We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveller rating
359
449
145
45
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
449
145
45
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews renmin square other hotels same complex bell tower muslim quarter terracotta warriors minute walk lovely room hotel is located front desk staff breakfast buffet taxi driver huge bed sofitel legend comfortable stay western choices comfortable hotel
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2018

I stayed here on a solo trip and found the service to be really good. The front desk staff was happy to provide recommendations for restaurants and even gave me very detailed directions on how to get there via public transport. I found the breakfast at the hotel to be really good- eggs made to order, fresh fruit, good selection of asian and western foods to choose from. Another perk is that you are able to use the facilities at the Sofitel next-door. They have a very nice fitness facility and indoor pool that you're free to use even though you're not sleeping there. Great value!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MCat194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Dear MCat194,

Thank you for staying at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square and taking the time to share your experience with us.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you've enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your recognition, especially to our staff, motivates us greatly to do it even better, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Ivy Wang
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2017

The hotel is nice but and value for money. However, location is quite remote and transportation is not convenient. Taxis usually stop at the main entrance but you still have to walk about 3 minutes to the hotel.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2017

We here for two nights. We had 2 rooms, one for my husband and myself and the other for our daughter. The bed was the biggest bed I had ever seem. The room was great. There was plenty of room for my husband and myself. The breakfast was great and location was brilliant.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Vagoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, General Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2017

Dear Vagoopy,

Thank you for staying at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square and taking the time to share your experience with us.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you and your family find your recent stay enjoyable. Your recognition motivates us greatly to do it even better, thank you.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudy Rodas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2017

A deposit was made on check with my credit card. On check out the reception promised the 3000 rembi would be refunded back to my credit card. It is now 3 months yet no refund. I wrote to the hotel, it kept on claiming that they have refunded the deposit but no credit appears on my bankcard.

Room tip: Do not provide credit card as deposit but instead use cash and insist on returning cash on check out.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, General Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2017

Dear Andrew Y,

Thank you for providing us with the gift of feedback.

Thank you for bringing this issue to my attention. And I've read all the email communications between you and our Front Office team.

As far as I understand, we charged RMB3000 deposit for your group of 8 rooms who stayed with us from Sept 3rd to 5th. It is a common practice in hotels in China to collect deposit so that guests can charge their hotel expenses to room and settle all together upon check-out. When you checked out on Sept 5th, we DID cancel your deposit and we attached the transaction record in our first reply to you.

On Nov 11th we received your emails in which you showed your enquiry on the deposit and the amount of AUD$237.79. In the reply we attached the transaction record of deposit cancellation. We realized that we'd made a mistake on the AUD$237.79 and showed our sincere apology for it, and we started the refund of AUD$237.79 immediately.

The refund process involved two banks in two different countries, and in fact once we submit the refund request to the bank, we have little control on the process. But of course this is an urgent issue and thus we checked with the bank on the process on daily basis.

The refund which was processed by Chinese side was completed on Nov 21, and we also attached the document that Bank of China sent to us in our reply to you.

The whole issue began with our mistake on the AUD237.79, and once again, we are sorry for our mistake. However, when we received your email in mid-Nov, we've taken active actions to follow it up. We will definitely learn from our mistake and strengthen the training to our staff.

Yours sincerely,
Rudy Rodas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2017

Stayed for two nights. The room seemed big and the lobby was huge with nice sitting area. The breakfast gave a big selection with both Asian and Western food to choose from in buffet. Location was good, near bell tower. No complaints.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mcmusgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, General Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2017

Dear mcmusgro,

Thank you for staying at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square and taking the time to share your experience with us.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you find your recent stay enjoyable. Your recognition motivates us greatly to do it even better, thank you.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudy Rodas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews