We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even close to excpectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Ranked #17 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We stayed in this hotel for three days and left very dissapointed. The hotel is too far from anything worth to see and public transport is non-existent. Shuttle bus is provided though for free to the closest train station but from 8PM to 9:40PM which is somewhat limiting. The view is not worth of mentioning. The car park and surrounding residential houses only. Hotel staff is friendly but can hardly speak any english. The level of english profficiency of the hotel staff is on a level of a four year old child.
There are no English channels on a tv besides the CNN which is billingual but was set to Japanese so we stuggled to figure out how to disable the Japanese since that remote control is also Japanese.. TV sound is too low to hear properly.
Restaurants are way too expensive but even the restaurant staff can't communicate to the simplest possible level. I don't know why is this hotel called Brighton since that the target customers are obviously rich corporate Japanese businessmen and not international customers and tourists.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel unless you are Japanese and a CEO of a Sony corporation or similar and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laslo023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

The Brighton hotel is a really comfortable base to explore Kyoto. The rooms are well designed, spacious and well equipped. Plus excellent maintenance.

All the staff were friendly enough, but when we arrived at 9 am and asked kindly for the earliest check-in possible it was very much a no, come back at 3pm, as opposed to we'll try our best. It's understandable if it was busy, but considering our arrival time, i'm pretty sure with the size of the hotel they could have helped us out by an hour.

If you want somewhere with a personality and character then this probably isn't the place. Also, watch the pricing as it varies massively. I booked a room with free cancellation and kept monitoring towards our arrival date and manage to book the same room in a flash sale for about £150 less.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The largest rooms I've ever stayed in in Japan! Grand lobby. Hotel is away from the main road and several minutes away from the nearest Karasuma line station. There is a 3x per hour free shuttle buss going to Karasuma Oike station (not the nearest station, closer to Kyoto station). Lots of cabs waiting outside the hotel. No significant restaurants or grocery stores around the hotel - nearest places are about 15 mins walk away.
Concierges and staff in general were helpful and pleasant. Housekeeping responded to a request for body lotion within a few minutes of our call - very efficient!
Breakfast is either Japanese in the Japanese restaurant or a Western buffet at the coffee house - the latter is rather average, with no variation in the 5 days I stayed there. Did not try in-house restaurants for meals. The hotel provided discount coupons for lobby drinks and in-house meals, Tried the lobby cocktails once - below average.
TV does not have international channels. Payable VOD. Our twin room had 2 large beds joined together. No reading lights. Bathroom was good - separate shower and bathtub area with a plastic stool in the shower area for the infirm.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank updoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Our family of 4 were able to stay in an executive twin room with 2 extra beds in it, and despite the reputation of rooms in Japan being small, the rooms here were quite spacious and we have plenty of room for us and our luggage. The hotel itself is in a quieter residential area, but there were a few good restaurants within walking distance. Anything further could be reached by taxis, which were always available at the hotel.

The staff were also very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EricY_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

My family of four had a family room that was wonderful. We had four beds and enough space for all of us. The amenities were top notch in the room, including all the toiletries anyone might want and special green tea matcha to make on our own.

The staff was helpful in every regard. We had a few special needs, including finding a drug store nearby, and they helped in every way. The staff called ahead to be sure the drug store had what we wanted, and gave us the items written in Japanese. The concierge helped us book a special tea ceremony to experience something special in Kyoto. We even borrowed umbrellas for the rain.

The hotel has a convenient shuttle to the nearby subway station every twenty minutes. Overall this was one of our favorite hotels and certainly helped make our stay in Kyoto special.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Love this place. The staff are probably the most helpful of any hotel I've been in anywhere in the world, so we keep returning here. Most of the staff speak some English, and the Concierge folks have perfect English and are SOOOOOO helpful. They wlll give you advice on almost any topic related to visiting Kyoto - and there's so much to do and to see here, that it's dizzying.

We stay here every time we're in Kyoto and I'm sure we'll be back. Good-sized clean, modern rooms, reasonable prices, terrific food, breakfast buffet selection is among the best anywhere (one restaurant for western style breakfast and anaother for Japanese), and the lunch and dinner restaurant food is very good indeed. Try the lobby "dessert bar" for a tea-time treat that you won't forget!

The only downside is that it's a bit out of the way - but a short cab ride fixes that fast, and taxis here are reliable and not too expensive. Taxis always seem to be lined up and waiting at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AirsDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I liked everything about this hotel, the beds were comfortable, the staff were welcoming, friendly and most spoke English. Easy access to the city centre by their free shuttle bus service. 5 minutes walk to the imperial palace. I would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxy_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#13 of 405 in Kyoto
3,146 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#22 of 405 in Kyoto
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 405 in Kyoto
634 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Brighton Hotel

Address: 330 Shiteicho, Nakadachiuri, Shinmachi-dori, Kamigyo-ku | (West side of Gosho), Kyoto 602-8071, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Nishijin District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $169 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kyoto Brighton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning HotelLocated at heart of Kyoto with newly renovated Atrium lobby and bar. The hotel has won 4 Black Pavilion on Michelin's guide in 2012 and is located near Nijo Castle, Nishi-jin and other must see tour spots. Facilities and servicesFree shuttle bus to Karasumaoike is available. Also there are 6 restaurants/bars offering cuisines from traditional Japanese to contemporary Western with chef from International Culinary Olympics Japan team. Spacious Guest roomsRenovated in 2010, all rooms include hotel's original brand Dream Journey Bed, large size bathtub and a cotton waffle bathrobes with night shirts. Flat-screen TV is viewable from both the bed and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kyoto Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing