We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we chose this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #13 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Read all the reviews of this and all other hotels we considered, then chose this one.
Very pleased we did, because:
-Huge rooms which are almost unknown in Japan
-Thoughtful room set up
-Room was exactly like the photos, no false advertising
-Bathroom was amazing, separate shower room and bath, bath filled up in 2 mins flat, shower was fantastic
-Everything on our doorstep - trains, buses, department stores
-SOOO quiet
-really comfortable bed
-great housekeeping

Room for improvement:
-the rooms are a little dated and in need of refurbishment to match them to the rest of the experience

If we come back, will be staying there again without doubt. Too convenient and comfortable not to.

Room Tip: There are 2 views: Kyoto tower or south of the city. If the view really matters, ask for Kyoto tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fandangoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 3,146 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2017

Perfectly located right above the Kyoto station. Rooms were large and clean.

But the clincher for me was the amazing service! Granvia's concierge helped us book all our restaurants in Kyoto and even offered suggestions when the restaurants we wanted to book were full. Upon arrival, full details of our restaurant reservations were provided in both English and Japanese.

I left my passport holder (containing cash) in the room and they made arrangements to send it to a friend who was staying in Osaka. Impeccable and very impressive!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank whataboutkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed the city only two days and only one night at the hotel, wish we stayed longer. It offers great views of the Kyoto Tower and it has excellent facilities and very conveniently located in Kyoto station

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

We traveled from Yokohama on the Bullet Train and needed a central Hotel for our Kyoto experience. First class hotel with access to trains, buses, cabs and subway. Excellent staff with exceptionally clean rooms.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Gordon993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We selected Granvia on the advice of our Manila TA as a base to experience Kyoto Fall Colors. Our three night stay was perfect in all respects. Although Granvia is located right smack dab in the heart of Kyoto Train Station as Seniors we opted to experience the fall colors via a private car.. The was promptly and efficiently organized by the Concierge Desk.( New Sedan with jolly and helpful English speaking driver). Several shopping arcades and Isetan Dept Store are adjacent to Granvia. Upon check out the Concierge organized a Private Car to our next hotel in nearby Osaka.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

the hotel is nice but you're paying up for the location. the location is basically inside kyoto station. it's absurdly easy to get to places. there is no contest. the hotel itself is pretty nice too. japanese hospitality is unrivaled.

the gym was sparse but adequate. not the nicest one i've ever been to

the showers are great. water pressure was perfect. there is a weird gap between the glass walls of the shower stall in the bathroom. that was a weird design choice since the later basically spills everywhere through that gap.

anyway i would definitely stay here again. it is a bit on the expensive side.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We were a party of three ie my husband , my father and i travelled to Kyoto via Osaka in early November 5th.
As our flights arrived very early in the morning in Osaka we were already in Kyoto by 11am. That was the only uncomfortable part of the whole experience as check-in was not till 3pm. Having boarded a plane late at night and not being able to sleep much we were all quite tired but after registration which was not too long we still had to wait till 3pm to check-into our room.
The hotel room itself did not disappoint at all. We had booked for a triple room and we were truly amazed by the size despite all the news one hears about the size of hotel rooms in Japan. It was very spacious. We were all in single beds which were not the regulation 90cm but at least 1m width. The space between the foot of the beds to the opposite wall was at least 2 m if not slightly more.THe mattress were comfortable ,neither too soft nor hard. One was provided with 2 pillows ie one soft and one harder.
I was apprehensive about the fact that there was not standing shower as i am disabled and have difficulty in climbing into a bathtub I requested for a shower stool. Most times I have to remind at check-in about my request but this time the stool was already in the bathroom. I am happy to report that although there was not space to place the stool to sit and shower out of the tub, one can place the stool in the bathtub and just sit on it without having to climb into the tub>
Hotel location as mention in all previous reviews is excellent being next too or located in the huge Kyoto train station which also has a 7storey Isetan Department store and a few other connecting smaller malls underground. There is no problem about food. Besides the hotel restaurants there are tons located in the station. Outside there are 2 taxi queues, one for local japanese speaking taxi drivers and one for English speaking tax drivers. Across the road is the Kyoto Tower with a Mcdonals ( if one misses the Mcdonald's breakfast)
Condition of room was satisfactory. Not new but neither did it look worn out . Housekeeping was tidy and no smells. Despite being placed on a smoking floor I did not smell any smoke.
Certainly I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit Kyoto.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chooihoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#17 of 405 in Kyoto
934 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#33 of 405 in Kyoto
931 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#22 of 405 in Kyoto
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 405 in Kyoto
634 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#9 of 405 in Kyoto
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $179 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing