We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and well located to Nijo Castle and Imperial Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Ranked #50 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
San Francisco
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good value and well located to Nijo Castle and Imperial Palace”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We didn't make our plans to go to Japan until February; we had cancelled last year in April after the earthquake and had been on the fence about when to try again. As the cherry blossom forecast predicted full bloom at the time that we could go in April of this year, we had to change hotels 3 times during our 6 night stay in Kyoto. First up was ANA Hotel, which we felt fortunate to get into, given that everything seemed to be sold out over the weekend of April 13th-14th. We were waitlisted at the Hotel Okura, where we stayed the following two nights, but no room ever became available over the first weekend.

The hotel has a rather traditional feel to it, though we didn't find it unpleasant. The room, which was a standard double (all we could get) was good size and had all of usual amenities. While there was WiFi in the lobby, there was none in the room; there was a LAN line, but not much help with an Ipad. The best thing about ANA was its location. There were plenty of good restaurants within walking distance out the back of the hotel (out back, turn right, go half block and turn left), the Nijo Castle was right across the street, and the Imperial Palace was also close by. The Manga Museum was also just a short walk from the hotel. It made it easy to explore that discrete portion of Kyoto.

We each had a massage (Shiatsu only) downstairs in the spa/gym area. It was a solid massage for about $80/hr, though the facilities were more therapeutic than luxurious. The downside, at least for me, was that the bed was so firm that I had a very hard time sleeping. For the second night, I asked for two more of the down comforters that topped the bed, which I then folded up in thirds and slept on top of, just to provide some extra cushioning. That helped. Beds in Japan, and the pillows as well, tend to run towards the hard side, so if you are sensitive to that, be forewarned and consider that when reading reviews and choosing where to stay.

The breakfast included with the room was of the buffet variety with quite a range of choices, both Western and Japanese. There was an egg station, which as I recall made custom omelets. Softboiled eggs were also available.

One other feature is that the hotel has a shuttle that runs back and forth to Kyoto Station. It was there waiting when we arrived, which was very nice indeed.

Overall, it was a very good hotel that worked well for us, especially given the limited options at the time of our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing Nijo Castle, which is just across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Out-of-SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    576
    229
    79
    27
See reviews for
356
436
127
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic: easy walk to the subway station and numerous bus lines. The lobby and ambiance are great, with kimono-clad staff and a lovely picture-window. The rooms are very small (with extremely firm beds), which is fine, because I didn't spend a lot of time in my room anyway. The major disappointment was the food at the hotel. Skip the breakfast buffet. It is extremely overpriced and was the worst food I had during my entire Japanese vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank alavko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just visited Kyoto for the first time a few days ago, and my son had booked us into this particular hotel. As other reviewers said, the free transportation from the Kyoto train station to the hotel is a major plus. The lobby is stunning: pink, beige, and cream marble everywhere. The receptionists in full pink kimono regalia were lovely. We had tea and desserts in the lobby's lounge that had 2 story-high floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking a waterfall and koi pond--wonderfully restful. The tea service and desserts were divine. Recommendation: the Black Bean Cheesecake (seems to be a hotel specialty) was delicious, highly unusual but delicious. And Green Tea in Japan is an experience all by itself: it is really green, not like our American puce-colored green teas. We also had breakfast in the lobby restaurant the following morning--a buffet with both Japanese and American choices, from pastries to cooked-to-order omelets, from granola, yoghurt, and fresh fruit to pancakes, bacon, and sausage. We have found it difficult to find egg breakfasts in Japan, so we indulged in the American choices.

Money has definitely been put into the ground floor and 'basement' conference rooms. The hotel shows its age upstairs: dark hallways and the rooms were definitely smaller and dated, as was the bathroom. Mattresses were hard (we found that typical of hotels in Japan).

Bottom line--if the price is right and if you do not plan to stay much in the room, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bzv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

he Hotel is just beside Nijo castle in Kyoto and a short walk to the underground system. the hotel ofers a free regular shutle bus to and from the main railway station. (An Excelebt service). The Hotel has a good range of places to eat- and there are also plenty in the vicinity as well. Rooms were of a large size for Japan and very well equipped. Guests can also access a health centre in the basement for an aditional fee. This is a very nice facility- with a sauna- japanese bath- swimming pool and rest area. The hotel is well located for transport to the sites of the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This hotel has lots of potential and the overall experience is very pleasant, but that said the furniture in the rooms (excluding the beds) and in the lobby is so dated, it is hard to get past that.aspect.
Everything you could ask for is provided within the room and works great, the staff is lovely (although don't try to ask any questions in the restaurant), the location is good, and the hotel is very comfortable. There are just two things that need improvement- the chairs and upholstered furniture in the entire place has got to go.. and the buffet restaurant is not worth the cost. If I went back I would probably not eat there, but we were tired and my son was enticed by the large buffet.
On the good side, you do feel like you are in Japan (as opposed to the Hyatt which is more sleek and modern) and with some updating and restaurant improvements this place would be better. One suggestion for the ANA hotel, take one of the English speaking lobby staff and have them help when necessary with translating in the restaurant (as the hotel is tied to Intercontinental hotels/Priority Club members, this would be a plus !).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KdTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel in December 2010.

It is a lovely hotel with great staff and the rooms are HUGE!

If you can, try & buy your food at the local convenience store, as the restaurant is SO expensive & I ended up with food poisoning...blehh

Otherwise, very nice hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

And in my case, one of the best hotel deals ever. I booked last minute on Japanican and was able to get a single here for Y6000/night all in. I was kind of stunned by this price because it was cheaper than any business hotel I could find in Kyoto, so I was kind of wondering what was wrong. The answer was nothing, it was just a really good deal. The room was great, very big by Japanese standards....probably one of the biggest 'single' rooms I've ever had in Japan...and as I've said, it had a fantastic view of Nijo castle across the street. However, it is a good 15-minute walk from JR Nijo station, so if you're doing the rail pass thing...don't hop off there with a bunch of luggage and assume the hotel is across the road. Bed was a bit hard, and a little creaky, but I slept well.

The hotel itself has an understated kind of quasi-western feel to it of the type that was more common a decade or two ago in Japan, but is not easily found anymore. If some other people want to call it 'old', maybe it is, but in a good way: it gives you a feel for a bygone age...

Many room amenities. My only complaint: as I've said in other reviews, there seems to be a trend these days that Japanese hotels no longer offer yukata (robes) but instead provide pajamas--which never fit me! This trend had got to stop!

I checked prices out today and it seems the 'regular' discount price is about double what I paid. Is it worth that? Maybe, maybe not. I definitely wouldn't have stayed here for Y12,000 a night given the assortment of more centrally located business hotels (albeit with smaller rooms.) But if you can snag a good discount, definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of Nijo-jo
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#42 of 369 in Kyoto
1,075 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,932 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 369 in Kyoto
1,196 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Property: ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Rakuten, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing