We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Ranked #4 of 2,559 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Entering the Shangri-La is breathtakingly beautiful in an expansive lobby tastefully decorated. There are attendants everywhere to greet you and assist you in any way possible. I recommend you stay on the Horizon Club floor. Check-in is available in the Horizon Club Lounge complete with refreshments and snacks. Happy hour is available daily between 5 and 7 p.m. offering appetizers, wine, and premium liquors.

The Horizon Club rooms are large containing a nice sitting area. The beds are comfortable, bathrooms are beautiful, and the room decor is rich looking with dark wood built-ins. Complimentary internet is available throughout the hotel, both wifi and ethernet in the rooms. The ethernet speed is very fast.

There are three dining venues, and all of them are stellar. We greatly enjoyed their buffet for both breakfast and lunch consisting of food offerings from both east and west. Their Thai restaurant is incredible as is the Chinese restaurant. Both are very upscale and the menus are thick as a book complete with pictures of various dishes.

Morning coffee was promptly served to our room, although I recommend reminding the telephone operator of the coffee order when receiving your wake-up call. The coffee arrives much quicker that way.

The staff is friendly, courteous, and conveys a genuine desire to please. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce4730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    497
    79
    9
    10
See reviews for
144
209
48
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Breathtakingly beautiful hotel with a wonderful friendly welcoming atmosphere for their guests. We stayed in a standard room and while it was not as up market as the standard room in the previous hotel we had stayed in it certainly met all our needs. The buffet breakfast was something out of this world and was still being talked about days later by those on our trip. We only stayed one night and wish we could have stayed longer. We will return to this hotel when next visiting Xi'an.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed one night after a long day of traveling from Shanghai and the Terra Cotta Warriors. We were blown over how beautiful this Hotel was! We stayed on the Club Level and were upgraded to a Suite!! Everything was perfect at this Hotel~wish we would of had more time here to enjoy the Lobby, Spa, Restaurants etc. The Staff was wonderful and so helpful~~Would highly recommend.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KMR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Wonderful hotel with charming staff and a gorgeous lobby lounge and bar that we struggled to leave! Everyone tried their utmost to make our stay welcoming and we had a lovely room and excellent shower/bathroom. The bed gave us the most restful sleep and was so welcoming after a busy day sightseeing. The buffet breakfast, lunch and evening meal were all delicious with an excellent choice offered and more than you could possibly eat. We were spoilt!
This hotel is not within the ancient city walls so I would advise a taxi ( which are cheap) and a card from the hotel with the address written on it in Chinese to give taxi driver.
Although most people come to Xian for the nearby Terracotta warriors , which are an amazing sight, Xian does have its own gems like the wall and Wild Goose Pagoda to name only two.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed that the Shangri-la for 2 nights early April. The hotel is not located within the walls of Xi'an city but it has great service from reception, house keeping to the restaurant staff. We have 2 small kids, ages 6 and 2 with us and after a long day of sight seeing, the kids were treated with great attention and care when dining at one of the restaurants. It was a wonderful treat as the kids were getting very cranky and restless after an exhausting day. While waiting for our food to come, they brought some cookies for the kids, and with permission at the end of the meal, they brought out ice creams for them. I applaud them for being observant. The rooms are comfortable and cozy. It lives up to the Shangri-La name brand.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deGuzmanNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We just spent a fantastic 3 days in Xi'an and enjoyed our stay at the Shangri-La Hotel. We are Australians who now live permanently in China, so we make a point to enjoy 5 star treatment when we travel.

This is a lovely hotel facility. The staff are welcoming and provide outstanding service at all times. The rooms are very good, the food is outstanding, and we enjoyed some fantastic international wines. We particularly enjoyed an evening in the Thai restaurant.

We are quite fussy when it comes to breakfast. The buffet at Shangri-La was excellent and something to look forward to.

While getting a good massage in China is easy, I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed my massage at the spa center as having that extra bit of luxury and relaxation than I normally get to experience week to week in our home city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deniese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

wonderful property. the best chain i've ever stayed at. the hotels are consistently wonderful. i was in x'ian for three days. loved the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonTexasLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
7.0 km away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,559 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
7.9 km away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,559 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
6.4 km away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,559 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
7.2 km away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,559 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
6.6 km away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#39 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Xian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-la, Xian is located in the prestigious financial and shopping district of the Gao Xin Hi-tech Development Zooe,5 minutes walking distance to the Keji Road Station of Metro Line 3. Hotel enjoys easy access to Xian's leading business, entertainment and shopping destinations. A prime residence for both busniess and leisure travelers, the hotel is just 30 minutes drive from Xian International Airport and 45 minutes from the world-famous Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum. Hotel provides Complimentary shuttle bus service for all in-house paying guests on Weekend and public holiday. The hotel comprises 395 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, all with floor-to-ceiling glass windows and stunning views of the landscaped gardens or the city. At 57 square meters, the spacious Grand Premier rooms are the largest guestrooms in Xian for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian China/Shaanxi
Shangri La Hotel Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing