We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,005)
Filter reviews
1,005 results
Traveller rating
530
366
75
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
530
366
75
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews imperial palace shuttle bus subway station large atrium shuttle service residential area matcha tea rooms are spacious western breakfast buffet quad room lounge bar teppanyaki restaurant bit out of the way lovely hotel wagyu beef nice amenities quiet location
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 1,005 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017

The Brighton hotel is a really comfortable base to explore Kyoto. The rooms are well designed, spacious and well equipped. Plus excellent maintenance.

All the staff were friendly enough, but when we arrived at 9 am and asked kindly for the earliest check-in possible it was very much a no, come back at 3pm, as opposed to we'll try our best. It's understandable if it was busy, but considering our arrival time, i'm pretty sure with the size of the hotel they could have helped us out by an hour.

If you want somewhere with a personality and character then this probably isn't the place. Also, watch the pricing as it varies massively. I booked a room with free cancellation and kept monitoring towards our arrival date and manage to book the same room in a flash sale for about £150 less.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2017

The largest rooms I've ever stayed in in Japan! Grand lobby. Hotel is away from the main road and several minutes away from the nearest Karasuma line station. There is a 3x per hour free shuttle buss going to Karasuma Oike station (not the nearest station, closer to Kyoto station). Lots of cabs waiting outside the hotel. No significant restaurants or grocery stores around the hotel - nearest places are about 15 mins walk away.
Concierges and staff in general were helpful and pleasant. Housekeeping responded to a request for body lotion within a few minutes of our call - very efficient!
Breakfast is either Japanese in the Japanese restaurant or a Western buffet at the coffee house - the latter is rather average, with no variation in the 5 days I stayed there. Did not try in-house restaurants for meals. The hotel provided discount coupons for lobby drinks and in-house meals, Tried the lobby cocktails once - below average.
TV does not have international channels. Payable VOD. Our twin room had 2 large beds joined together. No reading lights. Bathroom was good - separate shower and bathtub area with a plastic stool in the shower area for the infirm.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank updoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2017

Our family of 4 were able to stay in an executive twin room with 2 extra beds in it, and despite the reputation of rooms in Japan being small, the rooms here were quite spacious and we have plenty of room for us and our luggage. The hotel itself is in a quieter residential area, but there were a few good restaurants within walking distance. Anything further could be reached by taxis, which were always available at the hotel.

The staff were also very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EricY_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017

My family of four had a family room that was wonderful. We had four beds and enough space for all of us. The amenities were top notch in the room, including all the toiletries anyone might want and special green tea matcha to make on our own.

The staff was helpful in every regard. We had a few special needs, including finding a drug store nearby, and they helped in every way. The staff called ahead to be sure the drug store had what we wanted, and gave us the items written in Japanese. The concierge helped us book a special tea ceremony to experience something special in Kyoto. We even borrowed umbrellas for the rain.

The hotel has a convenient shuttle to the nearby subway station every twenty minutes. Overall this was one of our favorite hotels and certainly helped make our stay in Kyoto special.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

Love this place. The staff are probably the most helpful of any hotel I've been in anywhere in the world, so we keep returning here. Most of the staff speak some English, and the Concierge folks have perfect English and are SOOOOOO helpful. They wlll give you advice on almost any topic related to visiting Kyoto - and there's so much to do and to see here, that it's dizzying.

We stay here every time we're in Kyoto and I'm sure we'll be back. Good-sized clean, modern rooms, reasonable prices, terrific food, breakfast buffet selection is among the best anywhere (one restaurant for western style breakfast and anaother for Japanese), and the lunch and dinner restaurant food is very good indeed. Try the lobby "dessert bar" for a tea-time treat that you won't forget!

The only downside is that it's a bit out of the way - but a short cab ride fixes that fast, and taxis here are reliable and not too expensive. Taxis always seem to be lined up and waiting at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AirsDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews