We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
69
82
15
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
82
15
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai restaurant walking street place an order breakfast spread great breakfast buffet metro station entire stay taxi driver last stop kunming city private car yunnan province would definitely stay here again room size is lovely hotel cigarette smoke two nights
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 178 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2018

It's located about 5min walk midway from Dongfeng Square or Tuodong stadium subway. Very nice and modern hotel. Room is clean and comfortable bed and pillows. Polite staff which provide good service. Good breakfast also. Only downside is the surrounding are not very bustling like Nanping Street. But would still recommend.

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superyoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2018

I stayed there for 3 days, I have never experienced such excellent front desk staff, in particularly one female staff who helped with translation in place where English not common , they even spoke to my next destination to make sure someone from that hotel pick me up….5 star service

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2018

This hotel charges about 40% more than the discount hotel sites will charge, so don't just show up. Because it was so difficult to get online we were stuck paying about 40% more and having to buy our breakfast. The rooms are fine. Staff was pleasant but we needed to use translator apps to communicate. The only "attraction" near this hotel appears to be the Yunnan Art gallery....good luck finding it....the map apps all show different locations.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you want a view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crestone2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018

We stayed three nights for stopover to Lijiang. The staff is friendly and try their best to fulfill what did guest needs. The room is clean and well-facilitated. Only 15 mins walk to the City central which is very convenience.

One thing i want to share, DONT take the taxi which parked inside the hotel parking slot. On departure day, we asked the bellman help us to get a taxi to airport. We get on the taxi (the taxi parked inside the hotel parking slot). When the ride started, the taxi driver tried to ask for extra charge for his return. We stopped him and then get off the taxi. The bellman then helped us to call another taxi by apps.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lizhaz2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BankHotel-Kunming, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Dear lizhaz2017,

Thank you for your review on TA. Delighted to hear that your overall staying experience was a positive one! Your constructive feedback about taxi issue has been shared and communicated with our concierge team. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you once again for your stay and I hope your next visit to Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre is just around the corner!

Warmest, PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2018

Most travellers to Yunnan use Kunming as a brief stopover for a few days, and this hotel makes for a comfortable 'decompression chamber' between your home city and the wilds of rural Yunnan. While slightly generic (it is an international chain after all), it offers comfort, cleanliness and an excellent central location for forays around the city. Most of the staff doesn't speak English, but you'll always find someone at the front desk who does. It's got a decent fitness centre, and a pool which is good for swimming laps and largely empty. The breakfast spread is excellent too, but doesn't come cheap at ¥88 per person.

Room Tip: Insist on a non-smoking floor, as Chinese smokers are ubiquitous and the smells seep through walls.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MutePlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BankHotel-Kunming, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Dear MutePlanet,

Thank you for your stay and spending time to write us review on TA.

It is indeed our accomplishment to be able to make your stay most memorable. Our perfect location is indeed conveniently located and it is such a breeze traveling around must-see attractions. Very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations.

It would be our greatest pleasure to have a chance to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest, PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews