We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Ranked #3 of 2,532 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We just spent a fantastic 3 days in Xi'an and enjoyed our stay at the Shangri-La Hotel. We are Australians who now live permanently in China, so we make a point to enjoy 5 star treatment when we travel.

This is a lovely hotel facility. The staff are welcoming and provide outstanding service at all times. The rooms are very good, the food is outstanding, and we enjoyed some fantastic international wines. We particularly enjoyed an evening in the Thai restaurant.

We are quite fussy when it comes to breakfast. The buffet at Shangri-La was excellent and something to look forward to.

While getting a good massage in China is easy, I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed my massage at the spa center as having that extra bit of luxury and relaxation than I normally get to experience week to week in our home city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deniese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    492
    79
    9
    8
See reviews for
134
199
45
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

wonderful property. the best chain i've ever stayed at. the hotels are consistently wonderful. i was in x'ian for three days. loved the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonTexasLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Overall, a nice hotel; spectacular lobby, great facilities, and nice function rooms. Suites are okay, but a bit bland for a Shangri-La. The main issue was the appalling lobby staff. The hotel seemed to think that "more is better" when in fact few of the staff could respond to basic questions. Management really needs to focus on quality rather than quantity.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldlyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay there while visiting the local treasures. Staff remembered my name when I walked in the door, and that is always a nice treat. Buffet offers a variety of choices, but took me a little to find the salad bar, even though it is right when you walk in the restaurant. Because you are being steered to your table, you don’t look for it, and it is not near all of the rest of the food. Thai restaurant on site is also very good and hot pot buffet quite enjoyable as well. Was a little disappointed that the pool was not open and it was not referenced anywhere. Still not used to all of the smoking everywhere, and found it disturbing in the lobby and lobby bar- even when directed to the non-smoking area… Also found the couch in the room to be a little worn despite the hotel being “new.” But the staff tremendous

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel2618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is truly a paradise of a hotel. Staff at this hotels is so nice and you feel so pampered from the time you step inside the lobby. Every single person we interacted with had a smile on their face and they made us feel welcomed. Lobby is one of the most elegant, lobby bar is excellent, service everywhere is impeccable. Rooms are nice. They even had a humidifier in the room, in case you feel the air is too dry from the heater being on during cold weather. Turn down included spreading a small towel on the floor by the bed and laying your slippers right there. There was no limit to the pampering they subject you here. Very easy to get spoiled staying at this place. After you have stayed at this hotel it will be very difficult to like any other. This is not a five star hotel. It is at least a seven or eight star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fromkc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed in the Shangri-La after having tried many other different 5 star international hotels in Xian. This Shangri-la is relatively new and it shows (although there are a bunch of other new international hotels that will be opening in 2012). Compared to the other international chains that I've stayed at, the Shangri-la is very nice and well appointed - with nice hardware and software that one would expect of a Shangri-la in any of the major cities around China.

Only gripe might be that it charges a premium of roughly 20-30% over the other international hotels that I've stayed at in Xian, so you get more but you also pay more for it. Given that the other hotels were clean and functional and had decent locations, the choice of the Shangri-la would be heavily influenced by whether you want to pay the premium for the newer hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

This hotel is all you'd expect from a Shangri-la, it's a very comfortable respite in Xi'an. A colleague checked out the new Crowne Plaza and said that they were roughly similar in level with some things being better at one vs. the other.

I'd recommend the Thai restaurant. The expansive breakfast buffet is better than you might imagine.

While this location isn't close to the major tourist sites, it is fine for business with big rooms, terrific service and generous facilities. If you're coming only for the sights, you may want to consider the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
6.5 km away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,532 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
7.8 km away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,532 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
6.6 km away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
6.7 km away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
6.6 km away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#35 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Xian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-la, Xian is located in the prestigious financial and shopping district of the Gao Xin Hi-tech Development Zooe,5 minutes walking distance to the Keji Road Station of Metro Line 3. Hotel enjoys easy access to Xian's leading business, entertainment and shopping destinations. A prime residence for both busniess and leisure travelers, the hotel is just 30 minutes drive from Xian International Airport and 45 minutes from the world-famous Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum. Hotel provides Complimentary shuttle bus service for all in-house paying guests on Weekend and public holiday. The hotel comprises 395 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, all with floor-to-ceiling glass windows and stunning views of the landscaped gardens or the city. At 57 square meters, the spacious Grand Premier rooms are the largest guestrooms in Xian for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian China/Shaanxi
Shangri La Hotel Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing