We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto
Ranked #27 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
new york, ny
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great location and convenient hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

I booked my trip to Japan very last minute. 3 weeks before my arrival to kyoto I booked this hotel at 250/night, much more than the average but it was because i happened to be going during peak season during cherry blossom season.

The rooms are by clean, small, but big enough for 2. The bathroom provided all the amenities you could think of. Was so impressed with how clean and new the hotel was. The only complaint we had was the pillows and beds were not comfortable. My friend and I both did not sleep well.

Take the 5 bus from the train station or pay 12-15 used for a cab. We had read that the hotel was in a great location which is why I booked it, but it was truly amazing. I regret only staying i kyoto for 2 nights. You can take the bus right across the street to several shrines, walk to Gino and other shrines... A huge outdoor market with tons of stores, boutiques, and an interesting food market are down the alley.

Highly recommend this hotel for its great location. Wifi is only in the lobby, would be awesome if they offered it in the rooms as well.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jadewin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    245
    46
    11
    5
See reviews for
95
239
47
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location, next to a huge market and shopping centre, and not far from restaurants, bars, temples, Gion etc. The rooms were small but comfortable and modern. Free wifi in the lobby. My only complaint is the breakfast - it is terrible. Go to one of the coffee shops just up the road instead.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Simple hotel - very new and nice rooms, tiny size as expected in Japan - but the location was amazing and made our stay in Kyoto so special!

5 Mins walk to Gion (Geisha district), Nishiki Market and the beautiful alleys of Pontocho nightlife area.

Will definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone traveling to Kyoto as a tourist.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank camelshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

You do not have to look for another hotel option in Kyoto unless you fancy a posh room and facilities. Our room was big enough for two, great shower, free internet, nice real coffee (not instant) complimentary, and comfy bed with a great doona. The location was fantastic, only a short walk to shopping malls, supermarket, convenience stores, restaurants, and public transports.
The only inconvenience we experienced was laundry. The hotel does not have a self laundry facility, the closest coin laundry from the hotel was about 20 min walk each way. We recommend you have enough clean clothes for your stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TAKLAYTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This may the best hotel we stay during Japan trip this time.
The location just not far from the shopping centre and all the restaurant. you can take the bus to anywhere of kyoto traditional attraction just in front street of the hotel.
Opposite of the hotel, you can find some grocery store ( quite complete) croissant store and a lot of other stores near by.
You can just walk to the some spot if you like it.
the hotel itself have very comfortable room with all basic amenities provided.
i like this hotel, and it is not expensive for japan standard

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limwiehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The Best Western Kyoto is an AMAZING deal. Great location, great service, great price, great amenities... I really cannot recommend this hotel enough.

- The staff are very polite and speak English well. They have several maps for you to you use, and as a bonus they are written in both Japanese and English (all you have to do is show the location to someone at the information at the train station and they will tell you how to get there ASAP).

- The rooms were very clean and very quiet. Nothing was run down, dirty, broken, etc. I did not hear any other guests nor did I hear any outside noise (our room faced an alley). I found our room to be a bit on the cold side, but there is a heater and an air purifier as well. The room was well stocked - a mini fridge, kettle, tea/coffee, hangers, freshening spray for clothes, slippers, toothbrushes, face wash, body wash, shampoo, conditioner, hair brushes, hair ties, cotton pads, cotton swabs, razors with shaving cream, and a fancy heated Toto Washlet. They even provide nice pajamas! The room is small but well laid out and relatively spacious. As two people staying in a double room, we didn't feel that it was too small. The bed was large enough for two people to sleep comfortably. The bathroom was also spacious and bright, and very clean. I loved the anti-fog mirror!

- Location, location, location! This hotel is basically on the street of a huge shopping area. Lots and lots of restaurants ranging from McDonalds and MosBurger to little sushi and noodle joints. I would avoid eating at the hotel simply because there are so many dining options in the area. There are several coffee shops (including Starbucks, for the addicts), lots of drug stores and Family Marts, and just tons and tons of retail shops containing clothing, Japanese souvenirs, shoes, bags, eyeglasses, etc. There are also several arcades in the vicinity if you have a few hours to kill and want to experience a Japanese arcade. These arcades have the 'purikura' (photobooth) machines, which are a lot of fun.

- The train from either Kansai airport (JR) or Tokyo Station (JR Shinkansen) arrives at the Kyoto Station. I would not reccomend a walk from Kyoto Station to the hotel, especially with heavy luggage! You can switch trains to the Sanjo Keihan station, but I recommend a taxi. The cost to take a taxi from Kyoto Station is about 1000 yen.

- The station I used to get around Kyoto was the Sanjo Keihan station. It's about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The Kyoto bus system is also an option and has several stops nearby.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel! I paid roughly $80 a night for a double - so $40 per person, for a hotel with this many amenities, in such a great location, is a real bargain!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xtush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa barbara, ca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Just stayed here for about a week. Great location, quiet and clean rooms, not much storage, pleasant and helpful staff. Only downside was the dreadful tired buffet breakfast. It's hard to find bad food in Kyoto, but somehow they manage to do it here. skip it and you'll be fine.

The Charlie Chaplin cafe, where they serve breakfast needs a new manager and cook. ASAP.

Room Tip: Looked like the rooms ending in #11, had the best layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moderngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#37 of 373 in Kyoto
525 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Gracery Kyoto Sanjo
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#25 of 373 in Kyoto
322 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto

Property: Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto
Address: 457 Matsugaecho, Kawaramachi, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8034, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing