We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
27
38
13
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
38
13
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews privacy curtains free breakfast tea and coffee dorm hostel geisha gion beds floor wifi toilet dryer
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 82 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile

A yado gion
Lovely hostel in centre of Gion. Fantastic value. Breakfast ( toast and coffee ) , wifi are included in the piece. Staff are super helpful and friendly. there is a great sitting room/common area upstairs which is great to to chill

Date of stay: June 2017
Thank bourkecm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2017

People said a lot of good things about this place and they are all true.

I just want to tell a story about a fellow traveler. She arrived really early from a different city on the night bus. We saw her in the common room on 5th floor (the hostel rooms are on 3rd floor and thank God there is an elevator) with her hair wet from a recent shower. The staff was nice enough to let her use the shower and put her things in the common room and hang out here before she checked in.

This is almost unheard of! I went back to my hostel in Tokyo 3 times before the check in time and they turned me away 3 times! We also saw some bags in the common room that are chained to some furniture and locked. Came to find out they belonged to guests who left but would be returning. This hostel is unbelievably nice to their guests! How can you not stay here?

Within the hostel, things are nice, clean and organized. On the stairs and in the hallways outside in the building is a different story. Although I am not sure if the hostel has control over those areas.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank asian2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2017

A-yado Gion is in such a great location. It is on a quiet street close to the beautiful Gion area, and is a few minutes away from some of the busier streets of Kyoto. The staff was super friendly and told me which places I should visit over my three-day stay. Their common room was a great place to meet new people, and even had beer and snacks to purchase (at a very affordable price), to save me from having to walk to the shops. Overall I had a very pleasant stay.

Room tip: The shared dorm was fine. There are curtains around the beds for extra privacy.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank conradf473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2017

This place is truly meant for backpackers. Located at Gion, it is a little difficult to get here if you dont have google maps.
The bunk beds are huge, the washrooms are clean and well-equipped. They vaccum the area every morning at 10 am. You can wash your clothes for free.
The biggest highlight is the cafeteria at this hostel. It is so well stocked. they have everything from noodles, water, juices, beer, chips, snacks everything...they all have a cost and you just need to put the money into a small box (so trustworthy).
They offer free bread and coffee to their guests as breakfast.
The owners are extremely sweet and warm. they go out of their way to help you out in terms of places to see and moving around.
So, if you are on a low budget (in terms of accommodation) you should definitely stay here.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Noopur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

Central and very close to public transportation at Gion area / Kyoto. Dorm rooms are enough large. Clean. Has social area and small kitchen. Free tea & coffea and very simple breakfast ( bread+margarine). Friendly and helpful staff. Recommended.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank BenGokhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews