We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,467)
Filter reviews
1,467 results
Traveller rating
543
655
195
51
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
655
195
51
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree coffeethe busnishiki marketgreen teafirst floorfamily martsubway stationfresco supermarketminute walktriple roomthe ground floorjapanese standardshotel lobbywell located hotelthe main shopping areakarasuma linebudget hotel
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 1,467 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2016

This Hotel is located near metro station and near the center of the city. There are good connection with buses, The room was clean and nice but small, but in Japan they are all small. The breakfast is only eastern so we didn't make it, but the hotel offers coffee and espresso free.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alfredø Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Dear sir or madam

Thank you for staying with us during your Kyoto stay. We are so glad to see your review.
There are many sightseeing places nearby hotel. So , you could go there easily we think.
And, we apologize the room wasn’t match you. Rooms in Japan are smaller than eastern rooms. It depends on Japanese lifestyle. We are smaller than other countries people. So, the guest feels like small in Japan.
Lastly, thank you for your valuable comment. We look forward to see you again if you possible.

Hotel Mystays Kyotoshijo Eri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2016

About 5 minutes walk from Shijo metro station and 15 minutes to the tourist streets this is a good location. We had a free upgrade to a comfortable large twin room. Clean with a good shower. Wifi was good in the room and the reception area. There was free coffee from a machine until 8pm. Staff were friendly, spoke reasonable English and were very helpful when a friend lost his passport. There were cafes, restaurants and convenience stores nearby. Also down the road is the Renden line station for the train to Arayashima.

Room Tip: you have to wait a long time for lifts at busy times
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rod c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Dear sir or madam

Thank you for staying with us during your Kyoto stay. We are so glad to you had a good time in our hotel and to see your review.
And we appreciate your compliment about our service. We owe it to our customer's support. It’s really difficult to find your friend’s passport. Because it's not your country.
If you have trouble in Japan, most of Japanese will help you. So, feel to free ask us.

Thank you for your valuable comment. We look forward to see you again if you possible.

Hotel Mystays Kyotoshijo Eri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2016

stayed here in July wit 12 family members our room was of a decent size and very clean.
Staff were friendly and helpfull.
We stayed for 10 days then went to Lake Biwa for 3 days we returned for 1 night before going home.while we were gone we were allowed to leave our cases in the lobby until we returned.
The hotel itself is in a great position for getting about on foot or by train /bus.
The free coffee on the second floor was great.
would recomend this hotel to anyone as a base.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Dear sir or madam

Thank you for staying with us during your Kyoto stay. We are so glad to you liked our service.
Thank you for your compliment. We owe it to our customer's support.
The free coffee and green tea milk are loved many guests. If you have a chance to visit again here, please try again!
Lastly, thank you for your valuable comment. We look forward to see you again.

Hotel Mystays Kyotoshijo Eri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2016

I came back for a stay in the city. Everything was fine.

Service continued to be efficient. The room was clean.

The hotel is on Shijo. It is close to the shopping areas and temples which I planned to visit. Compared to the JR station, I think it is a more interesting area.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coconuttreeandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Dear sir or madam
Dear sir or madam

Thank you for staying with us during your Kyoto stay. We are so glad to you returned your home safety and see your review.
There are many places for sightseeing nearby our hotel. So, you could visit there easily we think. JR Kyoto station area is accessible. Compared to JR Kyoto station, Shijo area can go shopping, eat etc. many things can do. So, Kyoto people are the basis of their livelihood.
Lastly,thank you for your valuable comment. We look forward to see you again if you possible.

Hotel Mystays Kyotoshijo Eri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2016

Room category: Standard Queen Room.
I didn't know a hotel room could even be built so small ! And no, this is not a "Japanese thing" as none of the other hotels we stayed at were anything like this, and we stayed at other business hotels.

Our room was so tiny that we had to have the staff remove some furniture AND rotate the bed to even have enough room to set our two suitcases on the floor. Even then, one of them had to be in the walk way requiring us to step over it. Absurd!

The bathroom followed suit. There was almost no space to set anything on or hang towels.

And the closet...well, there was no closet. There were 2 hooks on the wall in the entrance to the room. We got creative by hanging hangers from the return air grill (see picture).

The room was also dirty. When we moved the bed to make space to bring our second suitcase into the room (again, just an absurd thing to have to do), it was clear from the dirty carpeting that it had not been moved to clean under it in a very long time. There was also a lot of dust collected on the ceiling clearly coming from the air conditioning. The PA speaker was coated in dust, as was the emergency light.

The staff was decent though, with a few people standing out as very good. They did what they could to make space in the room, but they said that is just the size of their rooms. I did not ask them to clean the ceiling as I didn't notice it until after we "unpacked", and I know it would have meant just covering everything below in that dust and dirt.

The location was ok, but knowing then what we know now I would have stayed more towards Gion. The area Mystays is in is a bit sad, and is a far walk from anything other than a very few nearby restaurants, so we had to take a bus most of the time. If you do stay here, get the all day bus passes from the front desk as you'll need them.

One positive thing was the restaurant downstairs. We ate there twice for the lunch buffet. The first time was absolutely wonderful. So many things to choose from, and all very good. The second time was also good, but we quickly found out the menu is the same every day. Just go once.

Overall, I would definitely NOT stay here again or recommend it to anyone unless they a) are travelling alone, b) will only be there one night, c) don't have any luggage, and d) have some particular need to be in this neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arjay1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, Front staff Akiyuki Kaneko at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Dear sir or madam,

Thank you for your stay at Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shijo.

We apologize about the size of the room as it was not enough for you.
We also deeply apologize for cleaning condition in your room.
We usually clean carpet under the bed and dust in the room on a regular basis, but the frequency of cleaning might be too low. Therefore, we would set it higher than current one.

We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our restaurant. We will let our restaurant staff about it.

We will try to improve the things that you said so that you may enjoy more at our hotel.
We hope to see you again when you return to Kyoto to stay at our hotel.

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews