We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matsubaya Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$384
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
US$343
US$231
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$295
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Arashiyama Benkei(Kyoto)
US$671
US$498
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$149
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$122
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$195
US$123
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ryokan 
Ryokufuso(Kyoto)
US$251
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveller rating
291
174
45
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
174
45
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese breakfastjapanese style roomkyoto stationbicycle rental shoptea settatami matsryokan experiencesmall giftshared showerminute walktraditional ryokangarden viewwestern roomthird floorcomfortable futonsbreakfast was deliciousstayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 529 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at this inn. Good location on a very quiet side street located a 10 minute walk from the train station and a block or two from the main road where you can catch the buses. Our room was an E-type Japanese-style room with tatami mats, Air conditioner, and a shared bathroom off the hall shared with only one other room. We were worried it might be too small but this ended up being a fantastic value and super clean and modern. The bathroom was directly in front of the room and only shared with one other room so never a problem with using it. Super clean, very nice design of the common spaces and helpful and friendly staff. Also appreciated the option of purchasing breakfast there instead of it being included because it gave us the option of eating breakfast at the inn or exploring on our own. Also stayed at two other budget inns with tatami mat rooms in Tokyo and Matsubay surpassed them in quality, cleanliness, decor, and value.

Room Tip: Best value and super clean. Don't be afraid of the E-type rooms on the top floor.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Great location for foot travelers arriving via bus or train; about a 10 minute walk which gets you out of the railroad station neighborhood (big bldgs., many people) and into a real neighborhood. Bike rental place nearby and renting a bike or learning the bus system, either one, is best for seeing the spread out temples in this pretty big city. Only minor negative is that I never met or saw any Japanese in this ryokan, which must market heavily to foreigners. I got a double traditional room for just myself because it wasn't clear from the website if the single rooms had bathrooms (still unsure about that) but a double was fine and certainly not too large. Get the traditional Japanese breakfast (1,000 yen extra). You won't recognize more than half of what you are eating, but it's all good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night while in Kyoto and loved the experience. The overall atmosphere of the inn is very welcoming and comfortable and the staff are all extrememly friendly, eager to help and speak english very well.

Location to the train station is perfect, less than 10 minutes straight down the main road.

The room was small (but I had picked the smallest room as I was originally planning to travel alone) and while I thought I booked with a private bath, it only had a toilet in the room with a shared shower (sharing with only one other room) across the hall. Wasn't an issue as I think the other room may have been vacant when I stayed.

The futon and tatami mats were very comfortable and had a great night sleep with the warm duvet and comfortable bedding.

I didn't eat any meals at the hotel so can't comment on that but was pleasantly surprised that the whole inn is equipped with wifi and there are two computers, one in the lobby and one on the second floor, for free use.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abenjamin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed several nights in various ryokans or minshukus in Kyoto last autumn and enjoyed all of them.
The first night i had selected Matsubaya as a convenient base from the Jr station and the bus terminal for the visits the following morning.
The building is traditional from the outside and new on the inside.
All the staff (family members ?) were charming and spoke very good English.
The room was quiet, spotless clean and came with toilets and bathroom.
There is a computer in the lobby with internet.
Note that there is no elevator but the building is not tall (2 or 3 floors maximum).
Note that there is no common bathroom in this ryokan.
I had ordered the Japanese breakfast and it was delicious.
All in all, a great place to recommend for people who wish to have a ryokan experience without being not far from the Jr station, need to have toilets and bathroom in their own room and English speaking staff.
I will come back for sure :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrifterParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We spent 2 nights at this great ryokan. The staff were super friendly with excellent english. We emailed ahead to tell the staff we were running late and would be checking in at night. By the time we got there it was almost 11pm, and while walking on the street looking for the right location, one of the staff was already out on the main road waiting for us! I'm not sure how long he was waiting, but it was very impressive!

The room itself was a traditional japanese style room with tatami mats and futon bedding. The futon bedding was really comfortable to sleep on. There is also free wifi access throughout the inn, and also cheap laundry facilities.

We had the traditional japanese breakfast one morning (at extra cost) and it was a real big and yummy feast, definitely worth it. You need to pre-order the breakfast the night before.

Hotel staff were very helpful in recommending locations and helping us with bus routes etc for getting around Kyoto. They also recommended us a very awesome ramen shop nearby, probably the best ramen I've ever had (can't remember the name of it, but it is across the road from the nearby 7/11).

Great stay, will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chenpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews