We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Hotel - FORGET IT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #46 of 2,446 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Calling this a 5 star hotel is ridiculous. The hotel is tired and average. Their a/c still doesn't work. If you're traveling during the warm season, you're going to be pretty uncomfortable. The only decent think is the hotel's location and decent breakfast.

Stayed: May 2011
1  Thank William-NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

I visited Metro Grandpark, Suzhou and loved the hotel and expected Hangzhou hotel to be as good as their Suzhou one. And, totally disappointed. They have horrible service and rooms. Gloomy place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truedreamzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The good:
- Early check-in possible.
- Late checkout possible without payment.

The bad:
- Old rooms.
- Extremely bad concierge service.

Together with my wife and our 20 month old daughter I stayed at Grand Metro Park Hotel for one night.

As several reviewers has written before there is nothing 5 stars about this hotel. At its best it just barely swings by 3 stars. And that’s just because of the pool which was decent.

Checking in was no problem and we could have the room already at 10 a.m. However they did demand a deposit of 150% of the total price for the complete stay.

The room was not particular good. They bare the signs of having been used for a long time without renovation.

Our real irritation with the hotel began when we need them to help us with some small things (which you would imagine a 5 stars hotel could do without problems and complains). We went from Shanghai by train and had return tickets. The return trip was however a bit late in the evening and we wanted to change our departure time. We asked the concierge if this was possible and was told that they did not know, but we should go by the train station. They did not suggest that they could call and ask for us. I know that bad service is the epitome of China but it shouldn’t be at a hotel claiming to be 5 stars.

We also asked them if they could post some postcards for us. We were told that we needed to put another 8 RMB stamp on each postcard. That was a bit hard for us to believe so we went by the post office and was told that there was sufficient postage on the postcards.

In the evening we wanted to go to a special restaurant (we had the address but not written in Chinese). So we asked the concierge if they could please tell the taxi driver where to go. After the guy had conferred with 4 other colleagues we were told that the restaurant did not exist and the name was just the name of the area. But they could recommend other restaurants in the area. In the end we decided to find the restaurant ourselves, which we did without any problems.

Would we go back to this hotel – definitely not.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mjallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

The Grand Metropark in Hanghzhou is a bright and friendly, comfortable hotel. It is a quarter's walk away from the beautiful West Lake of Hangzhou, situated very central. No problems to find taxis, they stop in front of the hotel’s main door. You just need to ask the concierge to write / or explain in Chinese where you want to go, otherwise there is no way to communicate with the driver. The reception is very helpful. The breakfast and food & beverage service must be great if you like Chinese food, if you prefer Western food I would rank it average.
The only negative point is the sports and recreation service. There is a pool on the roof top but it is totally neglegted as well as the fitness center. An employee is literally sleeping up there and that is really all he does. No service, no possiblity to enjoy yourself up there. The water quality must at least be all right since I didn't suffer from any allergic disease after swimming there.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaEmmanuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We stayed here on a guided tour of China for one night. The hotel is nice although I can't speak much about the area as we were in and out pretty quickly. The room was comfortable although the bed was very hard. I normally prefer a hard mattress but in this instance I was somewhat uncomfortable.

The breakfast buffet was good and the hotel was clean and in good condition. Nothing too extraordinary but nothing to seriously complain about. For what we needed it served its purpose.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelRinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Hi, my wife and I just spent Tomb Cleaning weekend in HangZhou. The hotel is close to the West Lake - about 3 blocks away. That is the only positive. The rooms are so-so. The breakfast buffet is also so-so. Check-in was absolute chaos -- not organized at all. No English speaking TV stations - none (except for CCTV#). No AC! The bed was as hard as a saltine cracker - no Westin or Sofitel that's for sure. The concierge spoke no or little English. The price of room maybe ok, but if you are use to Western standards, stay away from this hotel. PS. Be careful with opening the windows if you have a baby or small child. An accident waiting to happen!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VolinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Stayed here for two nights in November 2008!

It's not a bad hotel, although it has classic / old furniture, but overall was clean!

A super large bed, and very confortable, free internet and the location too, make this hotel a good choice!

Negative aspects: very small bathroom, and the staff which was very young and abusive! They wanted tips at all costs! Happened to me two times with different employees!

But yes, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Johnny_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Huachen International Hotel
#31 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
330 reviews
Landison Plaza Hotel
#24 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
231 reviews
Merchant Marco Hotel
#44 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#5 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
789 reviews
Zhongshan International Hotel
#723 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou

Address: No.2 Pinghai Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
#20 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#44 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: $83 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropark Hangzhou
Hangzhou Grand Metropark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing