water and toilet paper on the floor, disappointing as the rest of the Hotel was well maintained.
At breakfast we were asked to order from a western menu of toast, eggs pastries, as the breakfast buffet was only Chinese, try some of the food as it is good, although soup, noodles and curries were not my thing in a morning, but I do recommend the steamed bread.

Room Tip: We had room 606, but always check your room before you except it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank heatherdawn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Grand Link Hotel Guilin
#19 of 657 in Guilin
145 reviews
Lakeside Inn
#9 of 657 in Guilin
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 657 in Guilin
177 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#7 of 657 in Guilin
1,238 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 657 in Guilin
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Guilin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Guilin Hotel

Address: No.1 Jiefang East Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Guilin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#23 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range: $36 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Universal Guilin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Universal Guilin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Hotel Guilin
Guilin Universal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing