We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (906)
Filter reviews
906 results
Traveller rating
74
376
294
101
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
74
376
294
101
61
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 906 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My room is super small. No wardrobe. Can not say it's comfortable. But it's very closed to Kyoto station. Within 10 minutes by walk. For the first time visitor like me, it's OK because it's very cheap comparing with other hotels in Kyoto. 我的房間非常小。沒有衣櫃。不算舒適。但它很靠近京都車站。10分鐘內的步行路程。像我這樣第一次到京都的遊客,這是可接受的,因為與其他位於京都的酒店比較,它的房價非常便宜。

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElegantDecadent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by a Japanese travel agent for our 4 day stay in Kyoto, and were at first disappointed - the ambiance of the entrance was an apparently "shady" back street ally with those suspicious characters you see in dark Japanese movies (something we did not experience much of in our otherwise typically clean, safe, efficient tour of Japan that most tourists see), and it seemed to be of lower grade that the other APA hotel you have to pass to get to it from the train station. However, by the end we were won over. Yes it is a "Japanese style" hotel with small (but clean and of course efficient) rooms, and does not cater to foreign tourists so English is limited. But it had the best breakfast buffet (Japanese) of the 7 hotels we stayed at in Japan, and the Onsen on the top floor was terrific with indoor/outdoor and cold pools. As room rate was part of blended package I cannot comment on the value side, but for those looking for an authentic middle range Japanese style hotel, this is highly recommended. Location is good for those traveling in Japan by train.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saterik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I booked this hotel after deciding to take location and cost over other issues. In the end, I got what I bargained for, but suffered the consequences after disregarding warning by fellow travelers about the puny rooms.

Finding the hotel was not that hard. Just walk from the train station to Bic Camera (that huge electronics and household appliance stores) and keep going in the same direction until you hit the end of the road – you’ll come across the other APA hotel along the way, but ignore it and keep going. When the road turns, follow the path north (you’ll see a small noodle shop along the way) until you see handicap path next to some steps leading up. Go up the steps, turn a corner, and you’ll see another set of handicap path + steps leading down (this area looks like public outdoor place behind a huge office building). By the time you get to ground level once again, the back entrance of the hotel right in front of you.

The room I stayed in was clean (white bed sheet is a good sign), and it had all the amenities you expected. The public bath on the top floor has a steam room, indoor bath, and outdoor bath. Just remember to bring a 100-yen coin as a deposit for your locker and your room card (which could be stored in the waterproof bag attached to the locker key). My best experience during my stay was soaking in the outdoor hot bath, enjoying the light drizzle on my face and cold air.

Yet, there’s one thing that became the deal breaker: the SIZE of the room. I've stayed in small rooms in Tokyo hotels, but it’s hard to imagine rooms smaller than THAT! We only have two luggage, and there wasn't enough room to set them out without blocking the door! It’s not hard to imagine the fun time we had trying to reorganize our belongings in such a cramped room on the night before we left…

As for the bathroom… well, it definitely sets a new record for fitting a bathtub, toilet, and sink in a space where I can almost touch the two opposite walls with my arms extended.

The Good:

- Price

- Location (for souvenirs, electronics, and food)

- Huge Public Bath (especially the outdoor one on a cold winter night)

- Clean

The Bad:

- Room Size

- and Room Size

- and Room Size....

Date of stay: December 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RCL_TPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I recently visited Kyoto for the IDF-WPR Medical congress. Kyoto, Japan is a beautiful city with many sights to see and places to visit. Their small hole-in-wall restaurants are surprisingly cheap and serve good food. But this review is about the hotel we stayed at. It was assigned by the congress organizers and was not really the choice of our company sponsors. They shouldn't have been included in the list of choices. Don't get me wrong. There are nice things to say about the hotel. Their amenities (shampoo, body wash, etc) are top-of-the -line name brands. Their toilet has a remote control bidet and shower whose volume of water flow can be controlled. The toilet seat is heated (like most in Japan); they have a hair dryer; aircon and heater because it can get really cold. All nice so far isn't it? But I am not a very tall nor big person but I found the hotel room very small and cramped. I had a travel companion who is a tall lady who said that whenever she would pee, the toilet door needed to be open because her legs wouldn't fit. You open the door from the corridor and voila- take 3 steps and there's the bed. The gap between the bed and the dressing/office table is maybe one foot- not 12 inches but one foot or one shoe... and I am a size 6.5. And there is an internet by LAN but no wifi in the room.

But Kyoto is really extraordinary so if you are looking for a place to just sleep in then this is the place for you. If you want to reach all your gadgets from the bed- phone, iPad, alarm- and your glasses with just one stretch of your hand, then you will enjoy this place.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceciledocTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed there in March with my friend for a Sakura holiday in Kyoto. It is my second time there and I think we made a great choice staying in this hotel! First of all, things in Japan is expensive enough so a good budget hotel is essential. We stayed in a semi-double room with 2 medium sized suitcase. It was tight and we had to skip over our suitcases to get into the room. I guess it is average size for Japanese hotel and it was ok for 2 tiny Asian gals. The room was spotless and had all the essential things including hair drier, mini fridge etc. The best thing abt the hotel is the public bath (onsen) on the top floor!!!! We went there everynight after the long day and relaxed there. We did not use the tiny ensuite bathroom for shower at all. They have many pools with different temperature and a outdoor bath. Also stream room and sauna. It was free of charge for guests and we fully enjoyed it!!! ( for those not familiar with jap culture, it is actually for bathing so u need to take a shower there first before entering the onsen and absolutely no swimsuit allowed) Another good thing about this hotel was the location. It was 5 min walk from Kyoto station and the main bus stop so getting around was not a problem. We had a blast at the underground shopping mall just beneath Kyoto station and the ramen street there was also great!!!

All in all, I think it is a very good budget hotel in Kyoto for holiday or business, but you need to pack light.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeleeburu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews