We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Nearby Hotels
US$385
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
US$344
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$296
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$178
US$114
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$110
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$195
US$154
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ryokan 
Arashiyama Benkei(Kyoto)
US$673
US$498
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Ryokufuso(Kyoto)
US$251
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,355)
Filter reviews
1,355 results
Traveller rating
702
499
109
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
702
499
109
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity hallsubway stationtop floorwithin walking distancedirect accessbell staffexecutive floorclassy hotelkamo riverunderground shopping mallbreakfast buffetlarge bathroombit datedcomfortable roomsnon smoking roomjapanese restaurantconcierge desk
Filter
Updating list...
461 - 466 of 1,355 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My daughter and I stayed there May 16-20, 2012. The following are the pros- great service, terrific location, and comfortable rooms. The cons- the buffet breakfast on the 17th floor was good with fresh fruit, yogurt and baked goods but did not have enough "western" items such as a good cheese selection and freshly made pancakes/waffles. Also the staff toasted a large basket of bread rather than doing it as required. I noticed that most 'westerners' preferrred it freshly made and to their specifications. These are very small complaints. We loved the hotel and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Spent 2 nights at the Okura. Great location and very nice/clean rooms. Lobby hasn't been renovated for a while but rooms are fine. No wifi except for the lobby so if you plan on connecting to the internet, you too will notice how out dated the lobby is. Breakfast isn't great so just head up the block for that and avoid the sushi restaurant as its over priced and you can find better outside the hotel. Oh, if you are a man reading this, don't shave for a few days then spoil yourself for an hour and get a shave at the baber in the basement...AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCTraveler729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We selected the Okura based on tripadvisor reviews, the reputation of the chain and the desire for a room with a view (the Okura is one of the higher buildings in Kyoto). We flew directly to Kyoto from Boston so were tired when we arrived. The excellent service and plush quiet tranquil room was perfect. After seven nights we were reluctant to leave as it felt like home -- we knew staff members and the neighborhood well.

A few tips:
- ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the river (though the other side is fine)
- the hotel restaurants are pricey - we went to the Japanese 6th floor restaurant one night when we were too tired to go out and had an excellent meal. The top floor breakfast buffet is worth a splurge one morning for the view and the cafe off the lobby another -- they were expensive with good food and service.
- some good breakfast options a block away on Sanjo Dori: Ogawa Coffee (fab espresso/coffee and pastry/egg options but doesn't open until 9:00); a french patisserie with good coffee and egg dishes (forget the name, nearer Kawaramachi Dori); and right by the river a Starbucks.
- if you can really splurge go to the amazing Pontocho Misoguigawa Japanese/French fusion restaurant serving the multi course kaiseki style dinner. We ate very well in Japan over three weeks - our meal at Misoguigawa was the best. (Just 1.5 blocks from hotel near Starbucks.
- there are many, many restaurants in the area. We found the concierge recommendations to be very good especially when we were clear about our preferences. The concierge was also very helpful with sightseeing advice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This hotel was our best hotel during our stay in Japan.
Everything there was perfect; the room were big for Japan standard; luxurious ; hyper clean and with comfy bed, and the service was top noch.
The staff were very friendly and customer oriented; I think it must be a signature of the group Okura as we had the occasione to stay at the Okura in AMS (we choosed this hotel base on our great experience in Japan) and it was the same thing.
The Kyoto hotel was in a perfect location; walking distance from the touristic attractions; lots of restaurants around and nice shops!
"The" place to go in Kyoto!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank La_Viaggiatrice075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed here for two nights and had hoped to get off the waitlist for the previous two nights, but a room never cleared. Our room, a deluxe double, was very spacious and had a well-equipped bathroom. The decor was on the modern side, and the bed was not as hard as some that we encountered in Japan. One oddity was that there was a small "step" up to the bathroom; small enough to stumble if you forgot about it and yet not large enough to really call a stair. Nocturnal wanderers, be careful!

The concierge was very helpful and there are plenty of restaurants and sights within easy walking distance. The breakfast area (ours was included with the room) on the 17th floor had great views of the Kama River and foothills to the East. The breakfast itself was excellent, with plenty of options for both Western and Japanese palates. The hotel did have WiFi in the lobby; it would have been nice to have it in the room.

Room Tip: HIgh room, preferably with views to the East
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Out-of-SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews