We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“-”
Main dining and kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main dining and kitchen
apperance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Main dining and kitchen
apperance
Bathroom
Wash basin
Bicycles for the guests
Courtyard
Matsumi-an and Kamogawa-an are the same location and together can accommodate maximum11 people
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Traditional) first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“-”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A friend and I spent 2 nights here while visiting Kyoto. I absolutely loved this house. The location is so convenient, the house is stunning and every detail was taken into account. It was wonderful to have such a beautiful and peaceful place to stay on my whirlwind trip to Japan. I can't recommend it enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovetobeh...
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a wonderful place to spend a few days on our short trip to Japan. Very comfortable, with a small modern kitchen, very nice bathroom, three comfortable beds upstairs. Very good air conditioning, which was key for our August trip. The bikes were very fun and convenient method of transportation to local sites and restaurants. Loved being able to do some laundry also! The staff at K's House were very helpful also, that was great to be able to call for help when needed and to pick up extra bikes (there are 4 bikes which are shared between two houses, so sometimes you need another bike or two which was easy and nearby). Would highly recommend to everyone! My only suggestions: 1) The stairs are a bit steep and could use a handhold near the top, 2) we had 3 people and only two comfortable chairs downstairs, was an issue when we watched a movie, 3) pillows on bed were too soft, could have use a few more pillows, 4) a small laundry basket would be useful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen, laundry, bikes, AC, location, bathroom
Liked least: Pillows, a bit far from the most popular sites in Kyoto
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Take a taxi to find this house would be recommended...Very nice and cozy environment and feel like home. an excellent place to stay for a family with well-equipped kichenwares...
It was fun to have a free-bicycle ride in the city although could not find a suitable one for a 7-year-old girl....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and bath tub
Liked least: could not find coffee maker, no bicycle for kids
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alnchien
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Well Appointed Traditional House in Great Location”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Everything is perfectly laid out in this quaint accommodation, from bathroom and kitchen fittings to hand grinder with coffee beans and cooking oil. Even our normally lost-in-his-own-virtual-world son thought the place was cool enough for him to enjoy a round of green tea with us in the living/dining room! The weather let us down this time round, but the house somehow compensated for that.

As the management adopts a self check-in and check-out policy, we thought we would not going to have any face-to-face contact with them (though there is a house phone in the property and help is only a phone call away). However my daughter left her phone in a taxi and we went to their office to request for assistance in the event that the phone is recovered after we leave. The staff who attended to us was very patient and helpful and all was sorted out in good cheerful spirit.

This is an excellent place to stay in Kyoto!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Little attention to details such as free bicycles, sufficient no. of umbrellas, basic cooking ingredients incl sort, pepper and cooking oil, and clothes washing detergent
Liked least: The stairs going up to the bedrooms can be a challenge to the old and very young
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nguyen L
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of 9 adults and 1 baby stayed at Matsumi-an and Kamogawa-an. Matsumi-an and Kamogawa-an are adjacent to each other and shared the same "courtyard". Matsumi-an faces the main street while Kamogawa-an faces the river. The 2 buildings are separated by a Zen Garden. This was the main reason we decided to stay here. We wanted to be close to each other. This review is for Matsumi-an. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised how traditional the machiya was, yet it has been renovated with modern amenities. We felt very comfortable since each room had an individual AC unit. There was a stove, refrigerator, microwave, grill oven, and hot water kettle. The cabinets had utensils, plates, cups, pots and pans for us to use. The bathroom was very clean and had towels, soap, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, toothbrush, toothpaste, body sponge, etc for us to use. The Japanese futons were surprisingly very comfortable. The comforter was very light (down or down alternative) and had very soft sheets. Even though we were next to a river, we didn't have any mosquito problems inside the house. Every room in the house has a "mosquito repellant" container. I didn't know what was in it, but it worked fairly well. The machiya is centrally located and is within a 12-15 minute walk to Kyoto station. The Post Office is about a 2 minute walk where we were able to withdraw cash at the ATM inside. Most local stores/restaurants in Japan don't accept credit card. Please make sure you always have cash handy. Japanese banks normally don't take foreign debit cards, you'll need to use 7 Bank from 7 - Eleven, or go to a Post Office to use their ATM. CitiBank is an exception. If you have a CitiBank account, you can use your CitiBank debitcard at CitiBank Japan.

There were 4 bicycles for us to use around town. We didn't take advantage of it since we had a large group of 10. We either walked or took the cab most of the time. I really enjoyed my stay here.

If there is one concern, I would say that the staircase is quite steep. You need to be extra cautious when walking downstairs at night for the restroom or late night snack. Other than that, we had a wonderful time at Matsumi-an and would recommend it to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, traditional feel, and location.
Liked least: The stairs were steep. I think adding a rail would make it much safer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
insookmol...
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Computable and clean”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Clean and modern house with kitchen, washer and dryer.
Suitable for 4 adults 2 single beds and Japanese style joint bedroom next. Only problem is sleeping area is upstairs with no bathroom.
Convenient location 30min walking distance to center of city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dinning area
Liked least: Upstairs bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada4me
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just the right mix of tradition and modern convenience”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in March 2014

My son and I stayed here for 10 days and could not have chosen better. This house was located just out of the busiest parts of Kyoto but easy walk to several Metro lines and lots of buses just at the end of the street. We hardly used them though as walking was easy and interesting and we could get to all the historical areas.

The house was a little tricky to find at first because we caught a different airport bus than the one indicated on the directions and the drop-off was not in the same place. (Our fault). We did not know this though, so followed the directions and were completely lost. A few minute taxi ride took us back to the house though and the picture of the shop out the front helped to locate it.

The owners were great. They had given us a pin number to enter the house but came by the next morning to check all was OK and whether we needed anything.

We used this house as a base to explore the region with my son even taking day trips on the fast train to the closes snow fields 1.5 hrs away. They were not the largest but had plently to entertain an experience Black run skier. The metro connect to the main train line making it a short trip into Osaka city ( 35mins) but we had somewhere peaceful at the end of the day.

Good points - there were two mini - marts less than 5 mins walk - one with an ATM that accepted our cards ( not easy to find in Japan). There was a choice of metro lines within 1 mins walk and a choice of restaurants within 2 mins walk - including right out the front.

Not so Good points - There was not wi-fi but a computer was provided for our use so no issue with that. The stairs are very steep and very narrow so heavy large bags should stay downs stairs.

Despite these things I loved the stay and would definitely recommend this to anyone who does not have mobility issues.

Sorry I have taken so long to review but thought I had already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The traditional feel and being part of the real Kyoto not just the tourist part.
Liked least: The stairs - just a little narrow and I was worried about marking the wall with my bag.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$178
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing