We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'ok', but doesn't feel like 4-5 stars”
Review of Kyoto Hotel Okura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Ranked #20 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“'ok', but doesn't feel like 4-5 stars”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Overall it was 'ok', but didn't feel like 4-5 stars. This surprised me, since it was ranked extremely high on TripAdvisor's reviews (#4 or #5 at the time I booked it).

pros:
- Free wired broadband Internet in the room (no WiFi though)
- Location is at walking distance (~15 minutes) from Gion area, which is nice at night
- Nice city view (at least if you're at a high floor, if your window overlooks in the 'right' direction)

cons:
- Room is nothing more than average, definitely doesn't feel like 4-5 stars
- Coffee kit in the room is not complementary (i.e. you have to pay for it)
- I asked for non-smoking room, but the room had an implied odor of past smoking (it was very weak, so I might be wrong on this judgement).
- No WiFi in the room, just slow WiFi in the lobby
- English of some staff members could have been better
- extra charge for breakfast

Room Tip: the higher the floor - the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elodTlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    424
    97
    29
    11
See reviews for
343
377
107
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My daughter and I stayed there May 16-20, 2012. The following are the pros- great service, terrific location, and comfortable rooms. The cons- the buffet breakfast on the 17th floor was good with fresh fruit, yogurt and baked goods but did not have enough "western" items such as a good cheese selection and freshly made pancakes/waffles. Also the staff toasted a large basket of bread rather than doing it as required. I noticed that most 'westerners' preferrred it freshly made and to their specifications. These are very small complaints. We loved the hotel and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Spent 2 nights at the Okura. Great location and very nice/clean rooms. Lobby hasn't been renovated for a while but rooms are fine. No wifi except for the lobby so if you plan on connecting to the internet, you too will notice how out dated the lobby is. Breakfast isn't great so just head up the block for that and avoid the sushi restaurant as its over priced and you can find better outside the hotel. Oh, if you are a man reading this, don't shave for a few days then spoil yourself for an hour and get a shave at the baber in the basement...AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCTraveler729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We selected the Okura based on tripadvisor reviews, the reputation of the chain and the desire for a room with a view (the Okura is one of the higher buildings in Kyoto). We flew directly to Kyoto from Boston so were tired when we arrived. The excellent service and plush quiet tranquil room was perfect. After seven nights we were reluctant to leave as it felt like home -- we knew staff members and the neighborhood well.

A few tips:
- ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the river (though the other side is fine)
- the hotel restaurants are pricey - we went to the Japanese 6th floor restaurant one night when we were too tired to go out and had an excellent meal. The top floor breakfast buffet is worth a splurge one morning for the view and the cafe off the lobby another -- they were expensive with good food and service.
- some good breakfast options a block away on Sanjo Dori: Ogawa Coffee (fab espresso/coffee and pastry/egg options but doesn't open until 9:00); a french patisserie with good coffee and egg dishes (forget the name, nearer Kawaramachi Dori); and right by the river a Starbucks.
- if you can really splurge go to the amazing Pontocho Misoguigawa Japanese/French fusion restaurant serving the multi course kaiseki style dinner. We ate very well in Japan over three weeks - our meal at Misoguigawa was the best. (Just 1.5 blocks from hotel near Starbucks.
- there are many, many restaurants in the area. We found the concierge recommendations to be very good especially when we were clear about our preferences. The concierge was also very helpful with sightseeing advice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This hotel was our best hotel during our stay in Japan.
Everything there was perfect; the room were big for Japan standard; luxurious ; hyper clean and with comfy bed, and the service was top noch.
The staff were very friendly and customer oriented; I think it must be a signature of the group Okura as we had the occasione to stay at the Okura in AMS (we choosed this hotel base on our great experience in Japan) and it was the same thing.
The Kyoto hotel was in a perfect location; walking distance from the touristic attractions; lots of restaurants around and nice shops!
"The" place to go in Kyoto!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank La_Viaggiatrice075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed here for two nights and had hoped to get off the waitlist for the previous two nights, but a room never cleared. Our room, a deluxe double, was very spacious and had a well-equipped bathroom. The decor was on the modern side, and the bed was not as hard as some that we encountered in Japan. One oddity was that there was a small "step" up to the bathroom; small enough to stumble if you forgot about it and yet not large enough to really call a stair. Nocturnal wanderers, be careful!

The concierge was very helpful and there are plenty of restaurants and sights within easy walking distance. The breakfast area (ours was included with the room) on the 17th floor had great views of the Kama River and foothills to the East. The breakfast itself was excellent, with plenty of options for both Western and Japanese palates. The hotel did have WiFi in the lobby; it would have been nice to have it in the room.

Room Tip: HIgh room, preferably with views to the East
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Out-of-SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

Luxury hotel close to the best nightlife,shopping and transportation. We spent two nights here with our teenage son. A great choice if you want modern luxe with Japanese style.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank luckygirl_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#12 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#18 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Hotel Okura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Hotel Okura

Property: Kyoto Hotel Okura
Address: Kawara-machi Oike, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8558 , Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kyoto Hotel Okura 4.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventeen-story Hotel with impressive lobby of European architecture reminiscent of the 1920s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kyoto Hotel Okura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing