We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with a great view over the river.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Universal Guilin Hotel
Ranked #36 of 644 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Shame we only stayed one night, best room so far on our tour.
Overlooked the river and the bridge.
Close to the old town, mostly pedestrianised, with lots of places to eat.
Breakfast was pretty good.
Only negative thing was having to reset the ac when coming back to the room as it seemed to lose the temp and on setting when taking the card key out.

Room Tip: Corner suite has a wonderful view, again higher floors are probably best to get away from traffic no...
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Universal Guilin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2016

Visited during month long trip to China. Not the best it worse hotel we stayed in. Only one night which was probably for the best. Breakfast for westerners was very poor. Supplied with a lovely lunch box for a cruise on the river li but this was supplied by the West Bank cafe.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel has a perfect location for a visit to Guilin, close to the river and the old town centre where all the restaurants are. The rooms are good and clean and every thing is at walking distance. Make sure you stroll along the riverbank in the evening, that's where it's all happening.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JanvDriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

room was comfy, but they could do with a refurb, there was some work going on so breakfast was on the top floor, which was ok, peoples apartments were very close and when you left everything was close, but you get a sense of how difrerently people live

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tracey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

This was the 4th hotel on our Wendy Wu tour of China, our flight was late and then we stopped for some food so by the time we arrived at the hotel it was late. No bar and no facilities open, it was 11 pm!. We did not go out at this time as we had no idea of location (given experience to date on this trip) so just had to go to our rooms, not an ideal situation given we had been travelling for hours and sitting around airports. We had breakfast early the next morning, which was poor and then we left, cannot say more!. In my view Wendy Wu need to provide better hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We stayed at this hotel only for one day as we were taking the boat to Yangshuo the next morning. This hotel is a smoking hotel and all the rooms smell of cigarette. We don't smoke so for us it was very unpleasant and not a very good experience. The only good thing about this hotel was the receptionist, he was very helpful and tried to find different room for us. We were not impressed with the breakfast either. Unfortunately we wont be recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACoop907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

This was our fourth hotel on our tour of China and by far the worst so far. The reception area was, as usual, a vast marble space - the 'face' of the hotel. However, the rooms told a different story. Ours smelt musty, the carpet was stained, the shower curtain had been left closed when wet, so had the usual damp, fusty smell about it and the bathroom as a whole was functional but not somewhere to spend much time relaxing! Another couple in our group had a window between their bedroom and bathroom with a blind for modesty. However, this was covered in black mould. Needless to say, they changed rooms but only with the help of our tour guide. There were no toiletries supplied other than a small piece of soap and a dispenser on the wall by the shower. This is the first hotel I think I have ever stayed, in which rooms are supplied with a box of condoms as standard.
Breakfast was a miserable affair of dishes which had been standing for too long and had congealed/gone cold. The show cooking corner appeared to be a do it yourself arrangement as all the ingredients for an omelette were there apart from the chef..
The saving grace of this hotel is its position. It overlooks the lake and is only a short walk from the pedestrianised shopping centre. We spent a pleasant morning walking through the park beside the lake, watching the various dance/tai chi groups.
Not a great hotel but saved somewhat by the city in which it's situated. There are plenty of other, better ones to choose from.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
1.4 km away
Sapphire Hotel
Sapphire Hotel
#38 of 644 in Guilin
123 reviews
0.7 km away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 644 in Guilin
987 reviews
1.0 km away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#8 of 644 in Guilin
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Jintone Guilin Grand Hotel
Jintone Guilin Grand Hotel
#57 of 644 in Guilin
76 reviews
0.7 km away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#9 of 644 in Guilin
151 reviews
1.5 km away
Guilin Bravo Hotel
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#11 of 644 in Guilin
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Guilin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Guilin Hotel

Address: No.1 Jiefang East Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Guilin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#22 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range: $46 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Universal Guilin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Universal Guilin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Hotel Guilin
Guilin Universal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing