We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,711)
Filter reviews
1,712 results
Traveller rating
948
605
123
28
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
948
605
123
28
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location nishiki market premium floor french bakery gion district walking distance rain shower pontocho alley corner room central location laundry room deluxe twin room excellent hotel the hotel staff shopping arcade modern hotel front desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 1,712 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2016

The location was perfect, the room was very clean and a bit small, the service was very good. We are English speakers from the States and were able to communicate with the staff very adequately. Japan is not known for large hotel rooms, so the size aspect more than matched my expectations. The central location could not have been better. We took the Osaka Airport Limousine bus from Osaka airport to Kyoto. The bus stops at Sanjo Station which is just 2 blocks away from the hotel and is exceptionally convenient. One note: this hotel is frequently confused with the Royal Hotel which is a block away. Our tour guide even made this mistake.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelerfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016

My family stayed here during a family trip to Kyoto. Overall this is in a great location in regard to shopping, food, access to subway, and access to the bus system. The hotel also seemed to cater toward foreigners so they were accustomed to dealing with people who are not primary Japanese speakers.

We had two rooms: a full size bed for the adults and two twins with a third roll-away for the kids. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The space was what we expected for a Japanese hotel.

The only issue with our rooms was proximity of the rooms to one another. I was clear in my reservation that one room would have two adults and the other three kids ages 15, 12, and 10. I expected the rooms to be nearby one another but we were on the 9th floor and our kids were on the 5th floor. Fortunately the kids were so tired at the end of every day that I assume they just collapsed into sleep when we returned to the hotel.

My other complaint is the shower / drain system. If you turned on the showerhead it would spray to the back of the shower, flow down to the top of the tub, over the tub to the floor. This should have been okay because there was a drain in the floor designed to collect the water....but the slope of the bathroom sent the water out the bathroom door into the carper in the bedroom. We started putting washcloths on the edge of the tub to keep the water in the tub. The same thing happened in my kids room. Poor design or execution of the design.

On a positive note this hotel has washer / dryer on the 2nd floor. That was so awesome! We were in the middle of our trip when we got to Kyoto and we absolutely took advantage of the laundry facilities.

Last thing...ask the front desk about the all day bus pass. They can sell you full day bus passes for 500 yen which allow you to use any bus in the city. Very convenient and we only discovered because we had a Japanese speaking teenager with us who was serving as our translator.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 421judyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

Great location and very clean, the only downside is the street noise from our room, we were on level 2 facing the street made it hard to sleep especially at night but that isn't the hotels fault. Great restaurants around the area too. Only a 15 min walk to gion district

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Francezzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at Park Royal in Kyoto during our time in Japan. The hotel itself is located centrally and we were really impressed with the accessibility of the various city sights.

The hotel is modern and clean and the staff were very willing to help. We were particularly impressed with the room. It was perfect in every way.

The staff at the hotel were particularly helpful - especially when it came to giving advice on how to get places most effectively. Their "local" knowledge saved us loads of time even though it contradicted what we had read...it pays to talk to people!

There is so much to see in Kyoto and Royal Park served as a brilliant base for our exploration.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank richesae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2016

Bang in the middle of Kyoto, but tucked away in a side street. Entrance is not grand, compared to the Counterpart in Shiodome, Tokyo. Excellent service, nice rooms, friendly and cheerfull staff. Great Patisserie attached to the hotel ( I think the hotel owns or leases it), suites one to the core for a leisurely breakfast. Great location to undertake the tour of Kyoto's shrines and Temples.
Fish market nearby will surprise you. Good spread of varied restaurants including an pizza place

Room Tip: Not sure, our room was overlooking the Main Street, so would advice one to avoid it
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suru E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews