We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and affordable ryokan”
Review of Matsubaya Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matsubaya Inn
Ranked #56 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Comfortable and affordable ryokan”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The ryokan is very comfortable, with gorgeous traditional rooms where you sleep on a futon (quite comfortable although we had to double up and have two futons each!). We stayed in a D-type Japanese style with tatami mats. Room was large and comfortable, with a/c and private bathroom. Staff were helpful and spoke decent English.

The traditional Japanese breakfast was 1000 Yen and had to be ordered by 8pm the night before. Very good experience! Otherwise there were western breakfast choices you could order in the morning.

Easy to find from the train station, and on a relatively quite side street (although there were building works across the road which was a bit noisy in the morning). They sold daily bus tickets for 500 Yen which was really handy (and worth it if you were going to get more than 2 buses a day).

I would recommend it highly for a stay in Kyoto.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank straykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    164
    43
    7
    9
See reviews for
83
251
67
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at this inn. Good location on a very quiet side street located a 10 minute walk from the train station and a block or two from the main road where you can catch the buses. Our room was an E-type Japanese-style room with tatami mats, Air conditioner, and a shared bathroom off the hall shared with only one other room. We were worried it might be too small but this ended up being a fantastic value and super clean and modern. The bathroom was directly in front of the room and only shared with one other room so never a problem with using it. Super clean, very nice design of the common spaces and helpful and friendly staff. Also appreciated the option of purchasing breakfast there instead of it being included because it gave us the option of eating breakfast at the inn or exploring on our own. Also stayed at two other budget inns with tatami mat rooms in Tokyo and Matsubay surpassed them in quality, cleanliness, decor, and value.

Room Tip: Best value and super clean. Don't be afraid of the E-type rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Great location for foot travelers arriving via bus or train; about a 10 minute walk which gets you out of the railroad station neighborhood (big bldgs., many people) and into a real neighborhood. Bike rental place nearby and renting a bike or learning the bus system, either one, is best for seeing the spread out temples in this pretty big city. Only minor negative is that I never met or saw any Japanese in this ryokan, which must market heavily to foreigners. I got a double traditional room for just myself because it wasn't clear from the website if the single rooms had bathrooms (still unsure about that) but a double was fine and certainly not too large. Get the traditional Japanese breakfast (1,000 yen extra). You won't recognize more than half of what you are eating, but it's all good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed here for one night while in Kyoto and loved the experience. The overall atmosphere of the inn is very welcoming and comfortable and the staff are all extrememly friendly, eager to help and speak english very well.

Location to the train station is perfect, less than 10 minutes straight down the main road.

The room was small (but I had picked the smallest room as I was originally planning to travel alone) and while I thought I booked with a private bath, it only had a toilet in the room with a shared shower (sharing with only one other room) across the hall. Wasn't an issue as I think the other room may have been vacant when I stayed.

The futon and tatami mats were very comfortable and had a great night sleep with the warm duvet and comfortable bedding.

I didn't eat any meals at the hotel so can't comment on that but was pleasantly surprised that the whole inn is equipped with wifi and there are two computers, one in the lobby and one on the second floor, for free use.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abenjamin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I stayed several nights in various ryokans or minshukus in Kyoto last autumn and enjoyed all of them.
The first night i had selected Matsubaya as a convenient base from the Jr station and the bus terminal for the visits the following morning.
The building is traditional from the outside and new on the inside.
All the staff (family members ?) were charming and spoke very good English.
The room was quiet, spotless clean and came with toilets and bathroom.
There is a computer in the lobby with internet.
Note that there is no elevator but the building is not tall (2 or 3 floors maximum).
Note that there is no common bathroom in this ryokan.
I had ordered the Japanese breakfast and it was delicious.
All in all, a great place to recommend for people who wish to have a ryokan experience without being not far from the Jr station, need to have toilets and bathroom in their own room and English speaking staff.
I will come back for sure :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrifterParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We spent 2 nights at this great ryokan. The staff were super friendly with excellent english. We emailed ahead to tell the staff we were running late and would be checking in at night. By the time we got there it was almost 11pm, and while walking on the street looking for the right location, one of the staff was already out on the main road waiting for us! I'm not sure how long he was waiting, but it was very impressive!

The room itself was a traditional japanese style room with tatami mats and futon bedding. The futon bedding was really comfortable to sleep on. There is also free wifi access throughout the inn, and also cheap laundry facilities.

We had the traditional japanese breakfast one morning (at extra cost) and it was a real big and yummy feast, definitely worth it. You need to pre-order the breakfast the night before.

Hotel staff were very helpful in recommending locations and helping us with bus routes etc for getting around Kyoto. They also recommended us a very awesome ramen shop nearby, probably the best ramen I've ever had (can't remember the name of it, but it is across the road from the nearby 7/11).

Great stay, will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chenpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leura NSW Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I have stayed at the Matsubaya Inn many times, starting in the 1980s through to this year. The rebuild was a great success, and the rooms up on the 5th floor was where we stayed this last visit. We were travelling as a family of 8 and we had 4 rooms. All were extremely comfortable, and the family atmosphere shows throughout the Inn. We had our children and grandchildren with us and we were very comfortable. The Japanese breakfast is so worth having, at least once a stay, just to experience the fabulous foods. We will return!! Thank you Hayashi family!!

Room Tip: If you want the full Japanese experience, ask for a tatami room, if your bones are older, like mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RainyKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Urushitei
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Maifukan
#35 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokan Shimizu
Ryokan Shimizu
#39 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matsubaya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matsubaya Inn

Property: Matsubaya Inn
Address: Higashinotoin Nishi-iru, Kamijuzuyacho-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8150, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Matsubaya Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten and Cancelon so you can book your Matsubaya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matsubaya Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing