We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeated success”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Ranked #15 of 406 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Visiting fourth time this hotel, we are 100% sure that we do not need a better one. The location is fantastic, the service perfect, degree of efficiency f the room facilities is in the skies and this time we had two new "food experiences". Internally, the breakfast is fine though not cheap. Externally, just one minute from the hotel one can enjoy Togaden, a very fine tofu restaurant. So no need to look for other places that are almost for sure .inferior quality wise and for sure inferior distance wise.

Room Tip: The superior room is just big enough for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shmuel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2017

The hotel was very busy but the staff were welcoming and indeed allowed us to access our room no.713 before the official handover time which was helpful after a long flight.

The room itself was spotlessly clean and comfortable with a deep bath in the en suite. The hotels itself is very well situated and you can get buses nearby to any part of Kyoto.

We didn't eat in the evening at the hotel but the breakfast catered for all tastes and was very good. We stayed in the hotel both at the start and finish of our journey and all other members of our small tour party were pleased with it.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

Great boutique hotel in a lovely location just off the canal with easy walking distance to the river, restaurants and shopping. The lobby and bar area is nice. Wine selections are limited but they have a good Pinot Noir. (a plus in a town that thinks chilling a Cab means red wine) The breakfast area/restaurant is very good. Breakfast gets and A. Great selections both Asian and Western. The rooms are clean and neat. Bed is comfortable. Night shirt is provided. There is an eco plus. If you can skip housekeeping, talk to the front desk and get a chit that you can use for meals or the bar. I stayed on the 8 th floor and faced west. East would face river. Bathrooms are small but the heated toilet seat with lots of functions is a treat. The closet is an alcove and there is no drawer. You get only a few hangers. There are a lot of restaurants nearby including a Starbucks. Shopping malls are an easy walk. There is a nice bamboo shop and a western cafe along the Sanjo street side. I might not get back to Kyoto but do recommend this hotel. It attracts a number of English speaking tourists especially lots of Aussies.

Room Tip: East view would be to the river side. I face a business street to the west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dziran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

This is our third visit to the Royal Park Hotel THE Kyoto. It is a nice hotel in a great location. It caters to foreign travelers -- notice the high percentage of English review on TripAdvisor, compared to other nearby hotels, which may have a larger number of Japanese reviews. The rooms are simple and small. There are three larger rooms on each floor, the corner rooms. They are a bit more expensive but if you need more space they may be worth the extra cost. The beds are good and clean nightshirts are provided every day. The bathrooms are the best feature and are quite good; be sure to try the "Carbonated Spring" bath function! I have never seen it in any other hotel and it is interesting! The breakfast in the restaurant downstairs is fine, but unless you can find a room rate in which it is almost free, the large number of coffee shops and bakeries nearby are a better choice for breakfast. The hotel offers a small coin operated laundry, which is a very nice touch! It is a good chance to freshen up clothes if you are on a long trip. The best thing about the hotel by far, however, is its wonderful location.

Room Tip: If you need a little extra space, consider paying more for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kahaluu_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Nice room. (Small, but that mostly the case everywhere we went.) Very clean, comfortable. Quiet. Very helpful staff ! Unbeatable location for convenience stores, dining, shopping. Pontocho Alley is very nearby. Gion is walking distance. Catholic Cathedral is a block away. We were pleased with the breakfast buffet, which offered western choices, and the service was excellent. I would note hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank quackmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and we were very happy with our stay there. Upon booking the hotel, the concierge was very helpful in securing reservations at area restaurants before our arrival. Once we arrived, we found the rooms to be comfortable and quiet and I loved the shower/tub combination which was the best of all the hotels we stayed in while in Japan. The bed was two twin beds pushed together which was not my favorite but they were comfortable with nice pillows and linens. The closet is an alcove with 2 hooks each with three hangers so not a lot of room for hanging clothes. Nice robes, slippers and a folding mirror on the desk were nice added touches. Bar in lobby was nice for drinks before and after dinner and bartenders were very attentive. Location was great as it is close to subway and area attractions. We loved the cafe/bakery next door to the hotel which served an affordable delicious breakfast with great bread and croissants. Throughout our stay the staff was helpful in meeting our needs. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We love the location! Picturesque Sanjo bridge.. Food choices like Ikinari Steak and Starbucks... Catholic church... Tourist office... all a block or two away. Pontocho is nearby as well. A few buildings down from convenience stores. And I especially love that it is across the street from a drug store that is open till 11pm! So easy to shop for japanese drugstore cosmetics then return to hotel. Also a short walk to Shiyakyusho-Mae station and Keihan Sanjo Station (tried both during this trip). Walk isn't too far even for physically-challenged people. Taxi drivers all know the place when showed a map. And service is excellent! Concierge was knowledgeable and gave us good, easy to follow directions to where we wanted to go. On this trip and on previous trips they kept our luggage before check in and after checkout.

It is by far my favorite hotel in Kyoto! I would stay there again in a heartbeat! Food at the buffet was so-so but it was raining and we had no choice. For 980 JPY it was okay.

Bathroom was nice (not a pre-fabricated bathroom that reminds you of an airplane toilet)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank boop31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#13 of 406 in Kyoto
3,150 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#20 of 406 in Kyoto
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#16 of 406 in Kyoto
937 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 406 in Kyoto
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Address: Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 406 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $115 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, getaroom.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing